Undervalued Post became Valueable

in #teammalaysia6 years ago (edited)

Four days ago, while @bitrocker2020 and i were discussing the challenges of writing especially for those that are struggling to write in English.

I told him that I had an issue with reading and writing, I could only do it when I reach 13 or so. It was dyslexia. I wrote some post about it HERE

As years passed on, I tried my best to improve my writing capabilities, but due to my insecurities, I would shy away from it most of the time.

So in business, whoever gets into my trust circle, I will put up my insecurities on the table and make sure everyone knows that I am extremely terrible at it.

The strength that I share within my trust circle is my brain power. I am blessed in different ways, I guess perhaps due dyslexia I am able to see, understand things differently, I love the process of ideation, test and execute ideas. Over time, everyone kept telling me that I am pretty good with ideas and solving things because it seems I see thing differently from most people.

My best friend / Life Mentor that has passed on calls me The Fixer. Read about him HERE

I recall during one meeting with a former business partners (2 people that I mistakenly place them in my trust circle), They sarcastically mock me for my inability to write, while they forgotten that the project document that I needed them to complete is all based on my ideas and negotiation with Funders, convincing them to dump 800k for operational cost for a marine relate project.

This operational cost will ensure food on their table and could help pay their bills. That experience was really a blow to our friendship and partnership and until today while they tried to be friendly again, I don't see the value of it.

If I knew they would behave way, I could just hire copywriters as usual, and don't need to get them into partnership.

Anyway, I am glad that I am in Steemit, not only I am able to have monetary gains, I am able to practice my writing skills too.

During that discussion I had with @bitrocker2020 as mention earlier, he shows me a post that was made by @maverickfoo, check out the post HERE

I was so inspired by the writing style. When Simon went to bed, I can't sleep, there was so much on my head after being inspired, I want to know if I can do it, somewhat similar to it or at least i try.

So I dig deep and figure out a story that has been kept as a secret with me for a long time, a story that I can emotional recall. Then tried my best to write it the best that I could.

Halfway, I got too sleepy and my brain is exhausted, so I went to bed but I can't sleep well, the idea of writing it down kept bothering me.

Woke up at 4 am, and start writing again, and guess what, to complete that one post, it took me two days.

So two days ago, I posted it on Steemit, for the next two days the hard work I put in only reaches up to 5 steem. I was devastated, thinking, I knew it, I can't write for shit.

Suddenly last night, I saw a message on telegram of replies on Steemit.

It was that undervalued post. Surprise surprise. The message I received was interesting.

IMG_20180111_113441.jpg

What crosses my mind is perhaps readers don't care so much about spelling or grammar, perhaps it's about the story, stories that touch their heart, or make them laugh, or make them cry, or perhaps as long as the post brought some value to another. Only then you will be truly compensated.

Perhaps , if only i could write better there wouldnt be any these question or insecurities.

Perhaps , perhaps , perhaps...

Anyway, while your here. Do check out the post that jump up in steem value overnight after being stagnant for two days. Do read that personal piece , comment and resteem it if you think that post would add value to your wall.

Check them out HERE

I am grateful to @sndbox for finding it as a moving story and giving an upvote , its my first time getting an upvote from @sndbox as i am not part of sandbox initiatives. Thank you to those that nominated my post too. Really appreciate it.

Cheers.

Sort:  

I'm very touched and moved by the things you write @danieldoughty! :) Read your Painful Cold Breeze post too, it was very well written. Thanks for sharing your real stories with so much vulnerability!

I am glad that you like it, now this makes me feels that all this effort is worthwhile.

Good for you.

Malcolm Gladwell wrote a very good book called "David and Goliath". In Part 2 of the book titled "The theory of desirable difficulty" is chapter 4 on "you wouldn't wish dyslexia on your child. Or would you?"

It highlights what you mentioned; the disadvantage of dyslexia overcame by the advantages from your other areas. In that chapter, a dyslexic child with reading difficulty became a top lawyer litigator! Due to his disadvantage of dyslexia, he developed the advantage of incredible memory. In court cases, he could REMEMBER all the testimonies of earlier witnesses, the evidence given and could catch out all the errors and discrepancies during questioning of the current witness on the stand!

A great inspiring book on underdogs winning against giants. The first chapter on the biblical story of David and Goliath gives a "modern and more scientific" explanation why it could actually be a true historical event.

Sorry to be long-winded, but your story triggered my memory of the book.

Thats is interesting , now i cant wait to get a copy of that book. Thanks brother.

Thankyou for sharing this..i hope i can learn more from you bro..very inspiring..cheers bro👍

I believe that most of us are having the same problem here, which is struggling to write especially in English.

I, myself was in doubt when Rishi 1st introduced me to steemit. I was thinking, what the hell am I going to write? Summore my English is just kampung level only.

But like u said in this post, we are here not solely for monetary gains. We are here to share our story, knowledge & experience which may bring value for other and vise versa..

Anyway, congrats for being upvoted by sndbox!!!

Cheers Connie, i also wrote this post so to tell others that struggle like me, that they are not alone.

I feel you. Sometime after putting in great effort and struggling to write a content that I thought will be useful to share but after few days still no viewing or upvote, it's actually feels very discouraging to continue writing. But will keep trying even so. Good luck to all of us!

Thank you Daniel

Your writing here was so refreshing and inspiring.... thanks for sharing.

Hard work paid off bro.... big shout out to you. You deserved it.. keep inspired others..

Yea man. What matters most is the story :)

Cheere bro dropping by bro

There will be never be enough words, or rather perfect words to describe or pen down impactful stories like yours. What we can perceive is the heart and soul of the story, and the author. Thanks for sharing them here! :)

Thank you, gald that you like it too. Cheers

keep up the good work! definitely your post will be valuable to some people in this community!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66021.84
ETH 2981.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70