Manage Your Time Effectively

in #time6 years ago (edited)


Time management used to be a challenge for me. I remember when I was away from social networks, I got messages like, “Japheth, why haven't you been posting?” Truth be told, sometimes I feel as if I cannot accomplish much within the 24 hours of the day. When it was really challenging for me, I had to talk to some friends I felt were so organised. I've been pretty busy with exams, projects, and some investments. It's really difficult to achieve much when you feel 24 hours in a day is too small.

I wouldn't want others to make similar mistakes to what I did in past, so I'll be sharing tips I'm even still working on to become better at time management. It's first best to identify one's challenge, so it can be tackled.

Focus should be on what is important

This could easily been done by having a scale of preference. When you group activities this way, you try to do what is really important first and subsequently get involved in other actives. That is why it is very possible for someone to be very busy, but yet inefficient. Most times, the hardest of tasks are usually the hardest of tasks. Does this mean that we should dodge responsibilities or do just simple tasks? No, we should take the bull by it's horns. If possible, we can request for help. It is not something you should be shy about.

So you have to take your time in determining what is truly important and focus your efforts on that. It is not how far a journey is gone, but how well.

Learn when to work less & when to rest

Humans are not robots, so there are times where you have to rest or rather work less. Everyone understand his or her bodies more, you know when you are most active. You have to be more effective during those hours. As for me, I'm usually more effective during the early hours of the day and after the sun down.

We need to take into consideration our willpower too. Simply put, will power is strong determination that allows you to carry out a tough task.

Information Processing

You don't need to pour in so much information into that head of yours. The brain is a supercomputer, but let that get into your head. You might end overloading your head. Information that is nor needed should be thrown to the background, it doesn't need to occupy space in your head. If you have to read all the time, then you have to increase the celery of your reading.

Managing social media accounts properly

When you have something serious you are doing, you have to be careful with social networks. I said I was only going to spend few minutes texting a friend sometime ago, I ended up chatting for hours. When you are very busy, it's best to go offline.

If you work on social networks (like Steemit for instance), other social networks could be distractions too. Do you have to give attention to the time you spend on them.

Make Your Plans Early

It's best to plan for the next day at night going to bed, so that you don't have to worry much in the morning. A group of thought also believe that planning your day a night before, will help you deal with challenges you may encounter in your dream. No a bad idea though.

A complicated task could also be divided for simplicity sake when planning. This way each of the smaller tasks could easily been accomplished.

Know When To Say “No”

It's proper to know when to say “no” to people and tasks when you are not comfortable to them. Don't just be a “yes” person, as this has it's disadvantages. Always give attention to important tasks.

All images used are under Creative Commons CC0. Images are from http://pixabay.com.



Thanks for coming around :)


follow_jaff8.gif

Sort:  

excellent article apostol, very well researched. Thanks, I liked reading about time. It's good to know for those of us who are busy

Truth be told, sometimes I feel as if I cannot accomplish much within the 24 hours of the day..i undestand perfectly what you said, i have now this kind of problem too, too many things to do and 24 hours seems so small time but i enjoy your tips and i think i will save your post so i can read your tips often as a reminder =)

I really have problems in managing time, I will follow your advice and keep this post in my favorite folder to review periodically. thanks for sharing

dear sir,i love the view from here! The streetlights in the background of the entry, the gorgeous symmetry of the shot, the pattern the bricks made on the ground, the flanking of those stunning statues on each side and the beauty of the light..,,i flow you & upvote me?

nices posts thanks for sharing this posts

Nices posts much obliged for sharing this posts

@cryptospecio - You may not realize that "for sharing this","sharing this post" is considered to be spam, you used 86 similar phrases in your last 100 comments, I've replied to you 26 times before, you've received 1 flag, and the Steem Sincerity API shows a 69.20% spam score. Learn why this is spam and a few better ways to earn the support of the community when commenting.

@jaff8 - You can remove this comment and everyone can whitelist me from appearing in future posts.

This is a great way to manage time. Thanks for this. Please check this out totally unplagarized content. https://steemit.com/sc-n/@dhaarmiie/faith-absolute-belief

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63350.70
ETH 2595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85