Spotting Steemit's Surfers And Designing The First Community Map: Here's My Local Wave! ๐ŸŒŠ๐ŸŒŠ๐ŸŒŠsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #surfing โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

A small group of determined and like-minded people can change the course of history. - Mahatma Gandhi

Then let's do so.

In my yesterday's blog post I proposed to create a Steemit Surf World Map, identifying the surfers on steemit through their local wave.

The feedback has been impressive so far, and I have the sensation that we've got far more like-minded wave seekers on steemit that I ever imagined.

@creatr who is not only an excellent surfer but also a wonderful person has picked up the idea instantly and pushed it into the right direction.

Now we've got even an application to fill our WORLD SURF MAP!

Growing steemit's world surf map

While having breakfast today's morning I saw that @creatr had done an amazing job on this surf community idea.

He proposed to use the application what3words to identify the local surf spots of steemit's surf community.

Here's @creatr 's article to read: Putting The Steemit Surf Community On The Map.

Of course, after finishing my coffee the first thing I did was spotting my own wave!

How exciting ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

So here is my local spot: gullies.swan.microwave - whaaam!

You wanna have a surf with @surfermarly? Then you can find me here gullies.swan.microwave:

@surfermarly's local wave on the what3words map

The related satellite shot ๐Ÿ“ท

Excellent. So thanks to @creatr's amazing input we've got the perfect application to define steemit's surf spots around the world!

Everybody who wants to be part of this project is kindly invited to join!

So currently we've got already two surf spots defined on our map.

Here's how STEEMIT'S WORLD SURF MAP already looks like:

So let's fill the map with red flags though!

If you wanna add your own local wave, just follow the instructions given by @creatr using the application of what3words and drop your 3 words down here in the comments section. Then you're going to be on the next updated map as well!

Looking forward to growing the steemit #surfing community! ๐Ÿ„

Have a great one!

Marly -

Subscribe to my YouTube Channel and be the first one in watchig my surf videos

PS: Just in case you missed it... the extraordinarily talented @rubenalexander has designed this amazing card. Read the whole story about it and see how he did it in HIS ARTICLE:


Original content. Maps were shot on what2words.com.

Sort: ย 

Hey, Marly,

I got this earlier:

"My home break is Stockies @ Wainui - Gisborne NZ (-38.689651, 178.074210)"

Simo ( @youareyourowngod ) from New Zealand stopped by and left me his "conventional" coordinates. I converted them into three words:

dance.resistant.push

So, there's one more "pin" for the global map... ;) :D

Hugs!

๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜‡๐Ÿ˜„

@creatr

Aaaaawesome!!! I found one more: @irishabstainer with https://map.what3words.com/sunburnt.entangled.adventurous (Phuket) ๐ŸŒด๐ŸŒด๐ŸŒด

Love seeing that things are falling into place ๐Ÿ˜Š

BIG HUGZZZ

Great idea. I can only surf with my fingers over the internet but I love this initiative and seeing others enjoy the sport.

Haha, everybody is kindly invited to join. We haven't really defined the term #surfing. So surfing on steemit might be accepted as well ๐Ÿ˜„
Thank you!

okay, I guess I'll have to start surfing first before I'm allowed to pin myself in there :)

Always wanted to try it, so maybe some additional motivation as it's connected to my new favorite Social network ;)

Hehe, well this is about bringing surf buddies together. So it's an excellent idea to learn and join then, of course!!! ๐Ÿ˜Š

youยดve already made it?! wow youยดre fast, that deserves an upvote and resteem. still don't get it how I can get my surf break on that map but will work it out the next days. Thanks

Haha, yeah I felt inspired today and things worked out quickly ๐Ÿ˜Š
Just go to that page https://map.what3words.com/flanked.harder.flip and type your location into the white field at the top. Then your spot is going to be converted into a code of 3 words. These will appear inside the red bar at the bottom of the page, plus: the URL is going to include the, too. So you can just copy the URL and paste it here.

Got it? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Let me know!

And THANKS for the upvote and resteem!!! It's highly appreciated!!!

hey @surfermarly yeah I got it, thanks!! http://w3w.co/clocking.walks.punctual will be there from September on, hope to meet at least one Steemian in the water ;)

but where can I see the whole map with all the pins now? sorry to ask again :)

It's in progress :-)

cool, looking forward to it. youยดre in Portugal right? thinking of going there next year.

Not a surfer but like wearing surfer outfit - here in Burgas several surfers are around - not sure on steemit though - waves are limited too I would judge. Voted of course as always

Thank you, Uwe!! ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜
Haha, that's the way I started actually: before knowing how to catch any waves I already had at least the coolest outfit, LOL! Enjoy the Urlaaaaub ๐ŸŒด๐ŸŒด๐ŸŒด

I will be in Bali the next month and standing/falling the first time on a surfboard. looking forward to it.

Haha, good luck with that! If you're a natural talent you won't fall down much. But usually it takes a couple of sessions to get / stand up their (without drinking salty water all the time) ๐Ÿ˜†
I've never been in Bali but would love to some day!

This is an awesome idea and progress hence why I am more motivated to join your team. Always good to learn new things. Upped.

Thank you!! Go get that surfing training started :-)

Absolutely, with your blessings my dearest @surfermarly . Lets get started

Awesome @surfermarly this will surely makes peoples together and at near we have great surfing community on steemit.

wow its so cool and enjoyfull mam i want to start it and enjoy it fully...resteemed it for all surfers

Thank you. Just one little advice: if you tell people that you resteem their articles but then don't really share them, they might believe that you're just trying to buy their attention. If you even upvote your own comment, that doesn't help much either. Try to be honest, people will reward that :-) Good luck!

ย 7 years agoย (edited)

nice work i see ur yesterdays post about steemit surf map ur videos really attract us for this...and really i m happy u choose ruben alexander card he is also best and have many talented man i know him i see ruben post when he make this carf and post it speciall for u @surfemarly

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63612.81
ETH 3487.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50