Dining with Bozz: BrewDog Brewery Columbus, OH

in #tasteem6 years ago (edited)

title_image


IMG_20190112_142632.jpg

As you can see it was a pretty snowy day when we rolled up to BrewDog Brewery in one of the neighborhoods of Columbus, OH.

Being one of the average big cities in the middle of America, you might not think there is much variety in Columbus. You would be very wrong though, Columbus is a hub of culinary excitement. Don't believe me? Check out this site.

Columbus continues to be known as a huge food city. It is a test market for several fast food restaurants so you will often find new items in the area that haven't made it nationwide yet.

Additionally, Columbus and it's outlying area is home to several restaurant chain headquarters like Wendy's and was the birthplace of Buffalo Wild Wings.

@mrsbozz and I visit Columbus quite frequently because her sister's family lives there. I have often said that we could eat at a different restaurant every day for two years and never go to the same place twice.

On to the brewery though...

BrewDog is off the road in the middle of a large field. It's actually someplace you would potentially drive by and miss if you didn't know what to look for.

IMG_20190112_142832.jpg

There are actually four parts to the business. There is the restaurant area, the brewing floor area, a store/bar area and a hotel. True to the BrewDog name, some of their rooms are pet friends and there is even a dog park a short walk from the hotel where you can let your pooch run free.

According to the website, this isn't your average hotel. Many of the rooms have a view of the brewery production area. Each room also has a fridge stocked with hand selected beers from the brewmasters as well as a fridge in the shower so you are never too far away from your favorite brew.

In addition to that, they also have a tap in every room. That's right, when you book your room you tell them which beer you want to have on draft at your fingertips 24/7!

On this trip we already had accomodations though so we only stayed for a late lunch/early dinner.

IMG_20190112_142855.jpg

IMG_20190112_142858.jpg

IMG_20190112_142920.jpg

IMG_20190112_142923.jpg

These are some shots of the store/bar area where you can lounge around and view their promotional items.

IMG_20190112_142908.jpg

As you walk in to the left, they also have a beer museum and they offer tours of the brewing floor. I don't remember the cost, but I feel like it was pretty reasonable.

IMG_20190112_142928.jpg

Heading back into the dining area, you are presented with an arch of kegs. It is pretty impressive and the whole place has a distinct industrial feel. It is a brewery after all...

IMG_20190112_142956.jpg

IMG_20190112_142948.jpg

As you can see, seating is pretty typical with a "U" shaped bar in the center and booths and high top tables around the perimeter.

I can imagine in the summer they have those garage doors open so patrons can spill into the outdoor area that you can kind of see in one of the opening pictures. Since we were looking at about 5 to 6 inches of snow, it is probably best they left them closed!

I noticed when we sat down that many of the beers were IPA's. I am not a huge fan of IPA's, but I am really trying to expand my pallet.

IMG_20190112_143212.jpg

To be safe, I started with the "Lost Lager" which is a 4.7% pilsner and can be seen in the opening collage picture.

My wife and her sister both went with a beer from another brewery which was the a crisp Belgium Wit called Bell's Winter White Ale

IMG_20190112_143859.jpg

My brother in law got a flight, but I didn't get a picture of it and the kiddo's got a nice refreshing lemonade.

IMG_20190112_143916.jpg

IMG_20190112_143108.jpg

The menu had a good variety without being too overwhelming. A couple of us were really torn about what we wanted to get, but eventually we all decided and put our orders in.

While we were waiting for our food, I took some more shots of the interior. Our table was facing the brewery floor. The kids went up a small flight of stairs to the game area which had acrade games, pinball machines, and shuffleboard tables.

IMG_20190112_150126.jpg

IMG_20190112_153838.jpg

IMG_20190112_150143.jpg

I didn't know it at the time, but BrewDog also has an original location in Scotland. The US brewery is relatively new.

It wasn't long and our food showed up. Before that though my brother in law was raving about one of the dark beers he had gotten in his flight. Wanting to expand my horizons a little, I decided to get one after I finished my first beer.

IMG_20190112_151145.jpg

This beer they call "Choco Libre" and it is a Mexican-spiced hot chocolate infused imperial stout. I could have drank many of these beers it was so good. At 8.2% alcohol, they probably would have needed to carry me out of the place though.

Before I get to the food, I also wanted to mention that BrewDog was brewing Resilience IPA. This IPA was brewed in collaboration with Sierra Nevada. They basically gave the recipie to craft breweries throughout the country and all of the proceeds from the sale of the beer go towards wildfire relief for the "Camp Fire" that devestated parts of California. Pretty cool I think.

Now for the food! My brother in law went with the cheese curd and bacon pizza. He said it was fantastic and there wasn't a crumb left when he was finished with it.

IMG_20190112_150604.jpg

My nieces shared the "Fast Joe" burger and they also got a side of mac and cheese.

