Halfway to Being a Minnow! And Lessons Learned

fish-764148_1280.jpg

March 29th will mark 2 months since I made my first post on steemit. The learning curve has been huge but I'm happy to say that I think things are going good. I'm now (as of today!) just over 250 SP so halfway to being a minnow! Each week I move a little closer to being a minnow and I'm looking forward to reaching that 500 SP mark!

I really want to say thank you to the entire steem community and especially the homesteading/permaculture community. I would not be where I'm at now without the amazing support of the community on here. I struggled with using up my resource credits when I first started and the community helped me out a lot. I would list individual names but I know I would miss some since so many of you have helped me thought these first 2 months. Please know that I really appreciate all the help you all have given.

Some Lessons Learned

20180910_192238-EFFECTS.jpg

The first big lesson as a new user was dealing with resource credits. Now those are not a big deal but when I started I was always running out. Without a couple community members delegating SP to me that first week or so would have been very frustrating.

I wanted to make daily posts and reply to anyone who left a comment. I also wanted to upvote posts and leave replies on other people's posts. All good things to build engagement...

But a new user just does not have enough resource credits to do all of this. I get why the restriction is needed but I just wish it was more obvious for new users. But luckily the community is great at helping new users.

Now my SP is high enough that I'm not having any resource credit issues.

Another big lesson (and on going) is getting used to all the websites/apps that connect to the steem blockchain. I got into this just knowing about steemit. Recently I learned about steempeak and a while back I learned about Partiko. These 2 have really helped me access the steem blockchain more easily. Though I still use steemit--especially when I use my upload credit on steempeak for pictures.

I'm slowly learning about all the different services/initiatives/projects being run by people on the steem blockchain. For example SBI -- Steem Basic Income. I love the sound of it but I have not done anything with SBI because I'm unsure how to get started and how to make it worthwhile in the long run. This is just an example--I see a lot of awesome sounding services/initiatives/projects being talked about and I really don't know where to get started and which to put my time towards.

If anyone has any tips/advice I would welcome it! :)

Oh and I'm still learning about witnesses... I kinda get it but I got a lot to learn there...

As a new user there is a ton to learn to fully utilize the steem blockchain! Even after reading all the guides I could find (some are outdated) I still really had to learn by doing and asking questions.

Steem Blockchain as a Traffic Source for My Site

I run a business called Wild Homesteading. This business is new (started on Nov 25th 2018) and getting traffic to that site is very important for growing it and eventually getting my content to show up in google searches.

I love the community here and I wanted to join you all because I'm excited about what the steem blockchain could become in the future. But I also need my business site to do well. Deciding what to spend my time on is a challenge. I'm also on Facebook, Pinterest, and a little bit on Twitter.

So how does the steem blockchain stack up to these other sites? Let's look at February and March traffic data.

traffic.JPG

It is not yet March 28th so the data is not a full comparison but so far it looks like March is going to beat out February for overall traffic by a little bit though this week's blog post is not as popular as most have been.

From the chart you can see that most of the traffic looks similar % wise except that organic search has gone up in March. This is awesome since in the long run organic search traffic will really help my site grow.

Google does not treat steemit/steempeak as social media traffic but instead throws them into the referral group along with all other sites on google analytics. This makes it hard to do a direct comparison.

Facebook, Pinterest and Twitter all together brought in 277 people in February and so far 232 people in March.

Steemit and steempeak together brought in 77 people in February and so far 52 people in March. What is interesting is I had no steempeak traffic until after steemit was offline.

In February only Facebook brought in more traffic than steemit/steempeak out of the social media sites but so far in March steemit/steempeak are beating twitter but not Facebook or Pinterest.

But going back to the theme of community. The engagement with you all is so much greater and better than the engagement I get from those other social media sites. Most of the time the only interaction I get on those sites are people sharing/liking but almost never comments. I love how much I get to talk with you all.

So even though traffic is less than some of the other sites steemit/steempeak still send a decent amount of traffic to my site plus I get to be part of this awesome community. Plus, I like the way things are setup here so much better than on those other sites ;) But I thought you all might be interested in the numbers.

