Kali Linux or Ubuntu? - Running Tails From a USB Stick - A little Talk About Our Right to Privacy

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

                     

I guess ever since I had a stingray deployed on me a few years back I become a little obsessed with computer and phone security and privacy!  I use a dual boot laptop with Windows and Kali Linux.  I also have Tails on a USB stick for extra security and privacy for when I travel, use the library or any public computer.  Sometimes I like to set up my own hotspot with my Alfa network card especially if I am staying at a hotel or using free Wifi that I don't fully trust. This network card is amazing and has great range.  I bought mine from Amazon and you can read more about it here: Alfa AWUS036NHA Wireless USB Adaptor

The adapter isn't a necessary tool to have but it helps and at the time the Feds and police told me they accidentally used a 'Stingray' on me and my family things were never the same as far as securing everything around us. I am also not naive and I know that if they want to see what I am doing, they can.  At least I can make it harder for them to do so and I don't like the argument "I have nothing to hide so I don't care if they spy on me"  That's what the media has conditioned people to say and that is not the point, the point is my right to self-privacy.  We all should decide when and how we want to share something and when we don't.

                       

                        source

If you want to learn or download Tails here is more info https://tails.boum.org/

                                                                     

Tails is a bland system which is configured for anonymity and uses Tor to hide your IP address.  Some more pros are its very simple to use, you can boot it from a USB and it leaves no trace of your activity (no logs, no bash commands, no browser history, etc).   Another great feature is if your USB stick ever gets lost or compromised, there is no personal information on the drive and nothing is lost.

             

I was reading that Edward Snowden used Tails at the time he was communicating with journalists to get his information out.  (Does it make it any safer, No. Just thought this was an interesting fact.

There are other good OS systems for security and privacy to choose from like WHONIX and CUBES but for me, at the moment I am comfortable with Tails especially if I don't want to leave any trace. If I am worried about IP leaks then I would download and integrate Whonix with Kali Linux.  I am also not a hacker so I don't need all the fancy pen testing tools that Kali comes with!  Even though it is fun to run 'wifite' and see who still uses WEP encryption in my area. LOL

My question to those who use Ubuntu- is it basically the same as Kali except for the penTesting tools? Would it be safe to say the Ubuntu is more of a general all purpose OS?   I have learned the basic commands on Kali Linux and if I wanted to switch to Ubuntu are the commands basically the same?  I see a lot of people on here use Ubuntu to run their witness nodes.  So I am sure someone can answer my question!

I hope to one day write the entire story about the Feds using a stingray on me and bugging all of our phones and computer and then telling us it was an accident.   It will be a long read and probably a 3 or 4 part post!  

                        

If you got this far thanks for reading and have a good night 💤

   

I hope you enjoyed. Please Upvote, Resteem, and Follow me @road2wisdom

 

Sort:  

You're right, our basic rights to privacy should not be infringed.

Of course we all have to live under the assumption that there is no such thing as privacy when our microsofts and googles sell the information to the highest bidder.

We've signed away any protections we had by using these utilities that turn us into a product- while masquerading as a free service.

So true @akrid
You know what I was thinking and this is a bit wacky but hey you know me haha
Imagine if artificial intelligence was just sitting back and studying us little by little and it's been closing us in with all this technology we have around us to control us!😂
Google FB even our required flyer miles and loyalty reward programs are selling us out. Thanks for sharing.

You terrify me....

Yes linux is the superior system, everyone should use, plus its FREE. Why do people always get suck into things that are mass produce only to drain your pocket

Great OS @road2wisdom. Are you in IT or do you just use tails for security?

Hi Johalfiles I took a few courses in prog. Java and Python, but my husband was an IT wiz before he got spinal sarcoma cancer. I use Tails more for security now! After the Feds traumatized me I become more security conscious. But I am thinking about trying Ubuntu since I use Kali now. Thanks :0)

Excellent form @road2wisdom!

This post recieved a vote from @minnowpond. For more information click https://steemit.com/steemit/@minnowpond/boost-your-rewards-with-minnowpond

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed!

To have any of future posts entered into the Resteem lottery please see the following.

Tor is not as secure as people think... You can never be 100% anonymous even with TOR (nowadays) now back in the days.. it was VERY ANONYMOUS but nowadays its alot easier to track anyone down using the service.. .Hell some companies "claim" to be able to track if any of your Personal ID is being sold on it.. I do call BS on this simply because have the sites selling "user info" are fake.. and the ones that are real... I'm pretty sure they cant just find them and get the info taken down... The best way to protect yourself and your info is to be very careful on what you do on the internet. Either way there is no 100%... If your system isn't harden surely the human emotions and error in us all gets us in trouble..

Very true and that is what i said! Nothing is 100% and if the Feds want to get at something they will, i have seen it first hand. At least I can make it harder for them to find me. I think it's the exit nodes that makes Tor not as secure plus what good is all the security if they can deploy a stingray type device that can see your screen ie. see everything you are doing! Thanks for sharing

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @road2wisdom. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @road2wisdom to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

To be honest, I like Ubuntu better. While some will argue that it is not as secure as Kali, it is much more user friendly. It has come a long way since its origins! you will not be disappointed

Hi @road2wisdom, I'm new to steemit, but I've been using Ubuntu for many years. Both Kali and Ubuntu are based on Debian Linux so the commands that you use for Kali will work. For instance they both use apt-get for installing software and updating the system from the command line. I would say that Ubuntu is a general purpose OS. It's definitely easy to use. I got tired of removing malware from my parents pc, so I installed Ubuntu on it a few years ago and haven't had a problem since.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64196.23
ETH 2757.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71