TODAY IS NATIONAL SHOE THE WORLD DAY!

in #todayis6 years ago

image.png

image.png

image.png
Image source

SHOES

Take a look at your shoes,
How long did it take for you to choose?

which pair to wear
Or did you just slip them on without a care?

Shoes are great,
they truly rate.

There are some
We wear to run,

Some you wear based on your career,
It’s all in how you want to appear.

Some we wear to have fun,
But what if you have none?

The lack of shoes negatively impacts
the lives of millions, that’s a fact.

Their feet go unprotected,
And risk getting infected.

without shoes kids can’t go to school,
That’s just cruel!

They aren’t allowed to enter,
the local shopping center.

We think walking barefoot, is romantic,
Because we take our shoes for granted.

Soles 4 Souls has a plan,
To get shoes on every child, woman, and man!

Soles 4 Souls won’t be deterred,
In their efforts to Shoe the World!

image.png

I love writing a poem everyday based on a fun way to celebrate the day. The world needs more fun and positivity, instead of the negativity that is prevalent in most news feeds. The replaying of the same story repeatedly, skews the viewers perspective as to the state of the world. The news industry keeps people living in a state of fear.

I’m not denying that our world has problems. I think we need to be aware of issues that negatively affect our society. Not so we can live in fear, but so we can be part of the solution. Soles 4 Souls has given us the opportunity to be part of a solution to poverty and improve the lives of others.

Today’s video is Soles 4 Souls video about “The Power of a Pair of Shoes.”

Video source

You can learn more at Soles 4 Souls

If you are so inclined you can make a monetary donation.

This link is if you want to give your gently used shoes.

This link is if you want to set up a shoe drive.

image.png

You might enjoy reading my previous poems written for my TODAY IS series:

TODAY IS NATIONAL PI DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL GOOD SAMARITAN DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL NAPPING DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL WORSHIP OF TOOLS DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL MARIO DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL GET OVER IT DAY!

image.png

FREE Daily Crypto: Swift coins

image.png

image.png

Sort:  

Today's poem and message is profound. t made me think differently about shoes. We all take them for granted forgetting that there are millions who would cherish them with their lives. I try to give away shoes I no longer wear and ones that that have tears in them. I just wanted to help a few people out but now I feel bad for giving them worn-out shoes.

Don't feel bad about it, @solomonsel. You're giving more than most people are.

People re-purpose some of the shoes. I'm not exactly sure how, but it creates jobs,

I agree - we need more good news, and we need to spread it when there is some. Well done with your poem about shoes.

Just discovered your great poems. I love poems that send a positive message.....rather like parables. Thanks for following me.

I can’t believe i was not following you earlier. I love reading your poems. I’m not a sneakerhead personally but i do take shoes for granted

lol, better late than never! I'm delighted to hear that you love reading my poems!

I'm not a sneakerhead, but they are my shoe of preference, they are extremely comfortable. I even had my wedding photographer take a picture of me in my beat up high tops before my wedding many years ago.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by emergehealthier from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57743.27
ETH 3083.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42