Steem Witness - Who they are and why voting for a witness is important?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #tenkminnows5 years ago

I usually post photos and digital edits but this time I will write about something different...and very important for every good steemian. 🙂

Few days ago, with the help of an amazing person, I have been included into the new programme and amazing initiative #tenkminnows. This ambitious campaign is being run by @paulag and some other great people.
The person who helped me with some power boost, and I will always be grateful for this, is @kus-knee. This man rocks!!!

@paulag's campaign is also being supported by some of our witnesses. So, let's see why it is so important to vote for them and what is their role.

blockchain-3774715__480.jpg

In order to understand what a witness is, we must try to understand how a blockchain works.
Our most important source of information, Wikipedia, explains very well what this technology is all about:

A blockchain, originally block chain, is a growing list of records, called blocks, which are linked using cryptography. Each block contains a cryptographic hash of the previous block, a timestamp, and transaction data (generally represented as a Merkle tree).

The above described blocks must be produced and governed. Here is where witnesses intervene. Similar to Bitcoin miners, Steem witnesses are responsible for creating and maintaining the blocks. If the Bitcoin mining requires a huge number of computers (and the associated electrical power consumption), Steem blockchain works differently, using a significantly low number of servers. More differences between Bitcoin miners and Steem witnesses are available in Steemit FAQ. What is important to remember:

With BTC, 100% of the new coins that are created are allocated to block producers (miners). With the Steem blockchain, only 10% of the new coins are paid to block producers (witnesses). The other 90% of new STEEM coins are awarded to content producers, curators, and Steem Power holders.

As you can see, the witnesses are those who make everything possible for us, the content creators. And it's almost a kind gesture (only 10% of the new coins are for them). 🙂

it-838379__480.jpg

Being a witness is not something that anyone can do it though. You must be a techie, own a server (and this is not a cheap task) and be capable to promote yourself (on our blockchain, the witnesses are voted by the community). Quite high demands if you ask me.

All in all, we wouldn't be having this conversation without these cool people. So...what can we do to help them and contribute to the general success? It's simple and it costs nothing: vote for witnesses.

check-3331239__480.png

Every steemian can cast 30 votes which can be changed later if you want to. Voting for these people helps them in gaining better rankings and getting more Steem Power back (usually being used for paying servers' costs).
For those who did not vote for a witness, I urge you to do it quickly. No witnesses = no rewards. 🙂
And it's so simple to do it. Go to the Witnesses Page, check the list and vote for your favourites. Remember: you can pick 30 witnesses. If the witness you want to vote for is not listed among the 100 names, just type his/her name into the Search box and then vote.

I cannot say who to vote for... Personally, I voted for those who fund different projects or offer support to authors. Among them, @steemcommunity, who helps red fish to become minnows. 😉


The photos I used for this post are from Pixabay.


Check out the challenge started by me and @erikah, SeasonChallenge. We would love to learn about your impressions towards the Spring (these being the theme until 3rd of June).

Posted with eSteem

steemit-border
Member of The Steemian Directory
QvAAKWXl.gif
Logopit_1526205802368.png

Sort:  

Well written and clearly explained it is something i need to do myself but like you i lack of time but i do need to make time for these important people and i will look into right now as you have made it easier to understand why voting for witnesses is important. Thanks for that info my friend :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Even a cat like me can vote for witnesses! Every Steemian should do it

Yes, all Steemit cats and hoomans should use their 30 votes for supporting those who give us the opportunity to express our creativity. 🙂

Congratulations Roxy! 🙂 I've checked you at the beginning of the campaign but you were not near to qualify. I'm glad you got help!

Thank you, Erika. 🙂

Next stop is dolphin 😉😁

Yeah.... Maybe in a couple of years. 😂

One and a half years minimum, talking from experience 🙂

Well done Roxy, soon you will be minnow!
!tip

Thank you, my dear. Hopefully I will reach this status soon. 🙂
And thank you for your continuos support, I couldn't have been here without my friends. 😘

My pleasure! 😀

🎁 Hi @roxy-cat! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @nelinoeva!

@nelinoeva wrote lately about: Moon Map Feel free to follow @nelinoeva if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

This is a fantastic article, well researched and well written. Nice work.

Thank you, @paulag. Much appreciated.
It seems it was a day well spent since I triwd to understand what a witness is and then explain it by using not so many technical terms. 🙂

Hey, @roxy-cat.

It's always good to step out of what we normally write about now and then and pick a topic that we want to know about more and do some research or that we feel is important.

Witness voting is very important, so it was a great topic choice. As you said, without them, the STEEM blockchain comes to a screeching halt.

I wish you well on your journey from redfish to minnow. Looks like you're getting there, and it will happen before you know it. :)

Hi @glenalbrethsen

Thank you for stopping by. I was not sure that the explanation I gave for the witness role was good but, according to the feedback received, I did a good job. 🙂
Yes, I totally agree with you: exiting the comfort zone might surprise us. I have many ideas regarding different topics but unfortunately, I kinda of lack time. But now that Spring is here and the days become longer, I might have all the time I need to do all the things I want. 🙂

Wohoo great job writing this article.
Are you whale yet or what?😂

No, baby. Not even a minnow.
How are you?

Same old. It has been 6 months since I started my job already. Kind of bored lol.

But don't you worry you are already a whale to me .LOL. 😂.

How has my babe been?

Lol... I know you very well by now so I thank you for your love. Other ladies will not appreciate being called whales though... 😂

Nothing new here. Same old things: work (getting bored with knowledge management...I miss the good old days when shutting down an entire infrastructure made me happy), kids and photography. And, obviously, missing my wicked friend. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62