Cupbearer Cafe: A visit to a rooftop greenhouse this #Marketfriday

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image

IMG_20190621_191220.jpg

In search for a place serving vegetarian meal, a friend recommended to me Cupbearer Cafe.

It was already late when I decided to go there. I was not expecting anything. The place is not hard to find.

IMG_20190621_182608a.jpg

IMG_20190621_182722a.jpg

IMG_20190621_182756a.jpg

The cafe is located on the last floor of Alumit Building. It was an unfinished floor. The cafe was set up as an afterthought. They used "runo" or sticks tied together to serve as walls which is an ingenious repurposing of natural resources. The decors are simple to almost bare. The roof was like a greenhouse.

Half of the whole floor was an indoor garden. I saw lettuce, basil and I think leeks. The place was not lit properly. It was already dark when I arrived so taking more photos of the garden is a moot point.

I checked their menu right away.

IMG_20190621_183025.jpg

A few choices they have, I was still stumped to choose what to try. I think because I was expecting more of what the place has to offer. In the end, I settled for regular Green Salad, Farmer's Choice (original) pasta and the lady staff suggested their signature drink Lego (a combination of lemon grass, lemon, orange and mint). You can either have it cold or hot. I opted for hot.

Their prices are reasonable.

I took a few photos around while waiting for my order.

IMG_20190621_182927.jpg

IMG_20190621_182910a.jpg

They serve and sell coffee locally produced and from nearby provinces as well.

IMG_20190621_182854a.jpg

They also sell honey and honeycombs. The honey is in a container of about 350 mL and is worth PHP350. That is a bit pricey or I am just not updated about the pricing of other sellers.

The waiting time for my order was not long about less than 5 minutes.

IMG_20190621_183427a.jpg

Lego was served. It did not really come as hot drink. I think what they did was they put cold water and then added hot but did not mix it. What I can tell is that it was a sweet tangy punch. It was more on the sweet side. It tasted more orangey and a touch of mint. The lemon and lemon grass was lost in the mix. The bitterness of the rinds can be tasted the longer they are soaked.

The lady staff offered to refill if I finished it but one mug is enough for me.

IMG_20190621_184328a.jpg

IMG_20190621_184358a.jpg

IMG_20190621_184152a.jpg

Green Salad consists of slices of cucumber, apple, dragonfruit and chilled cherry tomatoes on top of a bed of fresh lettuce. It comes with garlic white sauce. I like the freshness of the salad. The apples, cucumber and lettuce are crunchy - each bite a delight. The chilliness of the tomatoes gives a punch of sweetness. I am not a fan of dragonfruit but I'm fine with it being there. The sauce is good because the garlic taste is not that strong.

IMG_20190621_183937a.jpg

IMG_20190621_183803a.jpg

The Farmer's Choice pasta as described in their menu is sauted in onions and tomatoes and "tuyo" or dried fish. It was topped with basil and parmesan cheese. It was well balanced. The dried fish as a bit chewy but the saltiness of it seemed to have mixed with everything. The noodle was cooked right. The slice of toasted bread was soft and tasty as well.

I really enjoyed my meal. I love the combination, the texture and taste of everything. It was worth every money. I will surely go back.

IMG_20190621_184424.jpg

IMG_20190621_184135.jpg

I had a bit of chat with the lady ownder before I left and I learned that they just opened last April 1 this year. Now the set up of the place and the few choices of food made sense. I suggested they add more in their menu and she said they wanted to start slow to not compromise the quality of the food which is a very wise move.

Cupbearer Cafe is open Monday to Saturday from 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. No wifi and no credit card. It is noisy because it is located at the junction of Buyagan and Halsema. The place is open so the sound of the busy street is pervading.

Cupbearer Cafe is located at 4th Floor Alumit Building km 6 La Trinidad, Benguet near The Capitol. It is in Google map but I can't tag it on the map.

!steemitworldmap 16.461728 lat 120.588125 long Cupbearer Cafe d3scr

This is also my entry to @dwigle's #marketfriday.


Restaurant Information


Cupbearer Cafe
score
La Trinidad, Benguet, Philippines


Cupbearer Cafe: A visit to a rooftop greenhouse this #Marketfriday
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Be Veggie


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

i dunno why but i like the looks of this place :)
maybe it's all the wood

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Be Veggie> Contest . Thanks to @leeart, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #547.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Everything did look super fresh. That was nice. But I could tell the drink would be sweet.

Hello leeart, welcome to Partiko, an amazing community for crypto lovers! Here, you will find cool people to connect with, and interesting articles to read!

You can also earn Partiko Points by engaging with people and bringing new people in. And you can convert them into crypto! How cool is that!

Hopefully you will have a lot of fun using Partiko! And never hesitate to reach out to me when you have questions!

Cheers,
crypto.talk
Creator of Partiko

A nice place. Healthy food. Great review. I absolutely have to visit your country.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=leeart
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=tasteem-1cb01b


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

grebe sye ,ang gagand alage ng kinakainan mo at pinupuntahan, tapos ito cover pic pa lang natakam na ko, super nutritious naman diyan at mukhang refreshing ang lugar

Healthy photos, healthy choices and wonderful post by you. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56523.53
ETH 2982.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15