Simple System PVC Flute Build, pt 1

in #lutherie6 years ago

0257D42F-DCA0-47E3-B045-0F7FC2C6C270.jpeg

So yesterday I got a wild hair and decided to try my hand at something I’ve always been interested in: making simple-system flutes.

What is a Simple-System flute?

Essentially, a simple flute. This is the class of flutes that the Irish tinwhistle/pennywhistle, the Irish flute, Japanese shakhuachi, and the Native-American flute fit in. A length of pitched cylinder with fingerholes, and either a fipple (a whistle-style mouthpiece) or a flute embouchure head.

Since I play predominantly Irish and Celtic music, the flute I am constructing will be pitched accordingly.

Parts:

3/4 inch CPVC, the kind used for hot and cold water (anything else runs the risk of leaching unknown chemicals into the thin skin of your mouth)
Matching end cap
Drill bits in 3/8”, 7/16”, 11/32”, and 5/16”
Small 1/4” or 1/8” dril bit for pilot holes (optional)
Trimming device

Directions found here: http://www.markshep.com/flute/Pipe.html

Overall cost: under $5 USD

The Build

Marking and cutting the pipe went very quickly, and Mark’s directions were easy to follow. Since my hubby has a vise in the basement, I decided to use that to help secure the pipe while I drilled. For ease of marking, I decided to use the printing on the side of the pipe to help line things up straight.

F0ED75E2-324C-4ED1-99A6-6AA9FDE9F04F.jpeg

7242CA3C-2F3F-4387-B0B5-0A9A1644F255.jpeg

One thing I noticed was that it worked far better to drill small pilot holes for the fingerholes first, for the larger drill bit to follow, than it was to drill the holes with the sized bit. I used a small 1/4” bit for the pilot holes.

B016814E-4ED1-4E99-95E0-AA62DCB27367.jpeg

One thing that surprised me was how the plastic heated up as I drilled. The “shavings” kinda melted together and made the holes not very clean. I used a dowel to break them free on the inside of the flute, and I found a pocketknife worked good for cleaning the edges of the holes.

D25ACA0E-169F-4933-BEB2-FC44C96812B2.jpeg

The “finished” flute (pictured at the top) is very rough at the moment, I’m considering it more of a prototype. I offset the fingerholes per Mark’s directions, but because I’m familiar with these types of flutes, and have long fingers, the offset was too much and made it more difficult to play.

I also noticed that the end cap fits on the pipe so snugly that I doubt I will need to use the special glue on it.

But play it does! And well enough that I am encouraged and will take what I learned from this to the next one I make. The materials were inexpensive enough that I can make at least three or four flutes for right around $5. Since I wanted a sturdy, one-piece flute for outdoor activities (not susceptible to humidity like my nice wood 4-key Irish flute... I’ll do some videos of that one for #openmic one of these days 🙃 ), practice will make perfect.

Stay tuned!

27DB99E6-1BA4-4B44-86A8-715CBFD4B15C.jpeg

Check out some of my other posts!
Open Mic 75: Si Beag Si More https://steemit.com/openmic/@heatherthebard/steemit-open-mic-75-celtic-mandolin-si-beag-si-more
Talent Contest week 8: Eighth of January https://steemit.com/steemittalentcontest/@heatherthebard/steemit-talent-contest-week-8-the-eighth-of-january-celtic-mandolin
Ascension: charcoal art https://steemit.com/art/@heatherthebard/ascension

Sort:  

Cool I have always wanted to make flutes. We have several stands of bamboo near my house that Ifigure would have a nice tone. Your post is motivating me :)

I would love to see/hear short clip of the flute being played, and something like that would add a lot of value to this post IMO. Even if the pitch isn't perfect nor the performance, even just holding it up to your lips and blowing a scale would be great for reference for people who are interested in making one themselves.

Much love - Carl

I am finishing up the second one, and will be posting part 2 with sound clips/video tomorrow! :)

Such a shame you didn't record a little bit of you playing the unconvetional flute.

That will be posted tomorrow! ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57951.98
ETH 3051.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26