At this point I'm not treating the steem blockchain as an income source. I'm just putting everything towards powering up and connecting with you all. I have a long term goal for the amount of SP I want to always have that would put me well within dolphin status. At that point I will see if I can start trying to earn an income through the steem blockchain but even then I want to always hold a high level of SP.

I'm also interested in trying to sell some of my future products/services for steem potentially through the Homesteaders Co-op. That would be another way to start earning a direct income through the steem blockchain.

Next Steps - Onward Towards Minnow Status!

20160828_162726.jpg

Really the next steps for me are all about continuing to post, engage with you all, and get SP so I can hit that 500 mark to become a minnow. I would love to reach minnow status before my daughter is born sometime around May 9th since I may not be posting as often with a newborn! :)

Right now I try to post 5 days a week during the work week and then take the weekend off (from all social media) to prioritize homesteading tasks and getting the next blog post up on my site.

Each Monday I share a post that is focused on that week's blog post (the blog post also links to the post on the steemit). Tuesday is my weekend homestead report post and Wednesday, Thursday and Friday are just posts that relate to homesteading/permaculture. This post is not normal for me since it is more focused on steem which I normally don't write a lot about.

Hope you all found this post interesting!

Sort:  

It's been amazing watching you grow here! I've never seen anyone in this community grow so fast actually.

Just got you five shares in SBI ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh awesome - thank you! Time for me to go read about SBI! ;)

This is a really nice report and gesture of your discoveries and intentions. Even if you are getting less traffic with steem, it seems that it is more genuine relationships plus you are just getting started with steem! That shows a lot of promise to help market your business :) I know you will make it to minnow really soon if you keep on track with your progress... you're doing great!

I have a question for you about the resource credits... at what amount of cumulative Steem Power, between what you powered up and what was delegated to you, did you feel that it was easier to use the system without being encumbered? I ask because we are delegating to some new homesteading accounts thanks to @nateonsteemit's welcoming efforts

Thank you! :)

I'm trying to remember how it all went at the start... I would say 30 SP results in fast enough resource credit regeneration that someone can post daily, do some upvotes, and post some replies. If they want to do multiple posts a day then it could be hard still but it really is just the first week that is challenging assuming the person makes some good first posts to get SP coming in on a regular basis.

I got frustrated mainly because there was no easy way to know about the limit until I learned about using steemd.com (I really like that site) to see how it was going and track the regeneration rate. If I had known about it then it would have been much more manageable right from the start. Hard to manage something if you can't see it. But the first indication I got was an error message and it took some searching on google to figure out what was going on.

I think it is great that you delegating SP to new homesteading accounts. Getting some SP delegated to me early on made such a difference to my experience on steem. I saw the post you tagged me in recently and I think the 30 SP should be enough to get someone going.

Once I get my SP up higher I want to start doing the same to help people get started.

Thanks for the feedback and your thoughts. I think it is a beautiful intention that you want to help newbies when you get your account built up higher. Yeah, good point about not knowing about the RC and voting power! I really think the apps should build this into their interfaces as it is so crucial now. I am going to suggest it to steem peak right now.

Two months thats good going i've been here 18 and in the same position. Although I don't advertise or promote nearly enough. I just potter and probably do it all wrong. But i'm here for the info and connections, keep on producing 💯🐒

I'm not using any paid promotions or buying SP. Just trying to be very consistent with my posting and making fairly long posts on a regular basis. Though I really can't predict which posts will take off. There have been a few that I just did very fast that did amazing that I thought would do nothing and then some really big posts that did not result in much. lol, hard to predict!

Let's help each other out and see if we can both get to minnow status! I will keep an eye out for your posts and do what I can to help :)

That's it I've not used any but until I start my podcast did not really have a regular topic. But pottering along and make connections which is the main thing 💯🐒

Always good to make connections on here :)

Are you partof @paulag make a minnow contest. You should check it out if you havent because Im pretty sure you qualify.

And congrats and keep up the great work. I remember commenting on your introduceyourself post not too long ago!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! :) I signed up to be part of the general group but the recent contest seemed to be focusing on getting people to minnow status in one month that were already at I think 450 SP. Is there another contest going on? I'm still trying to find all the initiatives that are going on to help people reach minnow status.

Congratulations @wildhomesteading! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 300 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Here are the winners
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all the latest news on the Steem blockchain.

Thank you! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65697.93
ETH 3342.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63