Aperture Explained - Photography Course - Week 1

in #thesteemengine6 years ago (edited)

Aperture Explained

In my last post, I showed you some of the images I had taken during lesson 1 of my Photography course. I didn’t go into detail about what apertures are and how to use them properly, so to help me fully digest the information myself and for those of you who said they would like to learn alongside me, I thought what better way to learn than to write a post about it.

What is the Aperture on a DSLR Camera?
The aperture is the size of the hole that allows light in to the lens.

od66pklma9.jpg
Source unsplash.com

The aperture rating is called the ‘F stop’ or an F number. For example, a smaller hole would let smaller amounts of light in and would be a higher F stop, for example F22. A larger hole would let more in light and would be classed as a lower F stop, for example F2.8.

The hole is is created by blades that move to the correct position when the F stop is selected on the camera settings either in aperture mode, manual mode or the camera will chose it for you in automatic mode.

What do F Stops do?
F stops control the amount of light that is allowed into the lens. The more light that is let in, the blurrier the image will be in certain areas; this is called depth of field.

In the image below you will see that the bottom and the top of the image is blurred, but the middle section is in focus.

gi052uq5y4.jpg

Image taken by myself, using Nikon D5300, F6.3

When would I use a Low F Stop?
If you are doing close up work or macrophotography, you may need to go to a low F stop to allow more light to capture the details of the subject; however there is a trade-off. Adding more light can mean that you lose the focus across the whole image, making certain parts of it blurry.

kbdq3s8sgf.jpg

Image taken by myself, using Nikon D5300, F4.8

There are things you can do to counteract this (if you want to that is); one is increase the F stop or adding more light in the form of flashes, or you can use a technique called focus stacking. I will go into focus stacking on another post as it is quite interesting and I will put up some examples of how to do it and the end result. You can also alter the exposure compensation using the small +/- button on your camera to add or decrease the brightness of the final image.

The other option of course is to keep the blur in your image! I actually love to see blur in my pictures, I think it adds depth and also makes the picture more ‘arty’. I especially love to see blur in a portrait shot, where the person is in full focus, but the background is blurred. The image above is an example of this.

When would I use a Medium F Stop?
A mid-range F number (eg. F4 - F8) is sometimes referred to as the ‘sweet spot’ in everyday photography, but it really depends on your preferred style and the effects that you wish to achieve and can also be dependent on your camera and lens in use.

c2bynhks03.jpg

Image taken by myself, using Nikon D5300, F8

When would I use a High F Stop?
You are most likely to use higher F stops (eg. F8 – F16) when doing landscape photography as you will want to see focus in the near, middle and farthest parts of your image across the whole area. However, if you take the F stop even higher, you can lose the sharpness of the details due to light diffraction (bending of light around an object). F11 is often noted to be the optimal setting for landscape shots.

aeuheq1fdr.jpg

Image taken by myself, using Nikon D5300, F11

The reality is, you need to decide on the type picture you want to take, before you take it. I have decided to work in aperture mode until I can fully understand the implications of my F stop choices. It is fun to play around with the different styles that can be created just by adding or subtracting a couple of F Stops.

If you are like myself and just starting out with your DSLR, be brave and move away from Auto mode. Start getting creative with your depth of field!

I would love to see your images too, so please feel free to add them in the comments below.

Lets learn together! :D
Much love, BB xx

The STEEM Engine

20180516_002249_0001.png

SB_new.png

Sort:  

What a great post explaining depth of field. I really do appreciate your posting your new knowledge.

Back in the 'film days', I used to 'bracket' photos. That is I'd take several variations in f stops and exposure times to get one usable image. There was some expense involved in film and development costs (though I often developed a 'proof sheet' first. Say 36 small images on a single page.). Today it is so easy to see what the difference is immediately.

