Tennessee Meets STEEM - Names to Faces

in #thealliance6 years ago (edited)

steemit 2018 tennessee.png

Meeting and Greeting

The day ran on Irie time, which is about the only time I really know. You aim for a certain time frame and hope you reach it. There are always factors that meander in that you never quite can anticipate throughout the scope of a day. Once I scooped up @sircork, we were off to the races and headed over to the house @jonny-clearwater and @instructor2121 had rented for the week. As soon as we arrived, we hopped on @shadowspub's witness chat and got situated and comfortable. Feel free to check it out for yourselves and you can see us arriving fashionably late. LOL!

Names to Faces

Steemit is a social network, first and foremost. Yes, we can make money doing that, but it's the connections we make and interactions we have while engaging with each other, that make this platform and it's children so great. Especially when, you get to put those fabulous names you have been seeing on your screen, to a real life face. That is what this post is dedicated to. The Fam & the faces.

@sircork

I actually got a little more one on one interaction with one of our witnesses than most people as he was the first one I saw on Saturday. I picked him up at his senile aunt's house in Hermitage, where he was grateful to finally get a break from the same story and repeating himself multiple times. But, the fact that he sat through the conversations just to be here shows he does love his own family outside of #thealliance. On the 45 minute trip over to the house, we spoke on politics, weapons, marriage and family itself. I think he misses good old Tennessee and I expect before it's all said and done, I'll have another 'Steemit neighbor'.

@katrina-ariel

You've been seeing stories all week from @enginewitty (and I'm sure there are more yet to tell) as this whole thing evolved around her coming down to Nashville from B.C. (British Columbia, Canada) to visit her parents. Advantage had to be taken of the opportunity and it turned out to be a fantastic gathering of some great Steempeeps. I was lucky to sit in on an interview with her and @steemcafe, got to hear her sing several songs, and just enjoy the genuine good presence she has. She has a gift to bring out the best in people, and can get along with virtually anyone. I think she has a lot of love to spread around.

@ancapbarbie

I got mad respect and love for Barbie. Besides Katrina, she came farther than any other family member to see us. All the way from Northern Jersey through storms and road work, she plugged on through and even brought her cute little dog, Adam. She has a very confident aura and presence, I can see why Cork picked her as a bodyguard LOL! She was one of us that did an episode of Hots or Shots with @jonny-clearwater, and without giving away too many details, I will say that she did a lot better than most of us! She stayed and watched Cork's episode with us too, can't wait until these come out!

@ameliabartlett

This encounter was long overdue and most graciously received. She arrived in the midst of a heated conversation between @sircork and @lukestokes on problems and solutions to Steemit as a whole. Good experience for her once she got caught up on the details. I also pulled some Jedi mind tricks and did some favors so @steemcafe set up and did an impromptu interview with her. She delivered in grand fashion as I knew she would and could. We also got to meet the man in her life, Alhen, who has been instrumental in getting their slow rolling home situated. Glad you made it Amelia, much love.

@rhondak

This was a real treat here, @rhondak, one of the main brains behind @thewritersblock and 'better half' of the @sircork witness marriage. I'll be honest, she was way more cuddly and hugglesome (I just made that word up, add it to your dictionary) than I had anticipated, which was a real joy! She was all smiles and giddy like the rest of us at our first family union. (Can't call it a reunion, can I?) Seeing and hearing about that darn raccoon in person with all the facial expressions and body language, really puts the loving relationship they have with it in perspective. I don't suggest anyone gets a pet raccoon. I have come to the conclusion that they have no respect and would suck as a houseguest.

@liberty-minded

Believe it or not, he was actually the 'oldest' member of our family here in #thealliance that was in attendance. @liberty-minded was difficult to get a picture of because he almost always had a camera in his hand himself! It was really great getting know the man behind the scenes of the Hots or Shots show and I imagine he has some insanely good footage outside of the actual episode sessions. He may seem a little more quiet than some of the other people there, but he has a great sense of humor. A few inside jokes and chuckles were had and will be remembered. I definitely look forward to getting up with and seeing him again in August.

Wait What?

Yes! We will be meeting again in August in Atlanta, Georgia. As it stands right now, we are searching for venues and activities and have dedicated the 16th-19th as tentative dates. We will be having a few surprises and people coming. Anyone that feels they can attend (and want to bring someone), do let us know in the comments. Retention is a big issue here on the platform, it's time to start stepping out and making Steemit and it's descendants part of the mainstream. Who better than the fam?

