The Purpose in Life is the Life of Purpose - What is Your Story? + A Quiz to Find Your Pillar

in #teammalaysia7 years ago (edited)

How do we live our lives meaningfully?

According to Emily Esfahani Smith, there are 4 pillars of a meaningful life.

  1. Belonging
  2. Purpose
  3. Transcendence
  4. Storytelling

The first 3 pillars have been written. This post covers the last pillar, Storytelling

What is Storytelling?

Storytelling is to make a narrative out of our lives. In simpler terms, you make stories out of a series of events in your life. Those stories give clarity of your lives, how you became the you today and create your beliefs. It basically helps you make sense of your experiences.

We hold the power to create, edit and transform the story of our lives.
By Emily Esfahani Smith

I, myself practices Storytelling Made Positive. I reflect thoughtfully on each of my life stages, my journey in every stage and every important events that occured. From primary school to present stage.

I ask myself questions during the reflection:

  1. How do I feel when this event happened?
  2. What did I learn from this event?
  3. What am I grateful for through this event?
  4. How have I changed due to this event?
  5. Did I became a better person after this event?
  6. How my belief has changed due to this event?

These questions are vital in gaining clarity in all events happened to you, good or bad, and turn all events into positive stories. Because I believe all experiences happened for a reason, and that reason is to grow myself better and better.

One very distinct experience is my university internship. I had the worst internship ever in my entire life! My boss is the worst person in the world. He is a slave-driver, heartless and threatens me. He assigned a 5-person project to me alone, and expected a student to complete the project in 5 months. He sets unrealistic deadlines and threatens to fail my internship if I didn't complete the project. I was extremely stressed out and cried everyday after work. I hated him so much.

Several months forward, I reflected on this experience.

  1. How do I feel when this event happened?
    I waas extremely stressed out, hates my boss and regretted choosing this company. But I feel grateful to have my supervisor who appreciates my work and dedication.
  2. What did I learn from this event?
    A LOT! I've learned the ins and outs of Unity Game Engine.
  3. What am I grateful for through this event?
    I manage to complete my final year project within 2 weeks thanks to the things I've learned. I have a lot more time for volunteering.
  4. How have I changed due to this event?
    I became a lot more stronger mentally and physically, resilient, accepts criticism as feedback to grow and withstand threats.
  5. Did I became a better person after this event?
    Definitely! I became stronger!
  6. How my belief has changed due to this event?
    This is the start of my belief "Everything happens for me, for me to grow"

The change of mindset is tremendous! From pitch black to rays of light, I viewed my internship experience as a positive story who has helped me grow, shaping who I am today.

This is a very powerful method to create positive stories of your life. I've edited my point of view in my experiences and causes my transformation as a person. And this has became one of my life stories that could be beneficial to you!


Some people has 1 or more pillars of meaning in life. What is your pillar? Take this simple quiz by Emily to find out your pillar.

My result is Purpose!

What is your result? Feel free to share in the comments below :)


Tifa is writing on Steemit because it allows me to write and earn cryptocurrency.
Imagine you do what you love and get paid for it, amazing isn't it!
Steem Dollars is the currency in Steemit and it worth 5USD each. You can earn them like me too:

  1. Sign up
  2. Create contents
  3. Upvote, comment, reply other contents

Sign up for a free Steemit account, and you can thank me by coming back and upvoting this article. Then, you are already earning Steem :D

Sort:  

What a useful checklist of questions!! It's a constructive tool to review our past. I totally agree that we have an opportunity always, to learn and grow, from and through, WHATEVER we might experience in this life! The right attitude can turn a "victim" into a "survivor", indeed an "inspiration'. Thank you for sharing this!

Btw ... my result for the quiz is "Purpose"

Right! I'm glad to have found one more like-minded person :) Your words can turn a "victim" into a "survivor" reminded me of a quote, though I've forgotten who said it

You choose to be a victim of circumstance or victor of circumstance.

You too, can be a victor of circumstance because it is entirely your choice! This reflection will help you be a victor of your stories.

Great, we're similar for the second time! If you don't mind, can you share what's your Purpose?

Great job @tifaong.. You are on fire! I'm glad to have you onboard and you are going to be great! Love the post very much and you have been selected by our "official" account and our curation trail too. It is happened on day 1 too. So you will always have that to remember! ;)

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! ...

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Omg, I'm extremely honored to be part of your team!! I'm happy to be onboard with you guys! XD Let's make #newbieresteemday the best project ever!

Exactly the attitude we want our teammates to have! Together we will succeed. Welcome aboard!

Thank you for allowing me the opportunity! Just let me know if I can help in anything!

I like it and resteem it for my personal account too! Love the message you took from your bad experience. This will serve you well in live!!!

Hi @davemccoy, I'm glad that you liked it. Thank you for resteeiming it! This has been serving me ever since university and I've found it is indeed a very powerful tool to help us see our lives positively, making us victor of our experiences. I hope this article will serve you too :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

I am the "Tag-Lifter" and you have been resteemed because you tagged your post #newbieresteemday


(source)

You have been resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday ... I made today my #newbieresteemday, and invite you and others to do the same. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Thank you very much @ilovepoorpeople!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62226.04
ETH 2440.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63