TIL - Today I Learned that "Click - Bait" Titles Can Be 🌩️Dangerous!🌩️steemCreated with Sketch.

in #til8 years ago

I recently had one of those rather painful "teachable moments."

In this case, the "Today I Learned" experience took place yesterday, when I took a photo of a homeless woman. I posted it on Steemit, and gave it a "cutesy" title to grab peoples' attention. Boy, did it ever!

My "click-bait" title, "The Homeless... Are They People, Too?" instantly became a lightning rod when several bolts of wrath were directed my way in the comments. At least one reader let me know that they were unfollowing me.

It hurt to discover that anyone would take a rhetorical question so seriously, and apparently without reading the article. I in no way intended to disrespect the woman or her condition. Had the offended reader taken a minute or two to actually read the entire post to the end, they would have found that it was - in reality - a compassionate, introspective reflection.

I was commenting not only on the state of the physically homeless, but of all humanity. I was actually comparing myself, and all of us, to her. I was trying to imagine being in her shoes. My conclusion, in the article, was that we're really not all that different; that our differences are superficial.

Butting Heads With My Readers!

Butting Heads With My Readers!
Photo courtesy of Ming Jun Tan and http://unsplash.com

Thinking more about what happened,

I shouldn't be too surprised. My Steemit audience comes from extremely diverse backgrounds, different native languages, and vastly divergent cultures. Though I'm not entirely sure how recognizing that will change what I post, I will make an effort to be more thoughtfully aware in the future of how broad my audience truly is.

Reflecting on my shock at the vehemently negative response to my post, I will probably try to avoid such click-bait titles, at least for a while. At least until my jangling nerves settle down!

Attempting to remove all ambiguity, I renamed the post The Homeless Are People, Too.... And after thinking about it much of the day,

I wrote a haiku about this painful experience.

Please enjoy, and use shocking titles at your own peril...



📖What's In A Title?📖 - A Haiku


Penned click-bait title...
Wrath of non-readers smoked me!
Won't soon retry that!



My Title Turned Into a Wreck!

My Title Turned Into a Wreck!
Photo courtesy of Blair Fraser and http://unsplash.com


Thanks for your time and attention.

I'm here on Steemit because of you, my readers. I wouldn't be here if it weren't for you!

This post is intended to count towards @dragosroua's Challenge30.


I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about all of them.
Did you enjoy this post?

⬇️Please check out @creatr's world - CLICK each of the images below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Follow me, I'm @creatr

Sort:  

Read content after a headline? Why do that when I can get mad instead?

Sad but true! :(

So we lose a few
Sharing on a new platform
Gems stay, winter day

Click bait drives me crazy. Now that I have that out of the way...I like your revised title better. It's a better fit to the article.

Thanks for stopping by and commenting... Nice to "meet" you, @simplysara! Even nicer to find you browsing my older articles! And, I have to say, I'm delighted that you've re-steemed my article about creating organized tables of contents! Thank You! :)

For right now, that's how I'm saving posts for later. I want to use some of your techniques, but I do most of my Steeming on my phone. This way I have the info when I sit down at a computer.

Your post shoul have been read not just go by the title

@creatr cheer up
we all learn lessons everyday that's what matters
and we can't really please everyone
I learned from @thecryptofiend - don't take it personally
and its hard not to - so I try to always look at things the way my mentor taught me how - to look at things like a 2 tipped pen
one tip is black the other is red - well sometimes I do just see red hahaha
what's funny is that - this is the net and this still happens
then no one can tell us there is no reality here isn't it :)
my wish is you and the other author get to sort things out
speaking of which at least the author didn't troll you
I had such - the power of mute is very effective :)
Steem on

Hello, my dear friend @englishtchrivy!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave me your encouraging message! :) :) :) You are so kind!

As it turns out, the person who reacted so badly actually returned and apologized to me! (If you look at the comments under my "Homeless" article, you can see what they said... I was so surprised and pleased! To me, coming back to apologize is really such a great thing, and very hard to do. We all make mistakes and do things we later regret, and for them to come back and apologize took courage and humility, and I very much respect them for it!

But it is very sweet of you to encourage me, Thanks so much, Dear! 😄😇😄

@creatr

@creatr that's good to know I'm happy for you
when two people are open enough and none of them means anything negative to just pester another person just because the other didn't get their whim - peace is easily achieved.
Am happy for you both!

Anyone who flags without even reading the article is a piece of crap.

Actually, wasn't quite that bad... Didn't flag, just "unfollowed." And (surprise!) came back later and apologized, which I respect the heck out of! :) It takes guts and humility to apologize! ;)

I lost a friend on facebook once. Completely misunderstood a point I was making, tore strips off me then unfriended me, so I couldn't actually point out how he'd misread the comment.
Clearly an idiot, so I didn't lose much sleep over it.

Yeah, sadly, some people are just intractable! :( And you just hafta' let them go...

social media...we're always learning. I've gone against some major heavyweights on Twitter - it wasn't pretty. What I learned is similar to the old carpenter's saw ( pardon the pun) measure twice, cut once. It'll smart for a day or two, but been there, done it, bought the t-shirt. It gives us pause each time we hit the post button :)

I've had a few debates on Facebook with, let's say, some "interesting" people. And no matter how civil and (subjectively) rational I work at being, it can still be quite tedious and a real "energy vacuum cleaner" when it happens.

I've only had one fairly lengthy debate here on Steemit, with @stan, and he was very gentlemanly about it. I suspect there will be more and interesting discussions to come whenever I post another of my more outré biblical/theological opinions... :) Ah, what fun to come! :)

Perhaps unfortunately, I have a tendency to hit "post" and then pause... :O

Nice pun, BTW... ;)

I am surprised no one flagged you! People posts but no one reads you!!They stop on the picture and the title. You can this experiment again and again, it will work! Happy for you that some people actually read your posts. Keep up.

Hi, @jyezie! Thanks for commenting. I will keep up, and I appreciate the encouragement. Yes, I am very happy to have some people actually read my work! ;)

My latest investing journal had one too

Mr Trump had a big go at pharmaceutical companies - good enough invite for me to invest.

It must have been sedate or too early in the day to get any response - more like the moribund "oh, boring, another post about money" -> I can assure all readers the boredom sets in well past the first image

http://mymark.mx/TIB16

Same issues, different form. I've noticed when I put up my fiction, grabbing headlines get votes, good work without them does not. Perhaps it's the nature of social media and instant gratification, but It's a concerning trend. Following anyways, great stuff regardless of what the uniformed masses think.

Greetings, @ilovebatcatstew, and thanks for taking time to say "hello" here!

Yes, I suppose social media draws people with a short attention span. Thank you so much for your encouragement and for reading what I write! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.11
ETH 2756.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66