Transparency, or "I Hate Fiat, But Can I Learn to Love The BlockChain Gang?"

in #tinfoilraps7 years ago

“Transparency is for those who carry out public duties and exercise public power. Privacy is for everyone else.”
– Glenn Greenwald –


Steemian @v4vapid has launched another great contest:

This time, he's called out creatives to have fun by making fun of conspiracies in a rhyming fashion.


V4vapid Presents: Tin Foil Raps - A Paranoid Rhymes Contest

As I've been somewhat disturbed by the recent calls of Steemit founder Dan Larimer for absolute transparency for both government and its citizenry, I've once again taken up my "mightier than the sword" pen to lay down some rhymes in opposition to that idea.


Table of Contents

The BlockChain Gang
Image courtesy of Tony Rojas and http://unsplash.com

Here's my contest entry.

I chose the limerick form because I've always enjoyed it and found it particularly fun and entertaining.

After you enjoy the poem, for an even deeper and more abiding experience, don't miss the chance to go back and check the links...



Transparency, or
"I Hate Fiat, But Can I Learn to Love
The BlockChain Gang?"


~by Duncan Cary Palmer~

 

~
The government’s getting top-heavy.
Their fiat is going to tank.
To the blockchain, good men!
Time to rally again.
Laughing’s easy when we’re our own bank.

Dan the Man says “Let’s all drop our drawers.”
Has he spaced on what crypto is for?
Dan’s transparency theme
Puts a larcenous gleam
In the eye of the taxman, for sure.

 

 

I for one have no deep held desire
Of a block-and-chain gang to be part.
Anonymity rocks
When mining those blocks
Safe from those who’ve made stealing an art.

All who claim they’re our rulers should live
With a microscope up their backside.
Let them show us the way,
And we’ll snicker as they
Demonstrate they’ve got nothing to hide.
~

 



~FIN~


For more poetry, please visit our Library Poetry Shelf - Just CLICK the shelf below.


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Sort:  

Loved it @creatr and very topical too. :)

He's definitely a wordsmith that Dan the Man. He makes the future he envisions sound so attractive but he's not as clever as he thinks he is and more than a few of us can see past the sugar coating.

All of the references are a great idea as well. That's the first time I've seen or at least noticed the idea of including links being used in a poem. :)

Hi @tonyr!

Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting.

I admire Dan tremendously and appreciate his work on Steemit and in other areas, but really find myself at odds with his recent posts about openness and transparency.

It may just be that I've lived long enough to see and feel the evil that the government beast rains down on anyone who doesn't "comply" with its demands, no matter how "open" they may be.

When it comes to human government, shut my mouth and shut the door! :O

Amazing post Dear and I'm also love block chain.

I just ran into you here creatr. You definitely seem like one of those "real" "smart" steemians that is going to make my feed better!. Look forward to communicating in the future. Alx

Hi, @alxgraham,

Thanks for stopping by, and welcome to my list. Glad to have you on board. ;)

I'd be happy to interact, answer any questions about any articles - no matter how old. Be sure to check out my library... just click on the GIF below. However, a word of warning. Some arbitrary change in the U/I has broken all links below the first level; but if you copy the link and remove the "extra" http, you can get to the post...

Cheers!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Very cool. Nice to make you I’m acquaintance. Will do tonight after I drop my kids off at their mamas.

You have a talent with words for sure!

Thank you, dear. :D

A very talented man indeed :)

Thank, my friend. :D

You are always welcome :)

As long as the banks do not take the Blockchain it is good. But The banks are getting into bitcoin. I know that is not Steem but It does concern me. Thank for your poem as I enjoyed it.

Thanks, Troy.

As far as "taking" goes, I don't see that as possible. However, there are strong influences, and the open nature of "blockchain as public ledger" gives me concerns about governments identifying and attempting to prosecute those who don't accept their falsely assumed jurisdiction over all things...

Oh WOW! You've struck a nerve with me here as I too have been perplexed by the complete transparency push from Dan.
I think that you have every right to be as transparent as you'd like online, voluntarily, but it leaves us vulnerable in SO many ways, Big Brother / 1984 as just one that comes immediately to mind.example.

The opening quote from Greenwald is perfect, public figures such as politicians and those running for public office should require to be as transparent as possible, though even they are entitled to some privacy.
The rest of us have a right to privacy.

Privacy allows for creativity, in my mind, as how can we create new ideas and inventions without being ridiculed/questioned/censored when everything is open? How can we challenge the prevailing wisdom, status quo if everything is monitored?

I think society is moving towards more transparency but there are real dangers such as a 24/7 365 surveillance state that we must protect against.

...

I loved the Blockchain-Gang concept as well!

I have a random confession to make, as I constantly make the same spelling error when I write. I write Blackchain instead of Blockchain! Now it's not that big of a deal but when I edit my posts it tends to change the meaning quite dramatically. lol

Anyways, Thanks for ANOTHER fantastic entry!

Do our thoughts not belong to ourselves?

Greetings, my friend, and thanks for your encouragement and comprehensive commentary... :D

I am 100% with you on "all things voluntary." I strongly believe that is the fundamental evil of human government as we know it, the pretension to some sort of right to use force and violence to accomplish its ends.

Have you ever read Vernor Vinge's "True Names?" It is an amazing and visionary insight into the cyber world, written way back in the early 1980s. I really need to write a review of that, as it is directly applicable to the issue of privacy v transparency. If you haven't read it, I can't recommend it enough!

"Do our thoughts not belong to ourselves?"

This is a most profound question! I have thought deeply about it in other contexts. It is clear that they do, and yet even there, the Beast is lurking, probing, seeking to get in and learn what we are thinking, and to modify it for its own evil ends.

Thanks again for the dialog! Great to talk with you.

😄😇😄

@creatr

everyone's about transparency but no one wants to live in a glass house. Maybe they should try being a writer, lol

Hahahahaha!

Even writers get to pick and choose what they wish to reveal...

Governments, on the other hand, want to get up in all your bid'ness... :O

This is good! Haha. Where do you ever find the time to write like this?

Thanks.
I steal the time.

That's what I'm doing wrong! I keep thinking it will come to ME. However, even with time I'd still have to have all the insight and knowledge you have. That'll take a lot more work. ;)

Congratulations @creatr! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.83
ETH 2464.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43