IMG_20190112_150318.jpg

IMG_20190112_150610.jpg

My sister in law got one brisket and one carnitas tacos and she also got a side salad.

IMG_20190112_150327.jpg

IMG_20190112_150330.jpg

@mrsbozz when with a side of mac and cheese, the black bean taco and a side of brussel sprouts.

IMG_20190112_150321.jpg

IMG_20190112_150612.jpg

I tried the brussel sprouts and the mac and cheese and I have to say, they were both amazing. I know sprouts tend to have a bad reputation, but these ones were roasted in oil with bacon and jalapenos.

The flavors worked together exceedingly well.

Finally, I got the sweet and spicy pulled pork sandwich with fries(chips).

IMG_20190112_150323.jpg

It was a good sandwich, but I typically perfer my pulled pork to have a little more texture. This was a little mushy and not quite the consistency I like. Also, the brussel sprout slaw didn't have as much flavor as I hoped it would.

It was a good sandwich though and I am not dissappointed that I got it. I would probably try something different next time though.

IMG_20190112_153531.jpg

At $58.05 USD for our bill before tip, this place isn't cheap. If you look though our beers alone were $26 or so. This is definitely someplace I would come back to for a special occasion.

On the way out, we were waiting for some members of our party and I noticed something I had totally missed on the way in.

Just to the left when you first walk in, they have a model of the brewery completely made of Lego's. I tried to get some shots, but because it is under glass, there might be some reflection.

IMG_20190112_154315.jpg

IMG_20190112_154318.jpg

IMG_20190112_154337.jpg

IMG_20190112_154343.jpg

IMG_20190112_154354.jpg

As I said, this is someplace I would definitely come back to and it is also someplace I would highly recommend if you are ever in the area.

In fact, if you find yourself staying in the Columbus area, you should try to get one of the rooms here. I don' t think you will be dissappointed.

Edit

Since I posted yesterday about a beer, I wasn't even thinking about submitting this post to #beersaturday run by @detlev. I am really proud of this post though, so I am going to submit it and I would like to encourage everyone to support the #beersaturday tag. https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@detlev/another-week-another-beersaturday-this-is-week-84-comes-with-a-help-request

Cheers!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase


Restaurant Information


BrewDog Brewery
score
96 Gender Rd, Canal Winchester, OH 43110, USA


Dining with Bozz: BrewDog Brewery Columbus, OH
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Detailed reviews and nice food photography.

#tasteem-curation

Thank you.

Posted using Partiko Android

I know sprouts tend to have a bad reputation

They certainly do, I'm holding up crosses in front of the sprouts!

They are so good when roasted properly with olive oil and seasoning. They have a bitter nutty flavor that is so good!

Breweries and Wineries can often have a really decent restaurant attached to them! However, I was surprised to see a hotel and a gift shop!

Anyway, I was curious to see the Brussel Sprouts with bacon and Jalapeno, we have a box of sprouts coming in this week and I'm not really sure what to do with them!

The sprouts were pretty darn good. The food all around was really great. If I were you just toss them in some olive oil and garlic powder and bake them on a sheet until you can smell them. Make sure you cut them in half first.

Posted using Partiko Android

What a cool place, back in my beer drinking days I would have marked this down as a must visit place, a Beer tap in your room awesomeness

I could see it being very dangerous. If they offer room service I might just never leave the room!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ohh yeah I could be in the same situation LOL

What an interesting place! A beer museum? I'll bet that would be a fun a tour.

And the foods, where should I begin? Everything looks so delicious and appetizing. The pizza looks huge! Geez, I am hungry just by looking all your pictures.

You did a very good job describing the place and the foods. I bookmarked this just in case I'll visit the US in the future and this restaurant won me over. LOL.

Thank you! The cool thing about the pizza is that even though it has lots of rich ingredients, it is a thin crust so not quite as filling as other pizzas might be.

Posted using Partiko Android

That first shot does make it look like it's in the middle of nowhere....

I know right?!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

You should be proud of this post.
This is amazing!
I love beer 🍺 and my mouth was watering like Homer Simpson, having complete dry January and tasting his first Duff. But forget Duff, I want Elvis juice. That’s sounds amazing.
”room service”
”one barrel of Elvis juice hooked up to my room please”
The food looks good to although I agree your bill was a little pricey but not over the top.
An absolute, amazing read and I will go over it again in cases I missed anything.
Well done and keep steeming

Thank you, I appreciate it!

The pictures look great. I will still love to visit america one day

Thank you! It is a pretty cool place for sure!

This is a f+%3#ng great post. You did a wonderful job and I love to visit that place for some hours on beer'n'burgers and a lot of talk about crypto and other stuff.

Thx for joining the #BeerSuturday with such a great work!!!

Thank you! They really did seem to tailor it to the kind of place that you would want to spend a significant amount of time there.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68029.30
ETH 3272.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64