Ten Facts and One Lie: Reveal

Over a week ago, I was invited by @wanderlass to join the #tenfactsonelie challenge. The idea is that you give ten facts and one lie about yourself, and then invite the readers to guess the lie. Whoever guesses correctly, gets a small prize. Well, now it's time to reveal the lie and announce the winner.

First I'll list all the facts and the lie with a short explanation of each one. Then I'll announce the winner.

The facts

  1. I'm Thai but I've lived in Finland nearly 4 times longer than I've lived in Thailand.
    True. I've lived in Thailand for around 4 years but have lived in Finland now for around 16.
  2. I can speak two Filipino languages fluently.
    True. I finished high school in Manila where they speak Tagalog and then for college moved to Cebu where they speak Cebuano.
  3. English is the first language I learned to speak and I spoke it with a Scottish accent.
    True. We moved to Scotland when I was a year old. My mother says that when I started speaking, I had a Scottish accent. That disappeared though by the time I was 5.
  4. I graduated high school when I was 15 years old.
    True. I began school in England where you start at 5 years old and are in school (I think) for 13 years. But we move to the Philippines and I transferred to a school where it's only 10 years (it's 11 years for most schools). So I ended up finishing earlier than I probably should have.
  5. I have more than 25 first cousins.
    True. My father is the eldest of 10 siblings so on that side of the family alone I have over 20 first cousins. And then there's another handful of first cousins on my mother's side. I think the actual total is 28.
  6. I've lived in more than 15 different homes.
    True. I've moved around a fair bit in my life. It's been close to 20 different homes in 10 different towns/cities in 5 different countries.
  7. I'm allergic to shellfish (crab, lobster, prawn, etc).
    Lie. I've never had any food allergies. However, I have developed an allergy to pollen these last few years living in Finland. The last several springs have not been much fun.
  8. I was once 1st runner up in a bodybuilding contest.
    True. I was real skinny when I was young so I went to the gym to try and gain weight. I didn't gain a huge amount of muscle but I had very little body fat so my muscles were well defined. My trainer convinced me to join the gym's bodybuilding contest for fun. That was more than 25 years ago. My body looks a bit different now. 😉
  9. I once starred in a children's musical play.
    True. It was an English pantomime and the title was "Flibberty and the Penguin." I was Flibberty. I had to do a bit of acting, a bit of singing and a bit of interacting with the kids in the audience. It was a fun experience.
  10. I'm a certified PADI Open Water diver but I can't really swim.
    True. There are quite a few important things you need to know to become a scuba diver. But the actual diving itself is actually easy. You wear a buoyancy control device (BCD) which is basically an inflatable vest connected to your air tank. You can control the amount of air in the vest which then controls whether you sink or float. There's no need to actually know how to swim. It's still probably a good idea to know how to swim though. 🙂
  11. Prior to the #sevendaybeerchallenge, which I completed a few days ago, I had never before consumed any kind of alcohol seven days in a row.
    True. I rarely drink any alcohol nowadays but I did drink when I was younger. However, I'd usually drink enough (get drunk) so that the next day I'd have little interest in drinking again (hangover).

The winner

So the winner, for correctly guessing that I'm not actually allergic to shellfish, is:

@fourfourfun

Congratulations!

The winner was to get 0.5SBD and up to two runners up would've gotten 0.25SBD each. But since no one else guessed correctly, I might as well give the whole 1SBD to our lone winner.

A big thanks to everyone who played!

Sort:  

Wow to five countries and your linquistic skills! :) Cool!

It's nice to get to know you more. You have a very interesting life. Moving to different countries seems challenging for someone young but I bet you had really nice experiences in these different places :)

Yes, moving around can be challenging but also interesting. I suppose there are both pros and cons.

Yay! Cheers!
I just had a real affinity with that option. It felt right.

Congratulations @adigitalife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

What a clever game! It’s a great way for your followers to get to know you better. And I bet you had a lot of fun surveying your life for fun facts! You have traveled and lived in many places. I envy you a bit for that!

Congratulations @adigitalife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @adigitalife! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @adigitalife! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @adigitalife! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @adigitalife! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Here are the winners
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 62166.63
ETH 3021.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72