“Queen of the Forest” - Steemit Vision Quest week 6

in #svq6 years ago

I first ran across the Steemit Vision Quest by @cabelindsay a couple weeks ago and just got more and more inspired watching the entries each week. When he posted the theme for week six, my mind was already running in top gear. 🙃 I wanted to compose something, exercise my songwriting chops, expand my skillset, try new things... It was the perfect opportunity.

055853BE-8A2E-4572-88BB-0B15D729CB5F.jpeg

Unfortunately, there isn’t a whole lot to document of my process. Composing a song happens so much in the mind, there isn’t a whole lot of tangible evidence except a few spare notes from the times I sat down and noodled around on the instrument.

I started out thinking this would be a mandolin composition; after I completed my CPVC Irish flute and was happy with it, I knew it was a better choice for the tune.

Traditionally in Irish lore, faeries lived in the wild lands, and the phrase “Queen of the forest” immediately put me in mind of a faerie queen, taking a elegant stroll through her territory. The Irish flute seemed a perfect choice.... I imagine the tune with the haunting echo of desolate glens to carry some of the long notes (similar to some Native American flute pieces I have heard).

69AF62F0-B506-4A0E-B609-352261183748.jpeg

This morning while everyone slept, I took out my flute and noodled around a bit to tweak the musical ideas I had, and jotted them down as best I could. I deliberately chose a free-form time as opposed to a delineated time signature; there is no time as we understand it in the land of Faerie, after all! 😉

In the end, I think it came together as well as can be expected given this is the first real composition I’ve done in quite some time, and I am pleased with the results!

Thank you for listening! 🎶

D74A530D-5B3A-4032-8720-E2A6F779D53A.jpeg

More about the flute I used:
Part I: https://steemit.com/lutherie/@heatherthebard/simple-system-pvc-flute-build-pt-1
Part II: https://steemit.com/lutherie/@heatherthebard/simple-system-cpvc-flute-build-pt-2-audio
Part III (Addendum): https://steemit.com/lutherie/@heatherthebard/cpvc-irish-flute-build-addendum-a-few-notes

Sort:  

Do you mind if I sample any of your work for my hip hop tunes?

What do you mean by sampling?

You familiar with hiphop music?

Takes a melody or a snippet of music and turns it into a completely different genre of music, sometimes well blended sometimes horrid.

Congratulations! You've earned the spotlight as our featured Vision Quester this week. Check out your acknowledgment on the Highlights post: https://steemit.com/svq/@cabelindsay/steemit-vision-quest-week-6-queen-of-the-forest-highlights. Thanks again for your awesome entry.

We celebrate your Creative Spirit, and we appreciate your entry in Steemit Vision Quest.

May you receive all you seek.


And I have good news: This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag ocd-resteem. Three posts using this tag will be chosen each day by our curators to be RS. Good Luck!

@Ocd now has a witness, please vote for @ocd-witness to help support other undervalued authors!

Sure, I would be honored to be a part of @ocd ! 🙃

This was incredibly beautiful, It stirred up the ancestors I know I have somewhere in Scotland/Ireland. It also reminded me of the captivating tv series I saw on Starz called - Outlander. You are so beautiful and rare, to have the spirit and the will to compose your own music. I will be following and thank you for your entry. @heatherthebard.

Thank you so much for the lovely compliment @rensoul17! 🙃 I am happy you enjoyed my entry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97