How Will Your Family Act in an Emergency Situation? How to Host an Emergency Drill

in #survival6 years ago (edited)

8:30 pm. My friend Jennie is going through her nightly routine. Her severely disabled teenage son just finished his snack and now it’s bathtime. Her husband is reading a bedtime story for the younger kids.

Suddenly there is a pounding on the door.

Officials are standing there. They quickly inform my friend that there is a gas emergency and they must immediately evacuate.

They have ten minutes.

Her mind is a rush- her son is in a wheelchair and has many medications and several devices to support his life, including an oxygen tank.

The house could blow up. This image kept damping out the others. They have to get the dogs. Where will they sleep? What should they grab?

The officials rushed them out quickly, helping them haul heavy medical equipment and protesting children to the truck. They ended up staying at a friends house in the next town over.

Jennie told me about this the following evening. Luckily their houses, and that of their neighbors, were fine- they eradicated the danger and fixed what needed to be fixed and all the residents could safely return the following morning.

This story had a huge impact on me. I like to think I’m prepared, and that my family knows what to do, but when it comes down to it- do they really?

Would I act as I imagine in an emergency?

My roommate and I discussed this at length. After thinking things through for a couple days, I decided to test my family.


I would give us 15 minutes.

15 minutes to grab essential emergency items and be in the truck.

It was a Saturday and the boys didn’t have basketball practice or any appointments. Perfect lazy Saturday. They were playing video games and watching Netflix. I was writing.

I had asked a friend to call me at 1:09 pm.

I received the call and sprung into concerned Mom mode. I told the boys we had to get out now, there was no time to explain. To grab essential items, crate the pets and meet at the truck. We only have 15 minutes.

My two older sons sprang into action. They gathered the pets and their food and bowls, stuffed bags with eating utensils, cereal, bread, peanut butter and jelly, flashlights, first aid, and their own clothes. I rushed through the house and gathered important items. They were very cool and collected and organized, and worked seamlessly together. I was extremely impressed.

Several minutes in I realized I hadn’t seen my youngest son who was 11 at the time. I found him hunched in his closet putting books in a bag and starting to panic. I put my arms around him and explained this was just an emergency drill. He calmed immediately and stepped it up a notch, hurriedly packing his personal belongings then asking others what they needed help with.

Lesson number 1- when conducting a drill, evaluate the ages of all concerned :)

When the 15 minutes were up we were very impressively climbing into a packed truck filled with overexcited housepets.

However... I had forgotten the keys!


I then informed the boys this was a test. They laughed and protested (one had been in the middle of a super important Call of Duty tournament, lol. I instructed them to bring all the packed items into the living room so we could evaluate and learn from this experience. I unpacked the pets and gave them treats as they had all done very well, considering!

Each family member unveiled the items they had chosen and explained why. Most were very practical- clothes, extra socks, raincoats, a pup tent, food and medical supplies sleeping bags. John had grabbed the book he was reading by his favorite author Darren Shan, deck of cards and pack of 6 dice and explained we would need something fun to do as a family to pass time, wherever we were going. The younger boys had packed a couple toys with their clothes, and I learned that if your vehicle is part of your emergency evacuation to make sure you remember the keys.


It was a very interesting exercise. We discussed my youngest sons panic and used that as a learning experience. Panic is the number one problem in an emergency situation, and can often prove deadly.

We noted little things such as canned food without a can opener. Flashlights without batteries. Discussed always keeping your vehicle in good condition. And always keeping your head no matter what.

I learned that my boys were more capable than I gave them credit for, as throughout the exercise I had been hovering and checking on them. They actually had a pretty good grasp on what was needed.

We spent the rest of the day developing a “ten minute out” plan, as well as other emergency plans. We figured out two meeting points in case of separation- one nearby and one further out. We brushed up on our CPR skills and made a plan as to who would grab what, as we noticed many things were doubled up on- John would be in charge of food and eating utensils and emergency equipment. B would be in charge of the pets and their items and Nik would gather medical supplies and sleeping bags.

The boys look back on this first emergency drill with fondness and humor. It definitely made an impact and opened an important line of communication, and brought awareness. A frequent question in my house now is, “Mom? When are we having another “10 minute out” drill?”

I urge you to conduct a drill of your own.

It takes little time but prepares you for the future, and teaches you all many things about how your family reacts under pressure and how you can work around things, how well you work as a team under stress, and what everyone already knows so that you can adapt and adjust as necessary.

It’s all about survival after all :)


Have you had an emergency situation such as Jennies?

Does your family conduct drills?

Share your story and advice in the comments!


Images via Pixabay and Unsplash


With love, light, and good mojo

🖤

I love you guys!

I appreciate your support :)

Sort:  

Thankfully, we have not had an emergency like Jennie's.
This is such a good example of eye-opening experiences that we can all learn from. I will definitely have to do a drill and also create a plan.
I think a good idea but also be a prepackaged school bag with flashlight, first aid kit, matches and other emergency supplies.

I call that a Bug Out Bag. We now have one for each family member, including one for the for legged kids ;)

Be sure to include high energy snacks. And bottled water.

This was a very interesting post. It reminds me of a time a while ago that I was in our bedroom and my wife caught me putting a dog collar in my night stand. She laughed at me and asked what I was doing. I told her if there was a fire and we had to get out of the house quickly we needed a way to control our dog. She doesn't usually wear a collar around the house and if left to her own devices she would run off. So we needed a way to keep her close to us if we ever needed to evacuate quickly. It is important to prepare. In the summer we keep our travel trailer fully stocked in our driveway for camping, but could hook it up and leave for my friends property up north if we ever needed to.

Smart idea with the dog collar! I keep an emergency leash on the folder compartment ;)

You're right, it's important to prepare. So many people don't even want to think about these things...

I used to conduct a lot of emergency drills particularly on fire safety for agencies and never have I ever thought that I should ever do one for my own home and family. This really opened my eyes and reminded me to send all our fire extinguishers for service. Thanks for sharing!

Oh my! Yes, it's so easy to forget about it own households. We assume they know already, because they had to have picked it up from overhearing us!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Thanks tts! Since a great service you're providing!

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

@arbitrarykitten mam...
Actualy I think An emergency situation is any situation that poses an immediate threat to a person's health, security, property, or environment. Knowing how to assess the signs that make up an emergency will help you know how to handle it. In addition, being well-prepared for an emergency will pay off when it's time to handle any emergency situation...
Keep it up dear..

And being able to keep a calm head so as to both assess the emergency while addressing the immediate needs is important .

Thanks :)

That's such a tragedy. Lucky that we never had any emergency like Jennie's. But we should always keep a bag with most of the emergency supplies with us. Who knows what could happen but please don't scare me. Lol

Proper
Prior
Prevention
Prevents
Piss
Poor
Procedure

;)

In a real life situation considering the 1st part of the story, do you think everyone will be as focus like d way it is been practiced in the drill?

My boys were unaware that it was a drill. I only told my youngest because he was staying to freak out and I didn't want to traumatize him :)

We've practiced enough that I believe these guys will remain calm and focused in any situation.

It's very necessary. every parents need to trend there children's

It's surprising how effective this drill was! Yes, I absolutely agree :)

With all the wildfires last year, I had my truck packed all summer, with the cat carrier and emergency bin by the door. It's a good idea to be prepared, but your idea of doing a drill is a good one!

A drill really helps seeing where the weak points are :)

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53949.09
ETH 2223.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31