Tarot // The Difference Between the Major and Minor Arcana // My 3 Card Reading and Major Arcana Study Guide

in #tarottuesday6 years ago

Tarot // The Difference Between the Major and Minor Arcana

Last week on the Darkside, @sunravelme and I had @intuitivejakob on the show to talk about Tarot.
We barely scratched the surface so Jakob will be on the show again next week to continue our discussion.

Check out this post to find out when and how to listen to the show.

I've always been interested in learning more about Tarot.
I have 2 decks:
The Rider-Waite-Smith Deck and the Cicero Golden Dawn Deck.
Along the way, throughout my esoteric journey, I've made study guides for both the Major and Minor Arcana.
But, memorizing the meanings of each card is only part of it.
The true art to Tarot reading involves understand the relationship between the cards and using intuition to help decipher what the cards are trying to say.

Jakob mentioned that the Steemit Tarot Community has started doing Tarot Tuesdays.
I look forward to learning more from @intuitivejakob as well as these other knowlegable members that Jakob recommended: @tarotbyfergus, @traciyork, @sunscape, @teneiced, @amariespeaks, and @sarahewaring.



The Major Arcana

A Tarot deck contains 78 cards total.
One of the most popular decks to learn with is the Rider-Waite-Smith Deck.

It was first published in 1909 by Rider Publishing.
The creators were A. E. Waite and Pamela Colman Smith who were both members of the Golden Dawn.

Waite paid Smith a flat fee for her illustrations and she unfortunately did not receive credit for her amazing work as the publisher's name was used along with Waite's name instead of hers.

The cards I use are an updated version called the Radiant Rider Waite.
Most people prefer the original illustrations, but I purchased these before I knew any of the above information.


The Major Arcana contains 22 cards which tell the story of the soul on it’s journey toward spiritual awareness.

These cards indicate major life events or changes that can have long lasting effects.
They can also represent lessons that we need to learn in order to progress.
They may also refer to energies that are having a major impact on our lives.



The Minor Arcana

The Minor Arcana contains 56 cards which symbolize daily events or issues.
They can also represent minor or temporary changes.

There are 4 Suits, each corresponding to a different element, and each suit contains 14 cards.

  • The numbered cards (Ace through 10) represent daily life situations
  • The court cards (Page, Knight, Queen, King) can represent personality traits or actual people

The 4 Suits are Pentacles, Cups, Wands, and Swords

Pentacles correspond to the Element of Earth - money, career, possessions, physicality

Cups correspond to the Element of Water - emotions, feelings, personal issues, relationships

Wands correspond to the Element of Fire - action, creativity, energy, spirituality

Swords correspond to the Element of Air - thoughts, intellect, logic



My 3 Card Past, Present, Future Reading

I think @intuitivejakob told me it's not the best idea to do a reading on yourself, but I did one anyway...for Science.
I asked my cat to do one for me, but he said he had an important nap to get to.

I chose to do this reading with all Major Arcana.
It's not the usual way to do a reading, but I've read that it's good to do if you are looking for some spiritual guidance or insight from the collective unconscious.
And yes, I also ran the picture of the 3 cards that I chose through the deep dream generator because I'm weird.

My 3 Card Reading

Past - Wheel of Fortune
This card is ruled by Jupiter.
About a year ago I started Invoking Jupiter, which is the planet of expansion.
There has been a turn for the better in my life during the last year.

Present - Strength
This card is associated with Leo.
My husband is a Leo and my rising sign is Leo.
This card also indicates patience, compassion, healing qualities, and spiritual power.

Future - The Hierophant
I suppose I could take this card in the literal sense that I may one day become the Hierophant of the esoteric order that I'm in.
But, I'm viewing it another way.
This card is associated with Taurus.
I've been working through the Earth element for over a year.
My foundations were not stable, they broke apart, and I've been working on rebuilding them.
I am headed toward the completion of this Earth cycle to work with the other elements and ultimately achieve spiritual enlightenment.



My Major Arcana Study Guide

0 The Fool:

Ruled by Uranus
Innocence
Leaping into the unknown
Starting new
Spontaneity
A free spirit
Extravagance

Reversed:
Unable to make a decision or move forward
Foolishness
Risk-taking
Naivety
Carelessness


1 The Magician:

Ruled by Mercury, messenger of the gods
Powerful, masculine energy
New ideas and creativity
Connection to source
Concentration
Resourcefulness
Self-confidence
Skills
The querent or querent's interest
All 4 Elements are represented on the altar.
Focus and concentration.
Law of correspondence ..
As above so below, as below so above as the vertical held wand and redirection down to the rosebed of subconsciousness.

