Ten random things about @natubat

in #tenrandomthings5 years ago (edited)


Something different for today! A few weeks ago @gabrielatravels asked me to participate in the "Ten Random Things" challenge set by @twodorks in this post. At the end of the challenge, you have to nominate someone else for the challenge, and ask them a random question. They have to include the answer if they accept the challenge.

Gabriela's question


In Gabriela's post, she asked the question:

What animal represents you the most, and why?
Hmm... I think that would have to be the mountain goat, because I can't seem to keep away from mountains, and when I'm not actually mountain, I can often be found on the wall at the climbing centre!

But I don't usually take these kinds of risks:

So without further ado, here are 10 random things about me.



I was born in Glasgow, Scotland, and I've lived in Aberdeen, Dundee and London. I'm now back living in Glasgow.

 


I love travelling, and have travelled to 46 different countries, most during the 1990s, when I spent two years travelling round the world.

 


It's a miracle that I survived beyond age 4! My mum took thalidomide when she was pregnant with me, but luckily she stopped taking it after a week, on the advice of my wise grandmother, who always said, "Never take any new medications during pregnancy".

Thalidomide was a drug that was used in the 1960s to treat morning sickness, however it had devastating side effects, causing malformed limbs and other deformities in people whose mothers took it during pregnancy. Less than 50% of these infants survived. I am so lucky that my mother listened to my grandmother's advice and stopped taking that drug when she was pregnant with me.

When I was 18 months old, I caught measles and whooping cough at the same time, and got very seriously ill. It developed into bronchial pneumonia and I was close to death on and off several times over the next few years, until the doctors identified the infection that was causing the problems and treated it.

As a result, I have a strong respect for conventional medicine, but also a respect for the old-fashioned wisdom of my grandmother. Nothing is failsafe, and all information should be questioned and checked.



I've been interested in cryptocurrencies since 2012, but it hasn't made me rich! I bought 100 Ether in the crowdsale for a total of £20 (about $26). When its value rose to £10, I sold it all, making about £1,000, as I needed the money to pay some bills.

A few months later, Ethereum's value exploded. Meh...

OK, so I passed up the chance to pay off my mortgage, but at least I was able to pay off my immediate bills! And as we all know, with crypto, you never know what's round the next corner.


I can do a handstand! When I was in my early teens, I was crazy about gymnastics. I can't do the splits or the Crab any more, but I can still do a handstand!



I was once asked for my autograph! It was when I was working as a writer on a teenage magazine, my first full-time job. I was the Letters Page Editor on a magazine called Patches. I only remained in that role for a few months before being transferred to another magazine, Jackie, but my photo remained in place as "Dear Nat…". One day when me and a colleague were out on the streets conducting a "vox pop" interviews with the public, a young teenage girl recognised me as "Dear Nat" and asked for my autograph!

I have never been so shocked or embarrassed in my life! I simply didn't feel worthy! But I scribbled my name (the signature just looked like very bad handwriting rather than a glamorous scribble!).

I'll write more on becoming "Dear Nat" later.



I once had a bizarre out-of-body experience. This was a couple of decades ago, and I've never had another one before or since. It was weird! More on this later too.

 


I used to volunteer for the Loch Lomond Rescue Boat (and Park Rangers). This was partly because a few years earlier I'd had to be rescued myself, and I suppose I wanted to give something back. I'm going to write more about this too.

 


I've had an intolerance to cow's milk since 1997 – though it seems to be getting less severe. This is something else I'm going to write about in more detail, because it had a major effect on my life.

It happened seemingly out of the blue, and led to some sharp adjustments in my eating habits. It was difficult at times, as the consumption of anything containing cow's milk gave me excruciating digestive problems, and although most people were sympathetic, there were some people who clearly thought I was just being a faddy eater.

But in the long term it's probably been good for my health, as it's made me think more about what I eat, and to look at health in a more open-minded way.



I drink two green smoothies every day. They taste much nicer than they look – honest! And they are fantastically hydrating when climbing a mountain.

I always use the same recipe, just for convenience: two bananas, a quarter of a pineapple or half a mango, an orange, 400-600ml water, two handfuls of spinach or kale and a quarter avocado. Blend and enjoy!

 

So that's the 10 random things about me that I'd like to share. And you have to admit, they are pretty random!

Nominations and questions


I'd like to enlist @slobberchops, @sultnpapper @lizelle, @daan, @bigtom13 and @bozz for this challenge. I have to set each of you a question, and if you don't take up the challenge, please answer the question in the Comments section :)

@slobberchops: If you could be a rock star for a day, which one would it be?

@sultnpapper: Name one vegetable that you like.

@lizelle: If you had to be a food ingredient, which one would it be, and why?

@daan: What's the worst film you ever watched?

@bigtom13: If you could have Connie transported to any country in the world for a month's travels, which one would it be?

@bozz: If you could relive one year of your life and do one thing in that year differently, what would it be?


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://ramblingandscrambling.co.uk/fun/ten-random-things-about-natubat/

Swirly divider.png

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

What a truly great post. I really appreciate the way you told your story.

