🤠Cowboy & Indian Day! (Wait, What?)🧢

in #thealliance5 years ago (edited)

Isn't She Cute!

Cuteness overload engaged. She even brought a slight attitude to the picture making her look all the more cowgirl-ish. On Thursday, as part of the fall break festivities, they had 'Cowboy and Indian' day. The school mascot is the 'Brave' and yesterday, on Friday, we had what they call the 'Tomohawk Trot' where people pledge X amount of money per lap for their child to raise money for the school.

Indian Though?

I would think, being a school, that they would be 'politically correct' about that. They could have just dropped the 'Indian' part altogether, especially since (what my friends that are actually from India) call themselves 'browns' and any 'Indian' I know (in the school's poor reference) calls themselves Native American. I know there was a major movement up north to get a lot of that changed, and I'm not saying having grown up on a reservation, that it offends me in a strong repulsive manner. I am saying, you don't see the New York Slaves or New Mexico Niggers or Boston Blacks or even the Washington Whites or Pittsburgh Palefaces.

Maybe someone like @eaglespirit can chime in here, I don't know. But, what are they really saying? Is it a sign of respect? 'Braves' sounds pretty strong, right? But what about less appealing mascot names like, the 'Redskins'? I would love to know where my lovely peoples out there stand on something like this. Personally, I did take a little offense having it be a 'dress-up' day at the school because anyone that knows their history (not the bullshit taught in history books these days) - knows what I'm talking about.

The_Alliance_Motto.png
🧠Zombie Tip #5 from @thealliance.
Latest Post from #thealliance website.

Want to join us? Please read this first.
Want to support the fam too?
Join #thealliance curation trail!
Delegate to and use our caring bot - @alliedforces!
10SP - 20SP - 50SP - 100SP - 250SP - 500SP - 1000SP - 5000SP

#thealliance new pagebreak.png

because I can - So Can WE
Vote Witty


Is Voting WITNESSES difficult?
Let me do it for you!
Set me as your PROXY VOTER!

Enginewitty_1.gif
@snook made this badass gif

Sort:  

I was quite shocked to hear you say a school was promoting this as a dress up day. With all pc correctness going on i am simply flabbergasted. But gotta admit she makes a darn tootin cute cowgirl. Much love to you brother

You feel me then hun. Took me for a little loop too and totally, yes! She is a just a peach of a cowboy princess :P

Thank you enginewitty! You've just received an upvote of 60% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Yeah, I gotta say (as a privileged white dude), I cringe when I read/hear language like that. But, yeah I prefer to take my lead from the people who it would affect directly.

I think it's an ignorance down south because the Native population is so much lower. People just aren't aware.

Hi @enginewitty!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.571 which ranks you at #155 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 79 contributions, your post is ranked at #4.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This seems like a pretty strange idea for the schools to be doing. Not sure what it has to do with fall either. Cute photo though 🙂

Don't get me wrong, we all used to play cowboys n Indians growing up lol, just seems odd in today's PC environment to have that as a fun day.

See I grew up in a time where saying cowboys and Indians was acceptable. Maybe the school is just old fashioned in that sense? She is cute tho!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm hoping it was all in good fun, and people had fun, no doubt. Just kind of shocking to see in 'today's society'.

Your post about it is kind of refreshing to see someone (or a group / school) not so offended.. One of my favorite movies / books growing up was "The Indian in the Cupboard" I couldn't ever imagine it being called something politically correct.

Posted using Partiko Android

She is adorable. I really am surprised they are not pc but I think it shows they feel comfortable that no one is offended. So I think they mean no disrespect. Pittsburgh palefaces. Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84