Swordmaking in details, update on the wheel pommel.

in #sword6 years ago

I have had just enough time to cast the parts I printed a few days ago, and I thought i would show the result. they have come out quite nice, and even though they are not as sharply detailed as they could be, it will be fine remember the entire disc is only 3cm wide, so tha little imperfections that can be seen here on these magnified images are barely visible to the naked eye.

I have been wondering how to mount the two bronze discs to the steel pommel and I think I have found a viable way to do it.

I am going to cut a depression in the steel , place the bronze part in it and hammer the sides of the steel in over the bronze.

It is a method somewhere between setting stones and what is called tauschierung in German (we actually use the German word in Danish too: tauschering) this is the technique that was used to mount silver and bronze in viking axes and on medieval swords so it is both durable and historically exact.

I havent had time to do it yet, but I am starting to do the measurements . The more exact a fit I can get, the better. I draw on the steel with a speedmarker and then scribe the painted surface using a sharp steel. that way I can get a very fine and sharp line. I have also numbered the sides and the disks so that any differences in their size will not result in a loose fit.


Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. If you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem
or you can check out these recent posts

silent wood
Pommeling
upgrade
more pommeling

Sort:  

It looks very nice to me :)

So that's how our ancestors inserted their decorations in their axes ?
Interesting, you learn something new everyday !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16