Superstitions!

in #superstition6 years ago

SUPERSTITIONS and how they came about!

WikiPedia explains Superstitions as the following:

Superstition is a pejorative term for any belief or practice that is irrational - i.e., it arises from ignorance, a misunderstanding of science or causality, a positive belief in fate or magic, or fear of that which is unknown. "Superstition" also refers to religious beliefs or actions arising from irrationality.


Image Source

So lets speak a bit about some common Superstitions shall we... Well the first one that happen to cross my mind was Beginners Luck, I didn't actually know that this was considered as a Superstition until I actually went and did some research on Superstitions, the theory of Beginners luck is used almost every time we invite someone new to the game, For Example: If I go and Cycle with someone that has never cycled before and they beat me up a hill, I'm gonna scream out Beginners Luck!!

Lets Say that you invite someone to a sport that you love dearly and are quite good at, and they just absolutely Thrash you.... You would Scream *BEGINNERS LUCK!!!


▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞



Image Source

Have you ever heard of people that tell you not to walk under a ladder... Well I'm one of them, at a young age one of my older cousins told me not to walk under a ladder... and ever since that day I've spread the word to stay away from the underside of a ladder. BUT WHY THOUGH??. So as I was doing some research on this specific Superstition it actually has a Legit cause as to why you shouldn't walk under a ladder...

Who wants to be responsible for stumbling and knocking a carpenter off his perch?

That was very unexpected, I always thought that if you walked under a ladder it would fall on your head, but I was obviously incorrect XD XD XD

Quick Story:
They are currently doing renovations at my school, this means that there are dozens of ladders around every corner and on top of every staircase!!!
I have been avoiding ladders for the last 2 weeks at school and my friends just can't stop laughing at me because of it XD XD XD, yet I laugh with them!!


▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞


giphy.gif

What about a Black Cat Crossing Your Path... Ever heard someone say that, if not you've probably been living under a rock, or just haven't seen a black cat...! XD

I have not had a lot of experiences with a black cat so I feel very lucky, but I'm sure if I see a black cat I'll probably just freak out and not take a single step XD XD XD

Most likely, this superstition arises from old beliefs in witches and their animal familiars, which were often said to take the form of domestic animals like cats.


▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞



Image Source

I've always heard of people that speak of lucky rabbits foot, yet haven't actually ever looked it up or experienced it in real life... Sooo I went and got this to explain to me and the other people that don't know:

Talismans and amulets are a time-honored way of fending off evil; consider the crosses and garlic that are supposed to keep vampires at bay. Rabbit feet as talismans may hark back to early Celtic tribes in Britain. They may also arise from hoodoo, a form of African-American folk magic and superstition that blends Native American, European and African tradition.


▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞


Knock on Wood? or Touch Wood?, both the same thing, and we have all used it sometime in our lives, me especially when I speak of Broken Bones.... My experience has probably never been effected on whether I actually touch wood or not, but there's no harm in trying... Right...

This phrase is almost like a verbal talisman, designed to ward off bad luck after tempting fate: "Breaking that mirror didn't bring me any trouble, knock on wood."


▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞


Cross Your Fingers they all say when you receive a test, this apparently boosts your luck to get better marks, or when you are in a race and you ask everyone to cross their fingers, In my mind I believe that this is actually a confidence booster in a sense that you know that people want you to achieve better, if you know what Im tryna say! XD XD XD

Those wishing for luck will often cross one finger over another, a gesture that's said to date back to early Christianity. The story goes that two people used to cross index fingers when making a wish, a symbol of support from a friend to the person making the wish. (Anything associated with the shape of the Christian cross was thought to be good luck.) The tradition gradually became something people could do on their own; these days, just saying "fingers crossed" is enough to get the message, well, across.


▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞



Image Credits

And last but certainly not least... Opening an Umbrella inside, I remember very clearly that my mom told me at a young age not to open an umbrella while indoors, or even under a roof... AND I BELIEVED HER, funny thing is that I still do believe her XD XD XD
I have no idea why people say this but...:

... And not just because you'll poke someone's eye out. Opening an umbrella indoors is supposed to bring bad luck, though the origins of this belief are murky. Legends abound, from a story of an ancient Roman woman who happened to have opened her umbrella moments before her house collapsed, to the tale of a British prince who accepted two umbrellas from a visiting king and died within months. Like the "don't walk under a ladder" superstition, this seems to be a case of a myth arising to keep people from doing something that is slightly dangerous in the first place.


▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞
▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞

IN THIS POST I ONLY SPOKE OF THE 'BAD LUCK ONES' SUPERSTITIONS, except for cross your fingers and the Lucky Rabbits foot


▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞
▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞


Some of my other Posts:

-Another day on the bike, ruined

-Rain has its Perks, and its querks...!

-My Worst NIGHTMARE Came True...

-Inspirational Content Right Here!!

-My Experience at a Race/Fun Ride!


▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞
▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞ ▞



One more thing, remember:

NEVER GIVE UP!!!!


Thanks for reading my post, stay tuned for more posts like this ! be sure to check out my funny posts aswell which I try to post daily along with this one, UPVOTE THIS POST AND ALL MY OTHERS ASWELL, It really helps and \///,.-~´¨¯¨FOLLOW ME HERE´¨¯¨·~-.,** \///

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68541.87
ETH 3868.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63