1 Uncomfortably Scary Good Things: Sewing

in #teammalaysia6 years ago

Do one thing a day that scares you
-Eleanor Roosevelt-

So i decided to start a series "Uncomfortably Scary good things" This is hopefully something that can motivate me to push myself to do the things that I'm reluctant in doing and gather for myself experiences in life that my 80 year old me would be proud of.


Image Source

We are all so accustomed to doing the things we're comfortable in doing so here's to doing scary good things! The target will be to do 100 uncomfortable things.

Here goes nothing...

No regrets...


Image Source from Giphy

Sewing

Interesting how the number one thing on this list is sewing isn't it!? It doesn't scare me. But it's something that's outside my comfort zone. I have a little bit of perfectionism in me. So I wouldn't want to do it because I know I'd ruin it, and I don't like ruined stuff.

But then again, my sense of trying to fix the problem is far more overwhelming that I decided to take up the challenge.
Oh and I was about to throw away my old pair of jeans but why throw it away when you can recycle right? So there's a lot of motivation there!

IMG_20180228_234959.jpg

Special shoutout to @stephhchia for lending me her tools.

I have big holes in my pants. Don't ask me how I got em, I don't know what kind of sharp item I have inside my pants. (or maybe I do ;) )

They are not supposed to rip while you wear them, but then again, these pants have been with me for more than 10 years so I guess that explains it. But wait... if it's more than 10 years already, just buy a pair and throw it away right!?

Well It's BECAUSE I've had it for so long, a bit of emotional attachment ensues.


It's no stroll in the park. Especially when you have big hands working on small holes! I could almost swear that I spent half an hour weaving the thread into the eye of the needle.

I did a pretty simple in and out and weaving around the pants. I used old jeans material to basically just patch up the hole.

IMG_20180228_235139.jpg

New found respect for my clothes. I can now say that I truly appreciate a good weave. Good tailors and good cut on a good pair of clothes. After a long few hours here's the results!

IMG_20180228_235102.jpg

Note to self

ALWAYS
I REPEAT

ALWAYS use matching colored threads, or else you will end up a joke of a sewing product like the one I just did. I just created very visible dotted lines on my left thigh. Good job Max. Great! I'd still wear it though hahah! I won't go out like this, I'll just use this as a work jeans.

I was smarter after cause I used white threads for the other side. I didn't want to redo the one with the black dotted lines so I just left it there, It could be new fashion right...


Image Source from Giphy

IMG_20180228_235222.jpg

IMG_20180228_235243.jpg

Not the prettiest of handiwork but pretty proud of myself after I was done. I got a pretty good sense of achievement out of this.

Challenge #1 completed

To many more to come! :)

Would you do this challenge? Drop a shoutout and let's share ideas on what other stuff to do next!


Thanks for visiting this post! Maybe you'd like to check out other stuff I write? :)
Concr.eat Foods 006: Nasi Kerablue



steem-music

cws.gif

cws.gif

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Cool, good luck! Sewing isn't really my thing but anything that challenges you and mixes things up has to be a good thing. Good job with this, and good luck with the other 99!

Thanks! Hopefully it's gonna make life colorful too! Im not really a fan of sewing too!! Which is why you see that hideous looking jeans! At least it's progress :) thanks for visiting!! :)

Good for you! I have come to learn that nothing in life is as hard as you think it is. I tell people constantly that if you aren't learning and trying new things constantly then you aren't growing, and if you aren't growing then you are dying ;)
I have recently moved to a new country where I don't speak the language or know anyone at all, so I have been outside my comfort zone the entire time and it has been the greatest experience of my life!
Great post!

Wow! Moving to a new country, that's very bold! I bet it must've been a great experience! That's so encouraging to know that if you put your hard to it, you can achieve it!

Thanks for the inspiration and encouragement! :)

I think, this is very important post must reading about sewing

Hahaha! Yes must read ;)

hahaha! KHB stuff. reminds me of that famous/infamous teacher we had in Senior 1. can’t go toilet lah. can’t drink lah.

kudos on fixing it up! we do live in a day an age where we tend to throw and replace stuff rather than repairing it. same goes for relationship and other stuff in life :/

I'm not sure last time was who, my time it was Ms Mary. She was no angel either hahah!

Thanks! Yea the tendency to forget about it was pretty strong. Trying to make it a habit!! :)

exactly! Mary Liau!

| I have big holes in my pants. Don't ask me how I got em, I don't know what kind of sharp item I have inside my pants. (or maybe I do ;) ) |

lol max hahahaha
good job fixing it :) and the dotted black line is kinda swag yo

Thanks! Next time maybe you can give me some tips? :)

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

So true...super always happen when we discard the comfort zone.

I learnt how to move away from my comfort zone by watching you work! How you build communities and bring people together, thanks for the inspiration!! ;)

music is a good platform and you play good music...should be easy for you...

Good job with stepping out the comfort zone and pushing yourself forward mate! It's very admirable and something that everyone should take a note of.

I've left you a note over in The STEEMEngine so make sure you swing by and check it out!

Good job pal, continue to put out interesting content like this!

Thanks!! It's a conscious effort I feel I need to put in to make sure I let life pass me by, cause it can be so easy to run on autopilot at times, thanks for popping by!!

It really is! Little bit of self reflection and mindfulness goes a long way pal. Keep on breaking down those walls of limitation!

Yeah, this comfort zone has been something I have fell in to a bit recently. I need to push myself out of it and try new things. Thanks for posting this :D Pretty good handiwork too :)

Just don't stay in the comfort too long I guess? Everything in moderation :)

Thanks for visiting!! :)

Good effort. I sewed people for a living. Hehehe. And occasionally sewing clothes. You did a pretty good job.

I just created very visible dotted lines on my left thigh.

Hahaha. It still functions well, isn't it?
Cheers

Sewing people is a whole nother level for me, much respect!!!

Once in a while la. Hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67403.09
ETH 3246.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65