I had a blast with the red measles at age 3. I'll probably touch on that soon :)

I'm not going to answer your question here, because I will accept your challenge. But as a spoiler alert it is a fluid choice of about 3 or 4. My answer will depend on the day...

Thanks for a wonderful look at natubat.

Thanks @bigtom13! Really glad you enjoyed it and looking forward to reading your random things.
Interesting about the measles. I think many younger people have no idea how devastating some of these diseases used to be.

46 countries?!
OMG! I'm sure you have plenty of experiences and stories to share with your nephews when that moment will come by! :)

I'm so sorry about your health issues! I think these are the real moments when we learn to appreciate life more..

Thanks for accepting my nomination, I really read the entire post and was a blast! Going from a mood to another :)

Thanks @gabrielatravels! Glad you enjoyed my post. Yes I did a LOT of travelling in the 90s! I got it out of my system for a while, but I'd love to do a bit more now :)

Oh... Steven Wilson of course..., I would make him reform Porcupine Tree and perform in my tinpot town of Blackburn and send front row seats tickets to the @slobberchops family. The next day, he wouldn't know what hit him.

Of course! Lol :)

Wow it's good to hear that you didn't have any lasting effects from your mum taking thalidomide! That could indeed have been far worse, but it's great to hear that it gave you respect for modern-day medicine.

I appreciate it when people mention that they're in favor of evidence-based science ;- )

I feel so sorry for people who did have those terrible thalidomide deformities.
I'm definitely in favour of evidence-based science, but I don't give it blind allegiance - it has to stand up to scrutiny. I don't give anything blind allegiance!

Very cool random things!
My kids also dont do well with cows milk. One of the reasons we decided to get dairy goats. Its funny, even though I am fine drinking cows milk, I find I get congested and feel 'off' for about an hour after drinking, whereas with the goat milk, there are no bad effects at all. And my kids who get stomach pain with cow milk do not have these problems with the goats. Plus, it just tastes so much better!! :D

Thanks @squishysquid! I love goats (as you'll have noticed from my post!) and I love goat's milk products like cheese and yogurt. So many people have an intolerance for cow's milk. Mine is starting to improve, which is fantastic, but I still enjoy goat's cheese :)

I just loved reading all about you but Gina never told me you mentioned my name, those questions are so funny LOL, @sultnpapper and vegetables just don't mix, he'll go for potato chips is my guess. Will be interesting seeing all the answers, you are a wicked lady ;);)
I would like to be sugar & spice and all things nice...but that's two ingredients so I'm cheating...will have to take up your challenge some time soon!
But seriously, your story is fascinating, a very wise Granny you had getting your Mom to stop Thalidomide, and then all the other interesting little bits, dying to hear about all of it! Look forward to that especially the out of body experience!

Thanks @lizelle - great answer! You could be flavoured sugar - maybe cinnamon sugar! You're probably right about @sultnpapper, but let's wait and see - he might surprise us haha :)
I'm looking forward to reading your challenge.

Flavoured sugar for sure, I love cinnamon sugar ;)

Hello ladies; I see that there is a question posed to me about vegetables. First let me say that I do love potato chips but I won't play that card.
I am kind of funny when it comes to veggies, first I will not eat any vegetable if it comes out of can or jar. The only cooked vegetable I will eat is roasted corn on the cob. Of course it is covered in sult n papper along with butter. It has to be roasted, not boiled on the cob.

As for fresh vegetables I will eat; those would be all the vegetables that are in Mexican salsa and pico de gallo , but only in those forms and when having tortilla chips or on fajitas.
If I didn't know better I would think I am part Mexican with my liking for Mexican food.

So my guess is that surprised most of you, I will give you another surprise too, I am going to take you up on your ten random things challenge. It may not be ten exactly but it will be in the ball park.

Mmmm... salsa! Tomatos must appeal then, and sweet pepper, onion and chillis. I also love corn on the cob, but I prefer it boiled as you get the sweet taste of the corn.
Yes, the salsa did surprise me! Good choice.

Only in salsa for me, I won't eat tomatoes on a sandwich or burger.

Very wise ;)

I'm glad I don't cook for you. We'd never get along.

That makes two of us, :-) .

What an amazing post! I enjoyed reading this post and knowing more things about you! I was sold at the fact you travelled to 46 countries. Wow! That must have been amazing to take two years off and travel the world. Back in the 90, travelling was different than now, as there were no cellphones, no digital cameras and no Internet in most of the countries.

Thanks @lymepoet! It was amazing. I worked really hard for a couple of years and saved up the money to travel - still came back broke though! And you're right, it was completely different. I tried using a Psion Organiser for internet, but I could only get it to work a couple of times in New Zealand. It was really out-there technology at the time! It's like an antique now :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 323 (11/26/18)

My sister used to read Jackie!

I thought there would be someone! It was such a popular magazine in its day. When I was 13 I had it on order at the local newsagents, and I just could not wait to go and pick it up each Wednesday! It was like a dream when I got a job on Jackie, and I still keep in touch with my friends from that time :)

LOL you sold Ether and after a while the price exploded. It pays really to hodl
I am interested about your out-of-body experience, it seems interesting @natubat

Yes, a rookie mistake! I'll write about my out-of-body experience in a week or two. It was so weird!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84