You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tennessee Meets STEEM - Names to Faces

in #thealliance6 years ago

This was, hands down, the best "union" of family, co-workers, group members, coalitions of any sort that I have ever attended. I can't say this enough, or with enough emphasis. For me, there's an overwhelming sense of having witnessed history being made--of actually being part of the history as it's made. The discussion between Luke Stokes and Sircork was powerful. Riveting. Friendly!!! No shots fired. No punches thrown. Just two of the brightest minds on the platform meeting for the first time, setting aside misconceptions, previous crossed wires, and just getting real. Stokes is my Steemit rock star. I'm not ashamed to admit it. He knows this, too. Because I told him in person, face to face, as I looked him in the eye. Sircork is one of my best friends on the platform, someone I look up to and respect immensely because I've seen behind the blown smoke of controversy and understand his truth. And here's the best part of all for me -- my husband, who is very private and introverted, fit right into this family. Everyone made him feel welcome and wanted, and I have to say this was the first time I ever saw him with a group of people he'd met as complete strangers and completely be himself. The sense of belonging is infectious. @enginewitty , you've done a remarkable thing with this group. I am soooo honored to be part of it.

As for everyone I didn't mention--well, there's no need to rewrite the post itself. Plus, I'm doing a post of my own soon and don't need to rewrite it here, either. I have a ton of things to say. Alliance folks, I love you with all my heart. Meeting some of you in person was like coming home in a thousand different ways.

Sort:  

It was, hands down, history being made. That exchange between Stokes and Cork was frig'n epic. There were three different 'camera crews' there between Hots or Shots, @steemcafe and @freedompoint. It was really cool that Scott came and had a good ol time with us. Could tell he was comfortable and felt welcomed. :)

The sense of belonging is infectious.

I cannot agree with that statement more. The comradery was contagious as we all shared a common goal.

you've done a remarkable thing with this group. I am soooo honored to be part of it.

This is a marathon, and I've been telling people this for awhile to hang in there and stay the course. I've got ginormous plans and am dedicated to following through with them. And I always take care of my fam. Want to know the beautiful part? If you look behind you, you'll still be able to just barely see the starting line ;)

That exchange between @lukestokes and @sircork brought out the best in both of them, I think. If not the best, at least the unvarnished truth. I was awed and humbled by that conversation, not only because of how technically in-depth it was, but because of the humanity I saw in both of them. I know readers of this comment may think this is my attempt to tiptoe around having to say they argued. No, I promise you it isn't. What I saw was not an argument. It was a true meeting of the minds, where both made points the other couldn't (and didn't) ignore. It was a beautiful thing to see. And then Amelia's contribution--she was able to articulate everything we'd all been trying to say about a certain issue, and put it in a way that made sense for the first time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67421.82
ETH 2623.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68