Vegan Super Bowl Meal: Shoutout to @moonunit for the MVP Recipe!

in #superbowl7 years ago

Hello again!  For those of you who don't know, there was kind of a big football game in the US last night. ;)  For most of us here that means you get together with friends and family, drink lots of beer, and eat ungodly amounts of unhealthy food.  Besides the fact that I couldn't care less about the game, this year I really did not feel like being a part of that unfortunate tradition.  I'll indulge here and there, but more and more it really is not worth it to me because I feel so terrible afterwards.  Instead I decided to make a somewhat more elaborate meal at home for @dksart and I that still felt a little bit festive.

As an aside, I had also been thinking for a while to start making it a point to cook some of the amazing recipes that my Steemit buddies share on here!  You guys post some really delicious creations.  I am not sure if I'll be able to keep it up every week, but I would like to make a point at least a few times a month to give a little plug for someone by trying a recipe and doing a write up of it.  Ideally I would like to try to make sure it is on a post that is still able to be upvoted, but if nothing else I know the more we all share each other's stuff the more our vegan community grows!

So my plug today goes to a fairly new Steemian: @moonunit!  It is kind of funny that the main part of my Super Bowl meal actually came from a guy from Ireland. ;)  His vegan tempeh ribs were as finger-licking good as he described them!  Here are the two different variations: https://steemit.com/superbowl/@moonunit/my-superbowl-lii-firecracker-rib-recipe-is-sure-to-be-a-winner and https://steemit.com/superbowl/@moonunit/my-superbowl-lii-cracked-black-pepper-rib-recipe-just-incase-the-firecracker-is-too-hot

I made both recipes since @dksart likes spicy, but I'm a little less fond of too much heat--so one for each of us.  I made just a few adjustments based on what I have in my pantry.  I used coconut sugar for both instead of brown sugar, and I dropped it to 3 tablespoons.  I subbed in a tablespoon of blackstrap molasses to make up for the sweetness.  I also omitted the vegan butter on the cracked black pepper recipe to keep mine oil-free.  And for good measure I tossed in about four ounces of sliced mushrooms with each, because mushrooms go with everything.

Oh. My. Goodness.  They are so delicious!  Who cares if there's not another Super Bowl for a year, make these now!  They were ridiculously easy to put together, too, so I am always for simple recipes (it means I will actually make it again).  I can imagine these would be a great option for a summer BBQ, and your omnivore friends probably wouldn't even realize they are totally vegan!  Great job on these @moonunit!

I also put together the baked onion rings from the "How Not to Die Cookbook".  They took a little bit of work with battering and breading, but boy were they worth it!  Another awesome totally plant-based and healthy re-creation of a normally totally gut-busting treat.  Completely oil-free, but they still came out crispy and delicious.  Do you think I made enough for the two of us? ;)

To finish out the meal with a little bit of color and a cruciferous veggie, I made my warm cabbage and onion recipe I shared a while back.  It is easy to put together and it added a little bit of acidity to the meal.  I also needed to bump up my intake of leafy greens for the day, so I made it into a salad!  Though it may not have been a traditional spread, it was a thoroughly satisfying meal.  Plus I didn't wake up this morning with a disgusting food hangover!

If this looks tasty to you, go give @moonunit some love on his recipe posts!



Sort:  

It was between the Jets & the Giants, right? XD

All this looks super tasty. The perfect finger foods!

Haha, for all I care it could have been any of those teams! ;)

I posted my recipes for superbowl as well, however, I think mine were a little heavier. Wish I would have seen this post first, this looks delicious! I'm super excited to start following someone who also posts vegan dishes! I am going to try your warm cabbage and onion recipe today, thank you for the post!

Awesome! Maybe next year I'll actually post ahead of time instead of waiting until after the event. ;) Thanks for checking it out! There is a large group of amazing vegan bloggers on here, so welcome to the club.

Thank you! Happy to be a part of it :-)

I think @moonunit's recipe turned out great! So nice you made it!

It was delicious! Just as good for lunch today, too. :)

Dem leftovers though!

They look great... unfortunately I can't eat soy :( Always messes with my hormones. Last year we tried to watch a little bit of the super bowl because one of our American friends convinced us it is an amazing happening... I honestly don't get it though.... and it takes so long....

That's a bummer you can't eat any tempeh! I bet the sauce would be delicious on some jackfruit or something else. 😁

Yeah, I am much more excited about the Olympics than the Super Bowl! I can follow sports for a few weeks, then I'm good until the summer games in two years. 🤣

Well the good thing is that we can't find tempeh here and I actually never liked the taste of soy products... soy sauce is the only thing I use because it is in small amounts... so much other great foods to eat!

Yep--we have so many wonderful foods to find the ones that make us feel our best! 😀

Delicious! :)

Thanks dear. ;)

Yum! I will have to try this! Thanks @moonunit!

Obviously I highly recommend it! :)

More than welcome @kauliflowerkayla. I do hope you enjoy them. I certainly do and any of my omni mates loved them too. Marinade overnight for richer flavour. They are fantastic if I do say so.

Wow! That looks delicious 😋!

The tempeh was fantastic, so you should definitely give it a try if you get a chance!

Thanks a million @plantstoplanks, I am so happy to hear that they worked out for you and you enjoyed them so much. I haven't yet had a person who doesn't like them! Well maybe the spicy ones can be a bit too much for some but other than that always well received.

Genuinely can't thank you enough for the post. Really nice of you to give me such a glowing shout out.

Lets keep this Vegan revolution moving!

Absolutely! Happy to spread the word!🤗🤗

That looks so delicious :) And those onion rings :D <3

I can't say I'll make them often, but they were really good! They even kept well overnight to eat today, as it made way too much for the two of us to polish off in one sitting. :)

Can I come over??? Not a football, but I sure could eat this mouth watering feast. LOL!!!

We really didn't watch the game anyway, it was just a good excuse to cook some fun stuff! I need another excuse because it was a delicious meal!

Ohhhhh, that would cool with me too, lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60030.46
ETH 2413.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43