The first post of "The story in series". The Prologue.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #thestoryinseries7 years ago (edited)

pexels-photo-45718.jpeg
Photo by Dom J from Pexels

Hello fellow steemians!

The much awaited launch of "the story in series" is finally happening!! He, he! Not so much awaited, of course, but still, in this post is the prologue, and the official beginning of the series.

If you don't know what I'm talking about you are welcome to read my #introduceyourself post here, where I introduced this idea, along my self. And the idea, in short, is this: I will start telling a story by writing a chapter of that story. In the comments you will say how you want the story to proceed in the next chapter. The comment that gets the most votes after a few days wins and I will write the next chapter based on that idea. Hopefully, the comments (especially the winning one) will correlate to the story up to that point!

Now, this being the prologue, it doesn't fall under this format. I would love, of course, to hear your opinions and you are more than welcome to offer suggestions, but this prologue mainly serves the purpose of setting the scene and giving a tone. The first chapter is where the collective storytelling will begin.

In addition to the above, and more importantly perhaps, I would love suggestions on the organization of the whole thing. For example, do you think that we should follow the steemit format and have the weighted vote win (the comment with the biggest reward) or should the popular vote be the winner (the comment with the most votes)? Also, what would be a good waiting period before declaring the winner? One week (which is the payout period) or less? Take into consideration, please, the fact that I'll need time after that to write the chapter!

So, without any further ado... The Prologue of The Story in Series! And, as always, if you liked it: comment, follow, upvote, resteem!


Prologue

"Since this is probably my last entry, fuck it, I’ll say it... Dear diary,

in a few hours everything will be over, one way or the other. And as the end draws near everything becomes perfectly clear. Painfully clear. I know now what is to blame. No. It’s not them. It’s not the persons. It’s their good intentions. Yes. Fucking good intentions are to blame. Good intentions is how we got to be in this shitty situation. Because good intentions are the most dangerous thing on this earth. Good intentions give rise to ideas. Some times these ideas are visionary, revolutionary, and they resonate with the people. They become a dream for a better future. And the people rally around this vision, make its creators their leaders and entrust them with their lives, believing that they know the path to this bright future, they know how to materialize this utopia and make it reality.

But they don’t. They don’t know shit! They never do. And this time was no exception. They had a plan, sure. But they couldn’t see the end game. They saw an end game. And how could they? How could any of us, when we all did the same mistake as ever? When we failed to account for the constant failing factor: the fact that humans are beasts. And the most dangerous kind. Intelligent beasts. We will devour everything, given the chance. We’ll devour our own children if it serves our ephemeral needs. And this time was no different.

Beasts. That’s what we are. And we’ll defend our hide and what is «ours» with tooth and nail, even if it means that everyone else can go to hell. Even now. I see it all around. People blind to the blatant truth that is all around them. It could be a baseball bat, the reality of it all, and I could hit them over the head with it, and still they would think they had a fucking headache!

Sure, nobody saw it coming. Except a few. But nobody listened to them. They had no voice. And so, nobody saw it coming. We got intoxicated with celebration, with the exhilaration of times to come and momentarily we thought the beast inside us was asleep. And it probably was. Blind, also. Blind to the creeping shadows that lurked on the fringes of our victory ready to exploit the holes that would surely exist in this new model, in every new model, that is based on ideas that are based on good fucking intentions! The shadows of the beasts that never sleep.

But now?? Even now, to be so eager to settle in their little, pathetic lives, and defend the nothingness they have become so passionately, as if they had the world to lose? Fuckers! You have lost the world. Don’t you see it? Oh, fuck it! They can’t help it, I know. Like I said, beasts. And not that there is any other way really. You have to feed the beast, since it’s there. You have to satisfy its ambition. Whenever we tried to tame it, we failed miserably. Because even if you tame some, hell, even if you tame every internal beast but one, that one will devour and destroy every other one and every other thing.