Reversed:
Lack of skill
Manipulation
Poor planning
Conceit
Deception
Be careful where to put your trust


2 The High Priestess:

Ruled by the Moon
Spirituality
Intuition and patience
Subconscious
Mystery
Higher powers
Something remains hidden so do not rush
Knowledge and wisdom
The querent or querent's interest

Reversed:
Vanity
Instability
Selfishness
Ignorance
Deception
Hidden agendas
Need to listen to inner voice


3 The Empress:

Ruled by Venus
Abundance and wealth
Initiative and action
Ignorance regarding concerns or stresses
Beauty, nature, femininity, fertility
Creativity
Clandestine
The unknown
Difficulty or doubt

Reversed:
Overindulgence
Barrenness
A tendency to be domineering
Losing power
Creative block
Dependence on others


4 The Emperor:

Associated with Aries
Material wealth
Independence
Power
Discipline
Authority
Protection
Stability
Structure
Solid foundation
Reason
Conviction

Reversed:
Immaturity
Lack of self control
Miserly
Domination
Rigidity
Inflexibility
Excessive control


5 The Hierophant:

Associated with Taurus
Mercy and compassion
Inspiration
Bridge between deity and humanity
Marriage, alliance
Captivity, servitude
Conformity
Tradition or beliefs
Religion

Reversed:
Unconventional
Disregard for rules
Weakness
Restriction
Challenging the status quo


6 The Lovers:

Associated with Gemini
Partnership, love, friendship
Duality of earthly and divine love
Attraction, love, beauty
Trials overcome
A test you will pass
Values
Alignment

Reversed:
Quarrels
Separation
Infidelity
Hasty, unwise choices
Disharmony
Imbalance
Misalignment of values
Loss


7 The Chariot:

Linked to Cancer and the Moon
Balance negative and positive forces to achieve success
Maintain focus
Control
Will power
Determination
Assertion
Triumph overcoming obstacles

Reversed:
Lack of control and direction
Bad habits
Failure to follow through
Aggression
Defeat


8 Strength:

Associated with Leo
Use your head, not your heart
Exercise restraint
Courage
Patience
Control
Compassion
Healing qualities
Spiritual power

Reversed:
Weakness and lack of self control
Lack of confidence
Lack of self-discipline
Cowardice


9 The Hermit:

Associated with Virgo
Looking inward
Soul-searching
Introspection
Inner guidance
Healing
Seeking the inner path
Self-knowledge
Caution

Reversed:
Loneliness and depression
Isolation
Withdrawal
Hasty decisions
Fear
Overly cautious


10 Wheel of Fortune:

Ruled by Jupiter, the planet of expansion
A turn for the better
Reward for past deeds
Fortune, power, movement and change
The cyclical nature of life
Good luck
Destiny
Success

Reversed:
Turn for the worse
Blind optimism can lead to failure
Bad luck
Out of control
Negative external forces


11 Justice:

Associated with Libra
Decisions will be made- fairly
Balance
Truth
Cause and effect
Law

Reversed:
Unreasonable decisions
Others may not be forthright
Unfairness
Lack of accountability
Dishonesty
Bias


12 The Hanged Man
Stepping back to reassess and rest
Wisdom as a result of self-sacrifice
Letting go
Suspension
You must be patient

Reversed:
Unwillingness to make sacrifices
Or sacrifices made for the wrong reasons
Martyrdom
Indecision
Delay
Selfishness
Effort is required


13 Death:

Rebirth
Transition
Endings,
beginnings
Accept change
Let go of the past
Transformation

Reversed:
Refusal to budge
Resistance to change
Unable to move forward
Stagnation
Possible loss of friendship


14 Temperance:

Linked to Sagittarius
Good health
Balance within oneself and relationships
Moderation
Patience
Purpose

Reversed:
Disharmony
Frustration
Clashing interests
Imbalance
Excess
Lack of long-term vision


15 The Devil
Associated with Capricorn
Emotional, spiritual or physical bondage
Relationships based on material gain
Sexuality
Addiction

Reversed:
Detachment
Breaking free
Power reclaimed
You face bad habits or addictions but these can be overcome


16 The Tower:

Ruled by Mars
Radical transformation
Destruction bringing change
Disaster, upheaval
Revelation
A partnership may suddenly dissolve
Disruption

Reversed:
Avoidance of disaster
Fear of change
Trapped by old habits
Stuck in a rut


