You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Transparency, or "I Hate Fiat, But Can I Learn to Love The BlockChain Gang?"

in #tinfoilraps7 years ago

Oh WOW! You've struck a nerve with me here as I too have been perplexed by the complete transparency push from Dan.
I think that you have every right to be as transparent as you'd like online, voluntarily, but it leaves us vulnerable in SO many ways, Big Brother / 1984 as just one that comes immediately to mind.example.

The opening quote from Greenwald is perfect, public figures such as politicians and those running for public office should require to be as transparent as possible, though even they are entitled to some privacy.
The rest of us have a right to privacy.

Privacy allows for creativity, in my mind, as how can we create new ideas and inventions without being ridiculed/questioned/censored when everything is open? How can we challenge the prevailing wisdom, status quo if everything is monitored?

I think society is moving towards more transparency but there are real dangers such as a 24/7 365 surveillance state that we must protect against.

...

I loved the Blockchain-Gang concept as well!

I have a random confession to make, as I constantly make the same spelling error when I write. I write Blackchain instead of Blockchain! Now it's not that big of a deal but when I edit my posts it tends to change the meaning quite dramatically. lol

Anyways, Thanks for ANOTHER fantastic entry!

Do our thoughts not belong to ourselves?

Sort:  

Greetings, my friend, and thanks for your encouragement and comprehensive commentary... :D

I am 100% with you on "all things voluntary." I strongly believe that is the fundamental evil of human government as we know it, the pretension to some sort of right to use force and violence to accomplish its ends.

Have you ever read Vernor Vinge's "True Names?" It is an amazing and visionary insight into the cyber world, written way back in the early 1980s. I really need to write a review of that, as it is directly applicable to the issue of privacy v transparency. If you haven't read it, I can't recommend it enough!

"Do our thoughts not belong to ourselves?"

This is a most profound question! I have thought deeply about it in other contexts. It is clear that they do, and yet even there, the Beast is lurking, probing, seeking to get in and learn what we are thinking, and to modify it for its own evil ends.

Thanks again for the dialog! Great to talk with you.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61129.24
ETH 2376.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54