The Homeless Are People, Too...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

This morning, I happened upon a poignant scene...

I had just dropped my granddaughter off at school.

Thinking I might pick up a bagel while in town, I pulled into a local shopping plaza. My favorite bagel shop is across from the town's movie theater complex.

I noticed a small homeless woman of indeterminate age, her heavy red coat sheltering against Southern California's damp winter cold. She was pulling her worldly goods behind her in a wagon.

Nearly past the theater, she paused.

Stepping away from her wagon, she stood for a moment before a movie poster that had captured her imagination.

Longing for Respite...

Longing for Respite... - Original Photo

Perhaps you and I are not that different from the homeless?

This scene reminded me that human needs and desires, our longings, are insistent - always present in the background - whether or not we have the means to satisfy them. We are all homeless in some ways, longing for things presently — maybe forever? — beyond our reach.

Do you have any hope of one day satisfying those longings?

My hope for the long-term future is the kind gift of grace granted me by King Jesus. What's yours?


Thanks for your time and attention.

I'm here on Steemit because of you, my readers. I wouldn't be here if it weren't for you!

This post is intended to count towards @dragosroua's Challenge30.


I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about all of them.
Did you enjoy this post?

⬇️Please check out @creatr's world - CLICK each of the images below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Follow me, I'm @creatr

Sort:  

I wish I could buy her a ticket to escape reality fo a little while. I'll watch her belongings for a few hours. @ironshield

We have quite a few homeless here in the UK, breaks my heart seeing them like that its so sad

Yes, indeed it is. And I must confess to rarely doing anything concrete to help.

I give food but what else can you do, its the governments that should be doing something

Actually, dear friend @karenb54, I believe that government is probably the primary cause of homelessness. Government robs us all at the point of a gun, and makes up oppressive "rules" (for example, restrictive laws and regulations) that prevent people from building and occupying their own shelters within their own means.

If we were "allowed" to build our own shelters using available materials and without tens of thousands of dollars in fees, there would be far fewer homeless walking the streets.

He should make another entrance and send our government to hell, its what they deserve :)

I truly believe that He will. That time is coming, though I can't say precisely when!

So very true, @creatr for Prime minister :)

Hahahaha... Sorry, don't want the job... I would be a miserable ruler... ;) There's only One person qualified to rule...

But thanks for your vote, nonetheless... :)

This is very touching.

Thanks; glad it moved you.

Jesus loves us all the same, regardless of our income level or social status.

Yes, I have absolutely no doubt that Jesus' love is not contingent upon our income or social status! If that were the case, I would be utterly lost!

Thanks, @countryinspired, for stopping by and commenting.

What many people do not understand is that if they are in a bad situation (like being homeless) and they believe in the power and glory of Jesus, they can pray to be delivered from their circumstances and it will actually happen.

King Jesus was a homeless guy too. And he hung around with other homeless guys. I've been homeless and am almost there again. The homeless are no different than anyone else, for the most part. I met some on the road that were just too lazy to work, but they were in the minority. Most were prevented from working by physical and/or mental impediments. Each and every one of those people have a story, a reason for why they're there and believe me, it's not by choice.

Hello, @richq11,

Of course! Correct! Agreed, 100%! That is my point, and I hope that (unlike some other commenters) you haven't mistaken my intent here, based on the title of my post alone?

I think you did read the entire post to the end, and hope you can see that it is - in reality - a compassionate reflection on the state, not only of the physically homeless, but of all humanity. We all have unfulfilled longings. It is those very longings that are part and parcel of our humanity. I was actually comparing myself, all of us, to her.

I understand and agree that, for most homeless, it is not a matter of choice; life, circumstances, etc. "happen" to us all.

I didn't mistake your intent, I believe your intent to be noble. My comment was directed at others that read it, hoping that they don't.

Thanks so much, friend! 😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank you for posting @creator.

The homeless.....could use our prayers as prayer is the most a believer can do for anyone. Prayer that they will be fed, that queries will come to mind concerning their eternal future and that they will receive the good news of Salvation, the only hope of mankind. ...Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ and you shall be saved. Secondly...to give to organizations that feed both the body and the soul of the homeless.

Regarding the hope aspect. Certainly our hope is in things not seen as Abraham had hope in the city he had been promised...Hebrews 11.

The hope that is Christ...the same yesterday, today, forever....the hope beyond what is now into eternity. That hope that has turned into confidence with the learning of Biblical doctrines.

Thank you for opportunity to think on these things.

All the best to you and yours.

How dare you ask such a redundant question.

Hello, @coloured-content,

I regret that you seem to have drawn an incorrect conclusion, apparently based on the title of my post alone?

Perhaps if you were to take a minute or two and read the entire post to the end, you would find that it is - in reality - a compassionate reflection on the state, not only of the physically homeless, but of all humanity. We all have unfulfilled longings. It is those very longings that are part and parcel of our humanity. I was actually comparing myself, all of us, to her.

To be clear; I in no way intended to disrespect the lady or her condition, and I sincerely regret that the title of my post seems to have given you that false impression.

My appologies....I reacted too soon!

I should have just given you my opinion on the title....I feel like asking the question alone is degrading because humans are humans no matter their situation

I did not read the post.....but based on the fact that I have experienced homelessness in the past, the title affected me....do not take it personally! I get out of line from time to time. lol.

Hello once again, @coloured-content,

Thank you so much for returning and apologizing... That took courage, and I respect you for that.

I truly meant neither you nor anyone else any offense. The question was intended to be "rhetorical" and to get people thinking, that's all! And I'm sorry that it resulted in bringing back unpleasant memories of your past.

Wow! Here I am, replying to my own post...

I was shocked out of my wits to find two readers today who absolutely mistook my intent in writing this post. Based on their knee-jerk reactions, I see that I have to review my thoughts on the benefits of "click-bait" titles... I may even have to write a post about that!

To save further pain and misunderstanding, I've revised the title of this post to clarify my intent from the outset. I apologize to any who mistook my meaning, while appealing to you to please read and think before jumping to unwarranted conclusions...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63862.88
ETH 2754.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64