17 The Star:

Linked with Aquarius
Creativity and new ideas
Hope and inspiration
Spirituality
Renewal
Serenity
A bright future

Reversed:
Lack of faith
Despair
Discouragement
Disappointment perhaps due to stubbornness
An unfulfilling association may come to an end


18 The Moon:

The Moon rules the subconscious
Psychic powers are revealed
Intuition is strong
Beware of deception
Unusual events may occur
Fear, anxiety, insecurity
Illusion

Reversed:
Release of fear, unhappiness or confusion
Deceptions are unmasked
Small mistakes can be corrected


19 The Sun:

Growth, contentment, positive energy
Happy relationships
Creative endeavors
Expand your horizons
Success
Positivity
Vitality and warmth

Reversed:
Temporary depression
Lack of success
Blocked energy
Setbacks
Keep an eye on important relationships


20 Judgement:

Ruled by Pluto
Transformation
Rebirth
Inner calling
Absolution
A fresh start
Forgive and forget
Soul searching

Reversed:
Self-doubt
Refusal of self-examination
Stop delaying the inevitable
Indecision can lead to missed opportunities


21 The World:

The completion of life's circle
Mystical unity with the Universe
Success and liberation through spiritual rebirth
Integration
Accomplishment
Travel

Reversed:
Lack of completion or closure
Success may be delayed
Filter out imperfections and refine your vision
Failure
Inertia
Evil reward

Sort:  

Hey @isaria, I enjoy being on the show with you and @sunravelme! Looking forward to this Saturday, as well!

I hope I didn't misconvey to you, because I feel like self inquiry is essential. What I'd intended to mention is that when I am feeling myself full of negativity, I stay away from the cards til I work on my energy first.

It can be challenging to read, especially for oneself. It is a wonderful challenge.

Loved your first tarot post and the insights you shared. Hope to see more from you on #tarottuesdays!!

Ahhh ok yes I remember now. You did say to perhaps stay away from the cards when feeling negative, I forgot!
Thanks for all your help and I'll talk to you during the show!
<3

I would love to do that!

And also, it's not to say there's anything at all wrong with reading when you are called to do so. I was just stating how for me, I find I get a much better read if I manage the energy first and then approach the reading. I tend to get more out of it that way.

Nicely done, @isaria! Personally, I think the filter looks awesome, especially with those three cards!

~~ @thekittygirl~~ A little birdie told me my name was brought up during the show, but unfortunately I got home and saw the message a few hours too late. I'm hoping to be around this Sunday when you broadcast - sounds like an amazing discussion was had by all!

And thanks for the great addition to Tarot Tuesday!

Thank you!!! We would love to have you on the show whenever you can make it!

Coolness! Thanks for the offer, @isaria!

Wow, you put a lot of work into outlining the tarot. Great job. I am just beginning my path of understanding and working with tarot. I have used many different oracle decks successfully, but I have only recently begun using the Rider-Waite tarot.

Thanks! I'm still learning the Rider-Waite too and I haven't even begun to look at the Golden Dawn deck. There's so many great decks out there too with beautiful artwork. I might pick another deck up just for fun.

I have not looked into any other tarot decks myself, they are each so intricate! Best of luck learning each of your decks. :)

wow! loved this post! I'm just learning the Rider-Waite-Smith Deck(I've been using a celtic fairy deck for like 5 years lol) this post is amazing for a new comer like me! I've resteemed in case anyone else out there is a newbie - but mostly for myself so I can take my time and read through the meanings to learn more <3 <3 DEFINITELY checking out your show as well!

Oooh the Celtic Fairy deck sounds nice!
Thanks for resteeming! I made a study guide for the minor arcana as well so I'll post that at some point too.
We will definitely be talking more about tarot during the show this week so hopefully you can make it!

This sounds Fun! I didn’t know we were having Tarot Tuesdays, I’ve got to stay in the loop! That must also mean that there will be a Tarot Tuesday on Today?

tarottuesday is the tag. So if you click on that tag you will see all the other tarot posts. :)

Hey @esaia.mystic, yes! I have been posting them in Unity Guild when I've been doing them. We have a hashtag we've been building at #tarottuesday

Hope you like them! And if you have some to do, join us!

cuddle attack 2 gif

Ah the memories of struggling to learn to read tarot, I remember it well! Great post, very comprehensive :)

lol it is a bit of a struggle!
Thank you!!!

Nice job, keep it up, i just resteem this post to show my support

Love your post @isaria Amazing seriously

I really like your posts and I enjoy very much with all your posts.👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68313.70
ETH 3663.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66