So, this is the only way. It may not have always been, but it is now. Only way forward. I only wish I had seen her one more time. No... Not that... Well, that as well, but most of all... I wish I could go back to that summer day. Ha! Who would have thought it? Instead of wishing to be able to take all this back, prevent it from happening, I wish I could go back to that day. More than I wish to kiss her once again. That day that seemed so dreadful at the time. But I really wish I could. Why though? Why does this day keep coming back to me so often these past few days? Since we started the final preparations I catch myself going back to that day. If anyone asked me when all of this started for me, I would have picked any other day before that one. But it was that day. If I’m being honest with myself, and at this point and on these pages there is no reason not to be, that was the day that set me to this path. But I don’t want to relive it to change it. No. What has come to pass, couldn’t have happened any other way. No. I think I want to go back to the last day of my innocence."

Sort:  

This is an awesome idea, to write by other's influention.

Here are a few thoughts about the story:

  1. During a period of development, the hero learns the nature of the beast, of the ego. And that nature is something on the lines of "the will to receive", "what's in it for me".
    Since this seems to be our nature and it is very hard or impossible to escape it. Even when we do something we label "altruistic" it's so that we get the satisfaction that we are a good person or to get the false security that we will prevent a worse environment. It seems that in every intention there is this "will to receive" that turns good intentions into catastrophes over time.

  2. After knowing more intimately the "beast" inside us, the hero gets through a series of events that makes clear for the hero that the only way to escape this vicious cycle of good intentions+time=catastrophe is to go beyond our nature (nature of the beast). And so the hero seeks on solutions to escape the beast. Here can be some ideas that the hero tries but do not work out. Ideas from which we all can learn.

  3. After the events from #2 the hero meets an unusual homeless person that seems very knowledgeable, indeed knows about the "beast" and of it's nature. The homeless guru gives a crucial advice for the hero to escape the beast. The advice is "use it".

  4. After the encounter the hero thinks a lot about it. And in it's inner dialog he tries to understand it. "Use it", use what, the beast? But the beast is "the will to receive". How can I use that, to do what? After some thoughts the hero comes to the realisation that the opposite of the beast is "the will to offer/give". But, it seems, we cannot attain it, because our nature is the beast, is the will to receive. Then it dawns on him, what the homeless person says "use it". Use the will to receive, use the will to receive in order to offer. So we use our nature, but not for ourselves, we use it for all others.

From here I have 2 ideas:
5.1 The hero applies what he has discovered and starts teaching it to others, and in the next cycle, the good intentions actually result in good outcomes.

5.2 The hero applies what he has discovered and starts to feel things he hasn't feeled before, and see/realise things he didn't saw before. He becomes some sort of enlightened, and gets to learn his/our true purpose: to get to use our nature in a way against it, so that we become one united world/body :)

I know this is long, but maybe you can get a little inspiration from it, or not. What do you think?

Thank you very much for your thorough and insightful thoughts and propositions! I will definitely take them into consideration. After all, there is an almost complete road map for the character and the story here!

I don't know whether that was your intention, but in number 1 and 2 I read of a journey that precedes this entry in the diary, am I right? Or perhaps I'm reading it that way because it was my intention to start the story from that summer day he refers to and, if it's the will of the curators, track the events that lead to this entry. And I see here material for the esoteric (and the external) quest of the character both before and after that entry.

Of course, the story might take a completely different route. After all, the curators will decide. And it's very exciting, I must admit, waiting to see if any of the scenarios I have thought will actually be written or I will be surprised by a completely different turn of events!

Rest assured though that I will save your suggestions and refer to them as the story proceeds.

And if you like I would like to hear your opinion on the technical matters as well.

Thanks again and hopefully the engagement of the curators will increase as the story proceeds.

Hey, thanks for the answer. I am glad that you will refer to something I wrote in the story.

To answer your question, I think 1 and 2 are not necesarily preceding the diary entry. How I understand it, is that in the diary entry the hero discovers and analyzes the beast. Then 1 can start and the hero, after analyzing further, starts to understand the beast better and understand it's nature and what can be done.

But, of course , you can also get to that journal entry in the rest of the story. Maybe he got through many obstacles/experiences in his life and got to many realisations like in 3 and 4. Maybe he is already enlightened (like 5.2) when he wrote that journal story :)

About the engagement of others, maybe in your next posts you can mention that you will publish/release a free/pdf story/book that will be influenced by the Steemit community, and ask them to help out build this with you more directly like "Let's write this story/book together".

