TODAY IS NATIONAL PI DAY!

in #todayis6 years ago (edited)

image.png

image.png

image.png
The Cherry Pie I baked with Mom last month. I will be bake Apple Pie this afternoon.

PI DAY

Today we celebrate PI,
I know you’re asking why?

Because it is great,
especially on my plate.

Oh wait, wrong PI.
I’ll give it another try.

PI is a math term,
sorry, didn’t mean to make you squirm.

Oh, this just keeps getting better,
it’s represented by a Greek letter.

Because it is constant,
so, it won’t keep you wanting!

3.14 is close enough,
for measuring stuff.

3.14 is the number of diameters it takes,
to wrap around a certain shape.

A circle is that shape,
no need for a measuring tape.

It works on circles of all sizes,
because it’s a ratio, surprise!

So, what makes PI special,
since we round it to two decimals?

It never repeats,
that’s quite a feat!

That makes the number irrational,
I know that sounds laughable.

and finally, it never ends,
Unlike this poem, my friends!

image.png

I hope you can enjoy a slice of pie while watching today’s videos on PI!

Video source

Video source

image.png

Read my previous poems written for my TODAY IS series:

TODAY IS NATIONAL NAPPING DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL WORSHIP OF TOOLS DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL MARIO DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL GET OVER IT DAY!
TODAY IS NATIONAL PEANUT CLUSTER DAY!

image.png

More FREE Upvotes: Steemfollower
FREE Daily Crypto: Swift coins

image.png

image.png

Sort:  

It wasn't until I watched a popular quiz show last night that I realized why the day is known as PI day. PI = 3.14 which in date format is 14th March. Simple really!

Here is a reward to celebrate your new found knowledge!


Image source

Now I could use a piece of pie :)

@appent got the last slice of apple pie and cup of coffee. So, here is whole blueberry pie for you and family!


Image source

Wow, it looks delicious :) A spoonful of whipped cream, and voila :)

Your poems always made me smile.

National PI day. Didn't expect this. PI sounds complicated. We haven't found the value of PI but it is used in calculations? Kinda confused. Me and maths didn't get along but I want to be it's friend.

The first video is funny although confusing a bit.

While it is true that we don’t have an exact number for PI, it is generally used in math as 3.14. Peter Trueb, a particle physicist has verified 22.4 trillion digits of Pi. Pi is infinite, so these digits are behind the 3.14.
If math is not really your thing just enjoy regular pie!

Trillion??? How did he get to that number? I like maths but maths just doesn't like me.

I do enjoy a good pie. But I always eat it alone. My wife hates it. It doesn't sit well in here stomach

Yes, trillion! He had a computer calculate out that far. I wonder how long it took the computer to do that.

Depending on when that was, all I can say is he had to have had a lot of patience.

haha !!! National PI day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58000.61
ETH 3105.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42