3 Super Simple and Effective Steps to Cure Your Social Media Addiction

in #teammalaysia7 years ago (edited)

I've found 3 super simple and super effective steps to cure or lessen your social media addiction.

Image source

What is social media addiction?

Let's break down the words into 2 parts, social media and addiction

Social media means social networking sites such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc.

Addiction refers to people feel compelled to do certain activities so often that they become a harmful habit, which then interferes with other important activities such as work or school.

In other words social media addiction means someone is compelled to use social media excessively like constantly checking Facebook status, Instagram likes for hours to the extent it interferes their daily activities.

Social media addiction is worse than cigarette or alcohol, according to researchers at Chicago University. Media cravings actually ranked above cigarettes and alcohol! And the number keeps increasing, daily.

You could be one of them, whether you know it or not. Not sure if you're addicted or not? If you exhibit 6 or more signs below, you're an addict!

  1. It's the first thing in the morning. You check your status, posts, pictures, other's walls as soon as you open your eyes (sometimes when your eyes are still half-closed).
  2. It's the only thing you do when you're waiting. You take out your phone when you're waiting for bus, trains, taxi, friends, anything!
  3. You spend hours looking at nonsense. Be it cats getting scared by owners, babies crying, holiday pictures, selfies, blablabla...
  4. You check in at every location. It's okay to check in occasionally, but if you check in every time when you reach a place, it's a bit too much.
  5. You take pictures of literally everything. Food, sky, trees, roads, pets, yourself, your friends, anything!
  6. You hear imaginary notifications. This is going beyond addiction. You started hearing imaginary notifications because you want those notifications so much! A new like, Ding!
  7. You talk to your friends only via social media. When was the last time you saw your friends face-to-face?
  8. Most of your friends are from social media.
  9. It takes over every or most of your activities. You scroll through social media when you're in meeting, at work, in the toilet, when you're watching TV, in bathtub.
  10. No internet means the end of the world to you. Imagine living a day without internet. If you think you will not survive, you're addicted :)

We all know how the addiction affects our lives and health. But if you don't, click here. We also know, most of us struggle to cure the addiction, but fret not. These methods I'm about to share are super simple and they're effective!

Method 1: Uninstall all social media apps from your phone!

I knew you can't do it. Me too :) So here are the real steps. Remember, ALL of them must be executed!

Step 1: Put all of your social media apps on the third screen. Lump them inside a folder. Name that folder, Social.

This creates more effort to access your social media apps. You won't be able to see them once you unlock your phone. This works like magic.

Step 2: Turn off all social media notifications!

You will no longer be bombarded with endless notifications. You will not know what's happening to your profile, feed, status, etc. No notifications means less number of times looking at phone :)

Step 3: Do your hobby! If you don't have a hobby, get one! Do something not related to social media.

hiking.png

Step 4 (extra): On your browser, delete all social media bookmarks.

This makes it more effort to access your social media.

I followed these 3 super simple steps and 1 month later, I look at my social media apps less than 5 times (each time less than 5 minutes) per day, and I'm feeling super awesome about it! I still use Facebook Messenger, to ask my friends out for tea :)


Tifa is writing on Steemit because it allows me to write and earn cryptocurrency.
Imagine you do what you love and get paid for it, amazing isn't it!
Steem Dollars is the currency in Steemit and it worth 5USD each. You can earn them like me too:

  1. Sign up
  2. Create contents
  3. Upvote, comment, reply other contents

Sign up for a free Steemit account, and you can thank me by coming back and upvoting this article. Then, you are already earning Steem :D

Sort:  

Nooooooooo ... then how to upvote on Steemit !! =P Great tip!

I was just about to write (except Steemit) in the title hahahaha
But there's no app for Steemit yet, so my steps are not applicable XD XD

Thanks @bitrocker2020! My friend told me this trick and worked too effectively :)

there is actually ... its called eSteem ... its a bit buggy .. but give it a try

I tried and I didn't like it. Is eSteem developed by Steem official?

it was created by @good-karma ... he updates the app frequently .. a lot of functionality however i'm still so much more comfortable with the website .

Ohh kudos to @good-karma. Good initiative :)

I started using it yesterday because apparently eSteem gives notification if someone mention you like @bitrocker2020 but I didn't get any. Do you get notifications for mentions?

Yeaaa me too! The website is like easier to see and type. And now I'm trying not to get addicted to Steemit, so I'd prefer not to have an app :)

Check out a blog I wrote a while ago https://steemit.com/steemit/@lynncoyle1/ever-wonder-is-someone-is-mentioning-you-in-a-blog-here-s-your-answer. There's something called ginabot that you can use that notifies you everytime your name is mentioned in a post. It's awesome!!

Thanks a lot @lynncoyle1, Ginabot is amazing! Thank you for sharing your knowledge!

First thing in the morning after I wash face and brush teeth is check steemit. Damn it! But I believe over consume of social media will get us addict and as long as we able to control it should be fine. Thanks for sharing!

Yes, keep it at moderation and always to treasure the time with your loved ones :)
Steemit is always secondary.

I'm grateful that you're aware and taking actions :)

very good. you are wise. very very wise! tag-lifter loves you already!

I am the "Tag-Lifter" and you have been resteemed because you tagged your post #newbieresteemday


(source)

You have been resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday ... I made today my #newbieresteemday, and invite you and others to do the same. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Thank you very much @ilovepoorpeople! I'm honored!

I knew you were very wise! This just confirms it! Great post!

Thank you @davemccoy! I get the tips from my friends, tried it out and worked like magic! So, I've decided to share this with the world who are struggling to quit social media :)

I gave up Facebook this year. Refreshing. Steemit helped with the withdrawals lol. Blessings

You're spot on. The feeling is refreshing. I also felt like shackles of social media has freed me! Steemit certainly does help!! I'm glad to find like-minded people in Steemit~

True talk, I don't get involved in something that won't profit ur pocket. The article is great, I once a social media lover but the day I found something that can earn me money@steemit I devote my time to it

Thank you @micool!
Same with me! If we can do the same in social media, and get paid for it, we've got no reason not to Steem on right?? Hi 5!

Great article! I like also how you finished it :)

Hi @danielapetk, thank you for reading :) I hope it'll help you somehow.
May I know what exactly made you like my finishing paragraph? This is for my own learning :)

We can see many people asking for votes in ugly ways, you do it gracefully :) and it is fair enough what you are saying :)

Oh I see! Thank you very much. This finishing is inspired by @maverickfoo. He has better finishing than I do ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62094.48
ETH 2416.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56