10 favourite comedians, but one is a lie!

in #ten7 years ago (edited)

These are my top 9 comedians, with 1 who is not. Guess the odd one out, first person with the correct guess wins all liquid rewards (SBD) from this post!

  1. Ricky Gervais
  2. George Carlin
  3. Louis CK
  4. Richard Pryor
  5. Dylan Moran
  6. Eddie Izzard
  7. Jerry Seinfeld
  8. John Cleese
  9. Victoria Wood
  10. Rowan Atkinson

This is a tricky one, but if you're familiar with comedy you'll find there's one odd one out!

Check out the #ten tag for more such contests!

PS: I'll announce the winner around 4 AM GMT, so about 8 hours from now. Get your entries in till then!
PPS: Couldn't be bothered to wait around for the next 7 days, so I'll send the SBDs sooner, going by the pending payout.

Sort:  

I'm gonna go with Jerry Seinfeld on this one... just a hunch...

That was indeed the correct - though two others guessed it first.

Richard Pryor. He stopped doing standup in 1986, did several movies, the last of which was in "Lost Highway" where he can be seen on his motorized scooter, then died in 2005 of a heart attack after a long battle with MS.

Good guess, but many on the list never did much stand up. Many of them acted in several movies. George Carlin died around the same time of a heart attack too. Besides, it's got more to do with their style of comedy as I hinted in the OP. :)

Carlin died in 2008. I was fortunate enough to see him here in my town 6 months before that. Also, my reply was originally under the assumption that you saw all but one. I need to read more carefully. lol

That's great! I wish I had seen him live.

Victoria Wood

Reason: Rumor has it she called you a cheesy steem twat who eats shit sandwiches... but I stuck up for you, I told her you don't like bread!

Got your back mate.

Haha, good guess!

I'll go with Seinfeld.

Interesting, why would Seinfeld be different from the others?
(Not revealing the odd one out just yet, just curious!)

Well, I'm honestly not familiar with every single one of those comedians, but he stood out to me as the only 'clean' comic. I could be wrong on that, but it was my initial reaction.

Ah, that's something that never occurred to me! I don't think that's quite accurate, but nice try. That said, you might be on to something...

Cool, I'll have to think about it more. I saw Louis CK recently in Charleston, SC. He was f'ing hilarious.

You were right! Your guess about him being the only "clean" comic was pretty close too. See my answer to hanshotfirst. I think we can split the prize between the two of you :)

Awesome, thanks! It was a fun post.

I've seen stand ups from everyone on the list except Victoria Wood, but she is a comedian too, so I have no clue.

I assume you mean you've seen them on TV and such? I have only seen 1 of them live. Need to work on that!

Mostly I search the webs for all great stand up comedians and I've seen huge amounts of stand up over the years. I would call all of those people comedians for sure. I presume Victoria Wood is good? If she is, she will be on my list to check out soon.

Definitely! Like Cleese she's not a stand up comedian primarily, but she does have some great stand ups in the late 90s.

Then I'll say George Carlin, he was not just a comedian, he was some kind of diety or demigod, the rest of them are just humans :) And I guess odd one would be Eddie Izzard.

I am going to go with Jerry Seinfeld because he is the least "edgy" on the list.

This is absolutely correct! Seinfeld is great too, but he's a lot more "slick" than the others. It's a kind of clever-sounding American comedy, you know? While the others are much more self-deprecating, and often explore pretty dark tangents - "edgy" as you will.

@ikilledcobain got their first, but your answer is more accurate. I guess we can split up the price :)

It looks like cobain is a brand new user. I officially relinquish any claim to the prize. I would much prefer it go to a newer member. This was a really fun post. My reward was participating in it. Thanks for doing this!!!!!

Thanks! You should do your own #ten post :)

I will for sure! So much fun! I have one post I want to do first. I'll get one up later in the week.

Thanks @hanshotfirst ! I really appreciate the gesture. I'm doing my best to contribute to this place. Check out my #ten post to win a Starbucks gift card.

My pleasure! Glad to have you on the platform. I just checked it out. Cool idea!

Dylan Moran dont ask me why im not familiar with this just quessed :)

OK - fair enough! No, it's not Dylan Moran.

Victoria Wood is a woman, a so a comediene, but I can't really believe that is what you have in mind.

And not that it matters, but Richard Pryor is the only one who's black.

Eddie Izzard - the only cross-dresser?

Left a hint in the original - it has to do with their comedy. :) Not really concerned about their person.

Rowan Atkinson

Good guess, why would you say so?
(Not revealing the odd one out just yet, but curious!)

Because he is more of a clown just having fun, personally I like him, but the others try to put some message in their comedy. Even though I have to admit I haven't really seen a couple of the comedians you have there.

Ah, I would disagree there. Some of his comedy is really insightful. But yes, he's probably the most physical of the bunch.

Does he not write, unlike the others?

He does, he wrote some of Not the Nine O' Clock News, co-wrote a lot of Blackadder and Mr. Bean.

Please tell me it's Eddie Izzard. Just cause I've been unable to enjoy or watch any of his shows.

I know so many stand-up comedian. It's ridiculous but there's so many more than one person can know. I didn't knew Dylan Moran, John Cleese and Victoria Wood. I'll check them out.

Louis CK is the best. Pryor is suppose to be the all time best but I didn't enjoyed him much either he might be too old school for me.

Seinfeld, Carlin and Atkinson are pure genius.

Eddie Izzard might be my favourite. Sheer brilliance! The answer was Jerry Seinfeld, by the way. (See reply to hanshotfirst for why)

I might have to give Eddie another try. Everyone loves him so much. For some reasons I had missed the answer. Thank you for pointing it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65692.54
ETH 2944.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67