Also, you can advertise to put their username in the book somewhere as "thanks" for helping you get outside ideas to the users that you get inspired by. Maybe it will attract more people to contribute if they feel that they contribute to building this book and if they feel that they can be mentioned in a book. Even if it's a small one :)

As for technical matters, I unfortunatelly cannot help you, as I am not very knowledgeable in this area. But I will gladly comment on future posts with the ideas that come to me. I think it's a very good idea to write a story/book together. Well, you will write it, we will contribute. Cheers :)

Thank you again for your important contribution! I believe that it's amazing what's happening here! Let me explain...

When I was writing this short introduction I had a pretty clear idea about the context in which the character writes this "final" entry in their diary. But I tried to leave it as open as I could so that I didn't constrain the reader in my way of thinking, in a predetermined path that they had to follow. That is, after all, the whole concept of this endeavor. And it seems I succeeded, because here you are reading it in a way I hadn't intended and reading into it things I never included, at least intentionally. But obviously they're there! This is the collective consciousness at work here! And I think it's really amazing! For example, the most simplistic of all, you are reading this and you see the words being written by a man (although probably the kiss to "her" contributes to that), but it's actually left intentionally unspecified.

Now, as far as the book goes, I would be lying if I said it hadn't crossed my mind. But I try not to be presumptuous. I mean something like that happening is some steps ahead from the point we are now. Some big, lunar steps ahead. First, people need to become interested and then engaged in this project so that many, different ideas are offered. So if you like it, I would appreciate it very much if you resteemed it. Secondly, I have to write those ideas in a nice, captivating story! And well, if, at some point, a book actually comes out of it, it goes without saying that everybody that contributed will be mentioned and, why not, receive some monetary reward as well. But until then I'm hoping that the satisfaction of contribution and, of course, the curation rewards, will draw people to this "experiment". Don't forget that the suggestions in the comments need to be upvoted in order to have a winning comment, that will become the basis of the following chapter.

Thank you again for the time you devoted to this project, reading it and commenting, and I hope that it will keep you engaged until the final chapter!

Hey @sirrius! I would like to let you know that the first chapter of the story is out. You can read the Introduction-Rules of play first and navigate from there to the chapter. You'll see that I followed your suggestion and set a monetary reward for this first chapter.

Or you can go straight to Chapter One!

Looking forward to your idea!

Hey , how are you ?
welcome to steemit. @michalis
following you now. :D
follow me back pls.

Hello! I'm great, thank you! And thank you for your interest in my work!

Also, dear @thailand-funfun, I would love your comments on this prologue and your thoughts on this project in general!

Hey @thailand-funfun! I would like to let you know that the first chapter of the story is out. I suggest reading the Introduction-Rules of play first and navigate from there to the chapter. You'll read about the monetary reward for this first chapter, as well.

Or you can go straight to Chapter One!

Looking forward to your idea!

Dear steemians, @bescouted @javecreations @kamrulkke @follow10000 @sayednajatsawab @aanish @seanmclean @rajjakkhan @bestssnahid4 @atcexperts

Thank you so much for your upvotes! I would love to hear your comments and ideas on this story and the project in general! And although I appreciate the votes, your comments are the truly integral part of this experiment. Because without them the story can't move forward!

Thank you again so much! Looking forward to your comments and don't forget to look for the first chapter in #thestoryinseries, #writing and #fiction!

Hehehe, i like the beginning. followed, to see more of this series.

Thanks! The first chapter coming soon! 😃

Hey @robin-ho! I would like to let you know that the first chapter of the story is out. I suggest reading the Introduction-Rules of play first and navigate from there to the chapter. You'll read about the monetary reward for this first chapter, as well.

Or you can go straight to Chapter One!

Looking forward to your idea!

thanks for the info, will check on it.. =)

Yoyoyo! I saw that you are new on steemit so I thought I'd send my regards. Here's an upvote from me and we're all waiting to hear more from you!
As you are new to steemit, getting those big upvotes are gonna be hard so you could give @MinnowPowerUp a go. This service lets you earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I made this post to explain the system in more depth and show how I earn over $1 a day in upvotes.

Congratulations @michalis! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60896.54
ETH 2918.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61