Old dogs, new tacts and warning flags

in #thoughts5 years ago

I am not one to give advice generally and I tend to stay away from it on Steem even more but, here is a little for all of the application and business owners out there; The way you behave is a reflection on your business.

I am not overly qualified I guess to give my opinion or advice on this but when I come across people speaking on behalf of applications and getting overly defensive to criticism or questions doesn't bode well in convincing me to support a business plan. It might just be me of course but when business owners and operators get emotional and can't control their annoyance, it makes me question their abilities to run a business.

This is perhaps even more true in the cryptospace as it is highly volatile with extreme ups and downs and very fickle investors who buy hype and think holding long term is a couple months. In my opinion, I don't want to invest with someone who is unable to control their words as it points to an inability to control themselves. Would you trust an emotional or highly strung person with your investment money?

One of the signs I look for is patience or more accurately, I look for impatience in people as it tends to indicate to me that when they have an agenda on mind, they will manipulate the situation to push it through. It is kind of like someone who really needs to go to the bathroom trying to cut a conversation short. What will they agree to to get their release? Impatient people often also tend not to have a great eye for detail or at least, a blindness to some details.

I was saying the other day that we all run various evaluative heuristics in our lives to more easily navigate a complex world and make time appropriate decisions and impatience, overly defensive or overly aggressive responses throw up warning flags. Perhaps Shakespeare summed it up with:

"The lady doth protest too much, methinks"

Aggression, avoidance and impatience in reply are protests that make me either look more closely at what is being offered or, walk away due to the increased likelihood of mismanagement due to the appearance of potential guilt. It doesn't mean that there is anything untoward necessarily going on, but with so many opportunities out there in the cryptospace and Steem to choose from in general, having confidence in the team is a big selling point. Also, losing the confidence of supporters is much easier when the approach to criticism is not well handled, even if correct.

All I am saying is that for me, the way people handle themselves is an indicator of the way they handle their business, and if they get stressed by people asking questions or raising criticism, I am not confident in handing over any of my influence whether it be money or delegation. I am hoping that all Steem-based businesses do well of course as if they do it serves my needs also but, there is no need to be dick in the way you treat people, especially if you want or need other people who witness it to support your business.

What do you know, it really wasn't advice, just some more of my thoughts on a Sunday night :)

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

That is my dog Viski in the picture. He is very, very patient with my daughter but, I wouldn't trust him for a second around the Christmas Ham.


View this post on Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Sort:  

The funny thing is: in business 'delivering a product or service well' will get you a good rating, but fixing mistakes in a positive way will get you even better reviews. Word of mouth is a great good, and getting people to say 'they made a mistake, but they handled it so well!' is a winning strategy.

No one is infallible but it is like any pressure test, the way one acts when under stress is a good indicator of behavior.

I agree. For personal accounts people can be as free to be as emotional as they please but when it comes to a business you expect professionalism and at the least a response or responses generated to be calm and measured and polite.

Perhaps we have seen more of the dog with the ham here recently... :0D

I don't mind a bit of color and flamboyancy but, once it gets aggressive or too dismissive, it makes me question what goes on behind the scenes.

Perhaps we have seen more of the dog with the ham here recently...

I have a picture of this in my head and... yes :D

Right now we are all watching a whopping great scam on Steemit - but we can't name names or we get spanked!

So I won't - but I know what you mean :)

I don't think they even intended it to be this way but it just changed form in development. I am not in the business of being spanked unless I ask for it ;)

That's thing is no one should be afraid to speak their mind here, but i think most people know who we are talking about now, the backlash against the flaggers has been pretty big

Pick the battles. Many are high profile but senseless to take blows over.

It's a bit like when you see someone driving like an absolute idiot in a vehicle covered with company signage. If they don't take care on the road with their own vehicle and lives, are they going to take care with whatever you are paying them to do?

Everyone should have a sticker

"Is this account driving erratically on the blockchain? Call here. "

Indeed the way folks conduct themselves is a indication of how they would treat you or your business related affairs. True when pursuing the opposite gender in dating and true of financial matters. Many folks can be trusted. For some however, I would trust your dog first. Hope you let him have a taste of ham at Christmas time. Blessings @tarazkp

Agree with your assessment on how business can be impacted by those who run them without regards to getting proper feedback... It’s unfortunate because the best ideas come from constructive criticism and from those with the experience to influence the building of it. However, this is also a tradeoff of decentralization...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @tarazkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.258 which ranks you at #226 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 192 contributions, your post is ranked at #11.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post has been included in today's SOS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62606.46
ETH 3024.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90