Tell A Story To Me, And Win 5 SBD! Writing Contest #8 - Books of The Blackout & Winners of #7

in #tellastorytome6 years ago (edited)

Tell A Story To Me,
Oh The Endless Possibility,
Let Your Imagination Run Free
And Maybe Win Some SBD!


Welcome to Tell A Story To Me. We are here with another prompt, and the winners of the last round - where yet again we had some really well-deserved curie's! Thank you all so much for sharing your wonderful tale!


We had such fantastic stories this round, all the entries will get 1 @steembasicincome for just being such a pleasure to read! We had such a strong set of authors here, I really struggle to pick winners and having a few less entries in this round, wanted to thank you all!

The Winners #6

First Place


I am running out of suitably strong descriptive words to express how good all the entries are. That said, the winner this time totally stole my heart with her emotional tale of two siblings, subject to genetic manipulation.

@blueteddy with Family Secrets

I really loved this, it was such a heart felt tale that felt totally complete, the elements played out really well and the story unravelled and drew me in with it. Thank you!

Author's Choice


Thank you to everyone who came back to vote for the authors choice award, our winner this round, getting a second @steembasicincome share and 1SBD

@mervin-gill with Elfen Odyssey

Winning Voter

The winning voter for this round, getting a second @steembasicincome share, was @theironfelix - it was a tough choice this time as we had some great reasoning by both @blueteddy and @dirge

Anyone can win 1 @steembasicincome just by voting so even if you don't have chance to enter, you can head back for another chance to win!

The Prizes

First Place - win 5SBD in every round

Second Place - this is triggered once we hit ten entries, and 1SBD and 1 @steembasicincome share

Third Place - this is triggered once we hit twenty entries and is either 1SBD or 1 @steembasicincome share

Stand Out Story - if I am still thinking about your story by the time the next contest goes up, you will win your choice of 1SBD or 1 @steembasicincome share

Author's Choice & Voters Prize - I have a prize for Authors Choice so I am asking everyone who enters to vote for their favourite from the other entries - I will release a list of entries when the contest closes and will be asking for the votes there. One lucky voter will also win!


Round Five



Rules


1. One Entry Per Person
2. Prose, poetry, any form of fiction is accepted, as long as you tell me a story based on the prompt
3. Your entry must be written for this contest, and inspired by the prompt
4. Entries must be submitted by Midnight (BST) on Wednesday August 8th (That gives you two weeks to enter)
5. Use #tellastorytome, you don't have to, but your stories are so good I feel like they deserve their own tag
6. One picture only please, additional images of text are fine, but I want you to tell me a story with words, so only one actual picture
7. First Place wins 5SBD more prizes up for grabs if we get enough entries
8. Link back to this contest somewhere in your post. I would be really grateful if you also resteemed this contest (not doing so won't get your entry disqualified, but it is very much appreciated to help get the word out there, and more entries means more prizes)
9.I don’t really want to specify how long it should be, so no min length, and aim for under 4,000 but if it goes a little over, don't worry
10. Post a link to your tale in the comments below

The Prompt


Your entry must be inspired by this prompt, I am looking to hear the story where


A permanent blackout forces mankind to rely on books for knowledge once held at the tap of a finger



Thanks go to @antimetica for this idea, this was entirely inspired by a post of hers. It also got me thinking about some of the crazy post-apocalypse survival skills on wikihow. The only time you would need to know how to do a lot of it, would be if the same infrastructure that allowed you to access that information fell through.


I am looking for a science fiction/horror story set after all electronics have stopped working, and mankind, plunged into a technological black out, seeks to preserve knowledge and information

I want to hear the story of mankind struggling to recover from the loss of all electronics, and associated loss of the information once freely available on the internet. This doesn't have to be the main focus of the story, and can be the setting in which your story plays out, or it can be the driving force, the rest is up to you! This one has the scope for a bit of a bigger story, so I am giving you a bit of extra time to explore your ideas.


If you are looking for more ideas, some of the questions you could answer include:
- What lengths do people have to go do to be able to find things out like what is safe to eat, how to treat a wound etc?
- What role have books containing information taken on to the people who posses them, is information horded or exhcanged freely?
- What is the impact of the loss of all facilities reliant on electricity (eg hospitals), and the sudden redundancy of elements of modern human life?
- What has been the social and cultural impact for those who had grown up reliant on technology?
- What is daily life like now?
- How were the electronics knocked out? This one you are also welcome not to answer, I am not sure how much the how matters, although it can be an interesting element.

I have left a lot open, and look forward to seeing where you go with this. This could go a lot of ways, and I am looking forward to seeing who's story you chose to tell, and where it takes them.

Don't forget to include a link in the comments!

Sort:  

This is so great! I'm really glad you give 2 weeks. I am interested to see what people write about. I have no firm ideas at all I've never taken the thinking all the way out beyond "gathering the materials." Thanks a lot for the mention it means a lot to me.

Thank you very much for your entry! The voting round is out, every author who takes the time to explain why they are voting for a certain story will win one steembasicincome share! Head over for an extra chance to win!

Not at all :)

Thank you very much for your entry! The voting round is out, every author who takes the time to explain why they are voting for a certain story will win one steembasicincome share! Head over for an extra chance to win!

Hi @calluna, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I found out that @mervil-gill doesn't exist on Steem. Maybe you made a typo ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Thank you very much! Fortunately, I spelt it right when I sent the prizes out - phew! Too much fast typing!

Thanks for hosting this fun contest @calluna! Look forward to reading what people write and upvoting. Here's my entry:

https://steemit.com/tellastorytome/@cyemela/tell-a-story-to-me-contest-8-books-of-the-blackout

Thank you very much for your entry! The voting round is out, every author who takes the time to explain why they are voting for a certain story will win one steembasicincome share! Head over for an extra chance to win!

Here's my entry. Thanks for the awesome contest! :D

Thank you very much for your entry! The voting round is out, every author who takes the time to explain why they are voting for a certain story will win one steembasicincome share! Head over for an extra chance to win!

Here be me submission: eleven-ninety-nine for this contest. Didn’t had anything planned for today ‘til I saw this post. Glad I saw it yesterday - though I am kinda sad @svashta will be out for some time, no constrained contest this week!

I know, I am missing it already :( but can't be too sad, seen as it is for such a good reason ;)

If you are after more contests, I can recommend Electric Dreams - the prompts are very entertaining this round, I am loving seeing what people come up with for them!

Thank you very much for your entry! The voting round is out, every author who takes the time to explain why they are voting for a certain story will win one steembasicincome share! Head over for an extra chance to win!

Thank you very much for your entry! The voting round is out, every author who takes the time to explain why they are voting for a certain story will win one steembasicincome share! Head over for an extra chance to win!

Hello. Here is my submission for this contest.

Thank you very much for your entry! The voting round is out, every author who takes the time to explain why they are voting for a certain story will win one steembasicincome share! Head over for an extra chance to win!

Hello, I will be participating with my entry soon

Thank you, it would be great to see an entry from you, there are still five days left to submit your entry :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61959.02
ETH 3004.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59