Thank you Big T!
I love to see how film was developed back in the day. We are truly spoilt nowadays with instant access to our images via the viewing screens on the cameras and of course we can take hundreds of images in the hope that we capture the right ones.
I use bracketing for stacking images, but I am still learning how to do that properly too, so I am sure it will pop up in another post at some point. I feel like I am submitting my coursework to my steemit haha
Thank you for your lovely comment :)
BB <3

Fantastic - I'm really glad I signed up to your photography course ;) You've explained this with such clarity and without assuming prior knowledge that it was easy for me to understand. It also explains why my photos using my new phone camera are often frustratingly out of focus, or rather, bits of them are. If I take a landscape photo, the foreground is often out of focus, so maybe the aperture rating is set too high.
When I ran a juice and smoothie business, I used to take a lot of marketing photos of my products, and I loved those low F-stop shots with a blurry background.

What a nice and detailed explanation, thank you for teaching me something today. Oh and that landscape photo is absolutely gorgeous! 💚

Awww thank you Sweet :)
Glad you enjoyed the post!
BB <3

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by beautifulbullies (bulldogs) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Wow, you are taking some really nice pictures! I am learning alongside you... I know from my physics study how light works, but it is nice to learn the particular language of photography... F stops, I will have to drag out my camera and start playing around with it!

Is it me, or do the clouds look strange in that last photo?

Thank you, glad to have you along! :D
Yes the clouds went a little crazy when I started playing around with the white balance in editing. It was taken a while back so I hadn't really gotten to grips with lightroom at that stage. In fact I think I was still using photoscape there, which is a free editing software.
You should definitely drag out that camera, I can't wait to see what you start snapping! :D

I took photography classes last year and understanding how the camera works make it so much more fun. Being able to create what you want is what it is all about.

I did a few posts in the beginning and stopped. Glad to see you are doing this.

I want to learn more about photographing people with my shoe flash. Maybe some studio stuff. Plan to pay for private tutoring in that arena.

So fun!

#steemitbloggers (my alt account is @rebeccabe)

awww hey @rebeccabe / @photobe! You are confusing me with 2 accounts xD
There is so much to learn! I am only just starting out learning the technical side. I have played around with photography for about a year now, but I am at the point where I am getting frustrated because I can't capture the image I want without the knowledge of how my camera works. So I thought the best thing to do would be to enrol on a course! It is so much fun too! :D
Thank you for dropping by :)
BB <3

You are welcome.. I found myself taking courses for almost a year. Finally an art show. I also entered a couple in a competition in another city and won a couple of awards. The more you learn the more there is to learn. Like anything in life. I use my phone too. Whatever I feel like.

But when I decide I want a specific shot and use my canon that is where the real fun begins. It takes me out of this world and I forget everything. I am sure you know what I mean.

Great post and wonderful pics too! I'm currently falling in love with photography but I'm using 35mm film cameras instead. This is just because I have been lucky enough to pick up 2 decent cameras and a selection of lenses from my local charity shop (£30!) One day I will turn digital but for now, I'm sticking with what I can afford. Nevertheless, I will be following your tutorials and listening closely. I'm in the process of learning how to manipulate the DOF and your blog has come with expert timing :)
Here is a picture I have recently taken
olive dof.jpg

What an amazing picture! I love the DOF you have used here! And such a cutie for a model too :D
£30, well that is a true bargain. You seriously cannot go wrong with that.
Glad to have you along for the journey, perhaps we should do a steemit tour of Nottingham with our cameras! :D

Thanks, and yes my niece does love the camera as much as it loves her. Hey, I love the idea of a photo expedition around Nottingham, we should seriously book this into the diary... Would you like to meet up in a couple of weekends time?
Are you doing an online photography course or a college based one?

Yes I should think so! lets get something sorted! :D
I wonder when the Xmas lights go up?

Great stuff and I'll have a look about the crimbo lights and get back to you.

Really enjoying this @beautifulbullies

Thanks

Yey! :D Please feel free to correct me if I am wrong about anything, I may have misunderstood the information so I am happy to be corrected ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47