- Much Love, Witty

(P.S. half of the earnings from this post will be split between @tarc and @youarehope)


CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES PIRATES


@enginewitty #thealliance witness.png

Sort:  

This was, hands down, the best "union" of family, co-workers, group members, coalitions of any sort that I have ever attended. I can't say this enough, or with enough emphasis. For me, there's an overwhelming sense of having witnessed history being made--of actually being part of the history as it's made. The discussion between Luke Stokes and Sircork was powerful. Riveting. Friendly!!! No shots fired. No punches thrown. Just two of the brightest minds on the platform meeting for the first time, setting aside misconceptions, previous crossed wires, and just getting real. Stokes is my Steemit rock star. I'm not ashamed to admit it. He knows this, too. Because I told him in person, face to face, as I looked him in the eye. Sircork is one of my best friends on the platform, someone I look up to and respect immensely because I've seen behind the blown smoke of controversy and understand his truth. And here's the best part of all for me -- my husband, who is very private and introverted, fit right into this family. Everyone made him feel welcome and wanted, and I have to say this was the first time I ever saw him with a group of people he'd met as complete strangers and completely be himself. The sense of belonging is infectious. @enginewitty , you've done a remarkable thing with this group. I am soooo honored to be part of it.

As for everyone I didn't mention--well, there's no need to rewrite the post itself. Plus, I'm doing a post of my own soon and don't need to rewrite it here, either. I have a ton of things to say. Alliance folks, I love you with all my heart. Meeting some of you in person was like coming home in a thousand different ways.

It was, hands down, history being made. That exchange between Stokes and Cork was frig'n epic. There were three different 'camera crews' there between Hots or Shots, @steemcafe and @freedompoint. It was really cool that Scott came and had a good ol time with us. Could tell he was comfortable and felt welcomed. :)

The sense of belonging is infectious.

I cannot agree with that statement more. The comradery was contagious as we all shared a common goal.

you've done a remarkable thing with this group. I am soooo honored to be part of it.

This is a marathon, and I've been telling people this for awhile to hang in there and stay the course. I've got ginormous plans and am dedicated to following through with them. And I always take care of my fam. Want to know the beautiful part? If you look behind you, you'll still be able to just barely see the starting line ;)

That exchange between @lukestokes and @sircork brought out the best in both of them, I think. If not the best, at least the unvarnished truth. I was awed and humbled by that conversation, not only because of how technically in-depth it was, but because of the humanity I saw in both of them. I know readers of this comment may think this is my attempt to tiptoe around having to say they argued. No, I promise you it isn't. What I saw was not an argument. It was a true meeting of the minds, where both made points the other couldn't (and didn't) ignore. It was a beautiful thing to see. And then Amelia's contribution--she was able to articulate everything we'd all been trying to say about a certain issue, and put it in a way that made sense for the first time.

IMG_20180521_120846.jpg
IMG_20180521_120718.jpg
Voted as witness

Many thanks! #thealliance has four other witnesses working hard to secure the STEEM blockchain you should check into as well. @sircork, the founder of @youarehope - @thekitchenfairy, instrumental in building acceptance for Steemit in Indonesia - @guiltyparties, works heavily with @steemcleaners and supports veterans on the platform - @jatinhota, key founder of @indiaunited and fostering growth for Steemit in India.

and where was your face, @enginewitty ???? :) Looks like you all had a great time! <3

He's an idiot. He can do his own.

hmmmmmm. waiting waiting waiting ;)

hehehehe thank you @rhondak ;)

What a great experience meeting everybody...ready for August!

It has been interesting reading everyone's posts covering the same event and getting their perspective. Met so many interesting folks and there were so many fascinating conversations happening.

I am from Knoxville, so this was definitely up in my neighborhood. Would have been cool to participate. Devastated to have missed this potential opportunity.

We need love and cooperation like what you do with your Family .
What i know in my experience many family members they don't love each others because of the classes and every one tends to be much know and looking as important person in the family than others
Challenge accepted support me to get high reputation

well that be longer spam than usual... give point for different

oh, and build your own rep by being real not spammy

ummmm, yeah support me and win a lambo, a jet and a mansion
all is possible by follow for follow cause that really works on here said nobody ever :P

I am pretty sure that's how Ancap got her Lambo...

😂🤣😁😆

Weee, it is so lovely to see all of you lovely people together 💚

Hey, thanks it was really nice meeting everyone.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

I caught plenty of the action while listening to the Witness chat in @shadowspub Steemit Ramble, some superb pictures showed up in there as well!

It certainly looks like you all had a really good time, I'm sure there will be plenty of posts shared about this event and you already have a new one planned for August - do you think you can make it even bigger then this event?

tree-hugger_o_1747799.jpg

That is the plan yes. Encouraging people to bring guests to a few of the presentations is going to be a part of it. I'm hoping it's not too far away for some Florida peoples like @topkpop and other people in the Carolinas and across the South to attend. Invites are also going to be sent out to several people across the planet. You need to be there!

Sounds cool, but won't really be making the drive to at that time, to be honest. It's a good bit away (at least 8 hours) and no vacation time can be booked for my other half anyway. Hope y'all have a good time again though.

I think you should get over there for the august meet up mr @c0ff33a we could start a fundraiser for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46