Tiny House Episode 16: Paper Bag Flooring

We ended up getting very creative with the flooring in our tiny house. We had a number of considerations to balance and the more conventional options didn't seem to fit the bill.

As usual, we were trying to be mindful of the weight we were adding which meant that both stone and tile was out of the question. Additionally, tile of any kind is a risky choice in a tiny house on wheels because it tends to crack during transportation.

We also were trying to reduce the amount of off gassing and VOC's inside the tiny house which meant that laminate flooring and linoleum were less than ideal options as well. There are many affordable laminates that are very beautiful but every time I was near them I could smell the chemicals. While we seriously considered both of these options, in the end neither made the cut.

The last option on our list was hardwood flooring, which looks great and is less toxic in terms of chemicals, but it was too expensive and heavy for our needs. Ultimately, these drawbacks meant hardwood didn't make the cut either.

So what, you may wonder, would fit all of our criteria? The answer: Paper bag flooring!

thumbThe flooring fully finished!

I was introduced to the idea of paper bag flooring by my mother who is a creative do-it-yourselfer. She had come across an article on paper bag flooring a couple of years earlier. With this information she created simulated hard wood flooring in a couple of the rooms in her house by cutting plank strips from brown craft paper and using a textured wood roller to apply stain to each one.

momI'm still a momma's boy.

Finally, we found something that was lightweight, affordable, (<$1 sqft for everything including tools) and very low in terms of VOC's. We decided to move ahead with this option and after my mom made a few test boards for us. We decided to use a different method than she used in her house to give the floor more of a stained leather appearance instead.

This is achieved by ripping and crumpling the paper before applying a dye/glue mixture. Then spreading the pieces overlapped on the floor. After the glue mixture dries you apply 3 to 5 coats of oil modified polyurethane which is a durable relatively non-toxic clear coat. We noticed that the pieces sitting in dye solution longer dried darker so if our speed varied so did the floor colour. Sine we ended up with a bit of a marbled floor colour, we went one step further by including additional dye to one of the clear coats which ended up giving the floor a more even and rich looking finish.

applyApplying the paper drenched in glue/dye mixture to the floor.

My mom came over to demonstrate the method and complete the kitchen floor (Thanks mom!). At a later date, Aimee's mom helped us with the removable floor pieces. Finally, Aimee took on the bathroom, stairs, and remaining small floor pieces. Overall, we invested about 25-30 man hours into the floor but a lot of that effort was due to the removable floor pieces and small nooks and crannies around the tiny house.

After living on this floor for almost two years, we are happy with how it is holding up. Also, if the clear coat becomes too worn in any area we can simply clean the floor and apply a new layer or two.

driedThe floor once it dried but before the clear coats have been added.

Make sure to watch for the next post on this topic as it will be a step-by-step tutorial on how to do this for yourself!

Sort:  

The floor looks amazing. It does have the worn leather look. I love the results. And the price you can't beat! What is your sub-flooring? Would it work on smooth concrete?

Yep, you just need to use an epoxy for the first layer to the concrete. Which makes it a lot more expensive.

You could probably also use gorilla glue, but remember it foams, so be sure to have more paper to squish into that foam. And it still may not leave a flat floor. But, you could probably sand it down if it foams to much, and then use the glue above to glue the next layer.

Thanks for the tips! I think I will start with a small floor first. In case I have problems :) How well would it do in a bathroom?

The problem with wood (and paper) in the bathroom is the water getting into it and causing it to swell. Water gets around everything, flows into any crevice, and so any exposed paper will get wet, and then it will rot, swell and get mold.

So, the top isn't much of a problem. You are probably going to use Deft oil based floor polyurethane. So, the surface is plastic. Its the edges that are the problems, so get yourself some 1/4" thick pieces of wood and put them all around the walls, wrapped in plastic wrap. (or plastic strips. I had some plastic blind that have forever provided me with strips). This is to keep the paper a 1/4" away from the wall. Then, when you put on the polyurethane it will flow over the edges and protect the ends.

Then cover the gap with base molding.

Thanks for the tips. Happy New Year!

We have it in our bathroom also and it hasn't been an issue. Like @builderofcastles mentioned just make sure the edges are well sealed. So water can't get beneath it.

We used the same water based polyurethane in the bathroom (not recommending it but that is what we did) and it has been fine. We wipe up water when we see it. We even had a water line fitting leak and pool on the floor for a few days before we noticed it and it was fine once it dried out.

Good to know! Thanks! Happy New Year!

You're welcome! Happy new year to you also!🎉

I went straight overtop of the OSB subfloor. You can see some of the texture of the wood chips but because of the crickled paper it doesn't look out of place. The panels in the center of the house are just plywood.

Concrete I am not sure how well the glue would adhere.

It looks like it can be done on concrete but it is a slightly different process and a different glue is used.
http://homeguides.sfgate.com/brown-bag-flooring-top-concrete-29149.html

Thanks for the info. I can't get over how great the floor looks. I would have never thought that it was paper!

Love the look. I bet it is very satisfying to have done it all yourself too! How cost effective is it in comparison to vinyl or rolled linoleum? Time wise I am sure your method took way longer but perhaps it is much less for the materials?

Lino would be at least 2x more expensive per sqft and it off gasses more too. The oil-modified polyurethane is actually a water based coating (you can wash the brushes off with water) and is low VOC.

thanks appreciate the info

This is really cool and it is the third time this week that I have come across 'paper bag flooring', I wonder if the world is trying to tell me something. I am redoing a little pool house into a tiny house this Spring and I like this idea. My plan was to paint the new plywood base floor and then use the wood grain roller (probably like your mother has) to make contrasting grain and then seal it all. I like the idea of the paper bags though.

I think the plywood with wood grain added wouldn't be to bad either. I'll have some pics of what my mom did so you can compare.

That's great. I'm excited to start but it is bitterly cold here so just planning stage now for me.

Here is one of the rooms my mom did in white planks. Also see another picture I posted above in reply to @schoonercreek

white

What an amazing progress !! Great job buddy :)

That is just too cool. Moms are the best.. Cant wait to show this to my husband, we've been talking about flooring options in our mobile home and non-toxic is our top priority!

I should almost get some pictures of the flooring at my mom's house that looks more like hardwood. I think it is less labor to do it like that.

would love to see them!!

Here is the simulated hard wood version. Also see below a white version I posted for @donnadavisart

hw

This is absolutely amazing... So were strips cut then to make it look like boards?

Yeah, it is strips of brown craft paper, my mom actually took a bunch of pics I didn't know about. I might have enough material to do a tutorial on this method also.

This just blew my mind! I absolutely love this idea!

Thanks, I was pretty shocked myself to see what it ended up looking like and it is more durable then you would think too.

Now this is seriously innovate! I might well revisit this in a couple/ few years when I come to put together my own tiny house.

What! That’s awesome! I’ve never heard of that. It looks really nice. What a great solution :D!

Looks really good! I forgot all about these paper bag floors. And never even thought about it being good in a tiny home or RV as light mat we ial to use. What a great idea!

They are probably the lightest flooring option I can think of other then not doing them at all 😁

Lol...They look so good!

This house is really coming together well. Looking forward to the tutorial.

Cool, I may end up having step by step methods for both how I did it and how my mom did because she apparently took some progress pics when she did her floor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67