TIL: There are 167 cities that you can live comfortably in with a $1000/month budget!

in #til7 years ago (edited)

Recently I've been trying to plan my mobility since I don't have much commitments. If my music business fails, I figured that making $1000/month through various means wouldn't be too much of a problem.

With a $1000 / month budget as a solo traveller looking out for city center accommodations - here's the map of all locations that I can move to, and live modestly:-

The tool I've used even breaks down some useful stats:-

It would be pretty amazing to stay one to three months in each place that I desire. There are other ways to cut costs (or effectively increasing spending power) like couch-surfing, or finding a girlfriend in new lands. If that can be done, I'd probably be able to set a budget of $2000 / month to expand the potential places to go to!

For those interested in planning your mobility as well, here's the tool I've used: https://www.theearthawaits.com

There are quite a number of parameters that you can tweak. Have fun!


Follow me @kevinwong

Sort:  

Hey if you are planning on Tokyo. There is a really good video blog that my wife and I watch.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC8d5J4MxwHtbGINFyJgAJzA

It seems very similar to your situation. They started as girlfriend/boyfriend and just traveled the world cheaply and then settled in Tokyo. They are very frugal and could give you a nice insight of what living in Tokyo or Japan would be like. My wife and I said if we could do it all over again, we would also be in Tokyo right now. All the best.

Wow thanks for that. I know of a couple who did almost the same thing and ended up sleeping on the streets sometimes in Europe (near posh places) and such. Looks exciting :)

Whoa. Sleeping on the street. That is hardcore. Through that couple we learned about couchsurfing. They also did the standard airbnb stuff but nothing too extreme. First, good luck to your business. I have run two and I know how much sweat equity goes into it. Cheers.

Love the Stats. But really "There are other ways to cut costs like couch-surfing, or finding a girlfriend"
Now I found that funny. As I never associated a cost saving device, as having a girl friend.
More an outgoing expense. But hey WTF do I know;D~

Hahah that was just meant to be candid. I wish it is that easy :P

Great. I live in Copenhagen that is on the top 10 most expensive... We have rain and cold winds from the sea, though.

And it gets dark at half past four in the afternoon at this time of year...

Oh Copen is 2nd choice after Tokyo! Both are out of budget, I'd probably need to save up a whole load to buffer if I'm bringing myself to those places :)

When you do come to Copenhagen do it about or just after midsummer. The sky will not get completely dark at any time, the girls will not wear dark woolen coats, the Danes will not be depressed (more like ecstatic and crazy for fun and party.)

If the city ruins you economically I have a bed, some beer and some pickled herring. I already invited @mikkolyytinen so you might have to be the small spoon on the sofa.

Haha it already painted a picture that I want to realize asap lol! I was supposed to continue Eurotripping after Steemfest but I figured I'd do Euro again around summer next year.

At least Scotland and Scandinavia requires some summer for all but the most melancholic lovers of darkness, greyness, windiness, and saltwaterness.

Great website. I think I'm going to check it out. Thanks for sharing!

No prob. If you come across any other neat websites like these, especially when pertaining cost savings and such, please do let me know!

Taiwan is pretty amazing, and safe too. Beautiful country, just look at my Steemit posts lol. Gotta promote my own country right?

Anywhere china / hk / taiwan is a bit of a conundrum to me.. I can't converse very well in any chinese dialects at all! But yeap I agree that Taiwan is beautiful. Air Asia flights there are pretty cheap too.. thanks for the reminder, I'll have to look into your suggestion :)

Becoming familiar with the language can help you find better deals

I agree with that, even with my limited travel experience. There's once I got like 40% off just being able to speak some Thai in Bangkok :)

The website is actually cool. This may help for designing cheap (or not too expensive) vacation plans :)

Yeah it's a neat little website, and there are no monetization plans with it! I agree it's good so you can plan the cities to hit consecutively in like maybe a 1-2 months trip even with the family :)

There's nothing in the US that's under 1000 bucks!

Being facetious @kevinwong, Boston is stupid expensive.

Hahah! I'd be surprised to find anything within budget, that'd be great.. But I'll be okay being in Missouri though since I have relatives there :)

Let me know if you swing by these regions man!

You wanna join? I'm looking out for Japan, but damn, that place is expensive!

Yeah Japan is very expensive, Singapore is very expensive as well in Asia.. Have you thought about living in Europe for a while? Plenty of cheap places...

Spain maybe? Looking out for places that have their own ports / beaches :) I forgot who told me, but seaside cultures are typically more relaxed and friendly, and that's what I'm looking out for :)

Yeah totally! Spain is still the best for me, there are a lot of relaxed beach towns. Also Portugal.

I lived in Scandinavia for while, so I won't say that people in the north are less friendly, just that in Southern Europe people in general are is more open and sociable.

Yeah I'll probably look around the Greece, Italy (i think this is expensive), and Spain (@gargon recommended Malaga, looks like a great place!)

yeah love that website. nomad list is pretty good too - http://nomadlist.com

Nice! Thanks for the website, bookmarked!

super welcome. also if you join their 'club' you get access to slack. over 10,000 nomads in different cities all around the world. has channels for each city. crazy. but awesome.

That's great. How good would it be if they all somehow accept and use Steem as currency. Steemit would become the perfect travel companion :)

i found a boat the other day that accepted steem from airbnb somewhere near tenerife. really got me thinking about crypto for sure. i'm new here - i love it already.

Steem from Airbnb? Didn't know they allow for cryptocurrencies :) Will check it out. And welcome to Steemit! I write bout lots of stuff, here's one about Steemit / Steem lately :) https://steemit.com/steemit/@kevinwong/a-casual-analysis-for-steem-speculators

Btw were u at Steemfest?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87