Thoughts on the level-up process

So I've had some questions about the leveling-up process, and this post is more about telling you how I can't answer them right now than actually answering them. But maybe putting down my thought process will either make it make more sense, or spawn some better ideas either in myself or some of you.

A month ago I made a hastily-constructed model for the process because some members were buying Steem and getting to the point of needing to move up levels before I was expecting. I know that it's not especially clear, but in some ways it was designed to not be especially clear, and I still have a little hope that will work.

My model for the leveling projects was the Eagle Scout Service Project, something that has motivated scouts collectively to spend more than three million hours a year doing community service projects. The Eagle Project guidelines are not much more specific than mine:

While a Life Scout, plan, develop, and give leadership to others in a service project helpful to any religious institution, any school, or your community. (The project must benefit an organization other than Boy Scouting.)

Wikipedia gives some examples, that aren't very useful on the blockchain except for inspiration:

Examples of Eagle Projects include constructing park benches, running a blood drive, constructing a playground, building bat houses for a local park, refurbishing a room at a church or school, resetting stones at a cemetery, planting grass for erosion control, organizing a dinner, interviewing American veterans for the Library of Congress, and collecting necessities for the homeless.

The Eagle Scout Service Project Workbook offers a little more detail:

In addition to providing service and fulfilling the part of the Scout Oath, “To help other people at all times,” one of the primary purposes of the Eagle Scout service project is to learn leadership skills, or to improve or demonstrate leadership skills you already have. Related to this are important lessons in project management and taking responsibility for a significant accomplishment.

I'm not looking to duplicate their processes; we're all adults here and I don't think the same level of oversight is necessary, and I particularly want to encourage rather than discourage collaboration. But I think their goals and their core methods are appealing and congruent with what we're doing here.

If any scouts are doing online projects - and unless they're disallowed it seems like some should be - I'm not finding a convenient list of them anywhere. So you kind of have to do that translation yourself.

My hope has been that as the first few users go through this process, they'll have the opportunity to define what it means through the projects they choose, which later users can use as examples. @corpsvalues was the first to complete a level-up by creating the Cartoon-Off Comics Contest. I'm mostly just sitting around waiting for @photocircle to tell me what they want, as since they hit 500 SP they've added a new collaboration and a new photography spotlight either of which can count.

It's useful for the program to make a post about it, or include in a post that it's for the purpose of a Mesopotamians leveling project. That helps us get more exposure in the community and more interest in the leadership development part of the program.

I'm not sure if this has really answered any questions, or maybe just created more of them. It's very free-form at the moment, and my hope is that I've selected people who can run with that. I'm not looking to tell anybody that their project is wrong and doesn't count, I'm really looking for you guys to come up with cool things of your own to make Steem a better place, and over your time in the program to get into the habit of doing it.

Does that make sense?

banner2.png

Sort:  

Thanks @tcpolymath, I think that's fair and makes sense to me. I appreciate the freedom and I think most others will as well.

I was thinking about this on the way to work this morning. What do you think about creating a sub-room in the Discord as kind of a project ideas sandbox room? It would be a space to bounce ideas off each other and maybe look for collaborations. I'll mention it in the Discord as well...

Thank you for writing about your explanation about the leveling up process. I think I understand what you are trying to say, hopefully.

I believe you want people to be a positive force in Steemit but obviously there is not a clear cut or a step by step manual to go there, plus it wouldn't be good either if everyone just behaves in the same manner.

Hopefully I get it right, if not, please let me know :).

Yes, that's all correct.

Thank you for your contribution to the "photocircle" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

We have decided, finally, we will keep the new feature (Weekly Photographer) :) we'll make an announcement about it on our feed as well.

I think it makes sense. It gives the freedom to work towards the different personalities out there to an I love the idea of collaboration.
I guess what I need to do is to figure out 'what' I want to do.

Interesting project :D Do you maybe have a discord channel? Also is there any way to apply to be checked out? I'm hosting week 10 of Random Games contest that I created and the support would very much be appreciated ^^
Cheers!

I periodically hold open applications on my own account when there's extra voting room at a certain level of the project. I'm not doing one right now, but you can watch for if one comes up that you're eligible for.

Awesome ^^ I followed you and will keep an eye on that :D
Thank you for the reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64447.43
ETH 3163.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56