My Superbowl LII FireCracker Rib Recipe is sure to be a winner!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #superbowl7 years ago (edited)

With the #superbowl just around the corner I figured now was a good time to do up my FIRE CRACKER rib recipe for the #Steemit #USA Family.

Ribs, Ribs, Ribs. I used to like ribs but I hated the fact that they were so much work. Who would have thought that a Vegan alternative is actually easier to make, tastes better, eat, and is much better for you, the planet and obviously the animals? Step in Tempeh. So, what the hell is tempeh? Tempeh is made from cooked and slightly fermented soybeans and formed into a patty, sounds delicious right? Well on its own, no, it is not tasty, you need to think of it, like most soy products, Tofu etc. as a canvas, one that can soak up some serious flavours and hold up well to stirring and cooking.

Enough of the explaining what it is and on to how you can make some seriously tasty "Ribs" for your Superbowl party!! or Tuesday breakfast, I am not here to judge!

Firecracker ribs! (not for the faint hearted)

Ingredients:

  • 1 Block of Tempeh (400g for this recipe)
  • 5 Tbsp Soft dark brown sugar,
  • 3 Tbsp light soy sauce,
  • 6 Tbsp tomato Ketchup,
  • 1/2 tsp Cumin,
  • 1 Tsp Fresh ground black pepper,
  • 1/2 Tsp Nutmeg,
  • 2 Tbsp Veg stir fry sauce,
  • 1 Tsp Paprika,
  • 1 Tsp Garlic granules,
  • 3 Tbsp Sriracha hot chilli sauce
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar.

Method:

  1. Add sugar, soy sauce, stir fry sauce and ketchup to a pot. Heat until sugar is melted through the other liquids, approx 3 min on med heat.
  2. Stir in the remaining dry spices and mix well keeping on heat. stir through for 2 min more.
  3. Add the Sriracha and apple cider vinegar and heat through stirring all the time (take in that nostril burning smell too) .
  4. Chop the tempeh in half (length ways) and then in to 3/4" wide "ribs". You can also puncture the ribs with a fork to allow even more of the flavour in, just don't go all Ted Bundy on them and you'll be fine!
  5. Add the "ribs" to the pot and coat thoroughly in the Fire cracker sauce.
  6. Spoon out the "ribs" into a storage container and any extra sauce from the pot. Cover and leave to marinade overnight to absorb the spiciness! The longer the better.
  7. To cook, remove from the fridge and place in a non stick pan, the smaller the better to keep the ribs covered in sauce while cooking. Cover with foil and place on middle shelf at 180 Deg C for 35 - 40 min.

Serving:

As these are "Ribs" I suggest serving with a cold beer! just get in there with your fingers. It gives you a good reason to suck your fingers when your finished!! These are quite filling too so you will want to share them, good excuse to have friends around.

Just incase these Ribs are too hot or spicy, why not try my cracked black pepper ribs instead, they are milder but just as tasty.

If you want a big eat check out my Deep Pan Pizza its seriously filling and dairy and meat free!

Should you want to have a dessert too why not go for this cheeseless cake

LIKE WHAT YOU SEE?

Sort:  

Your tempeh ribs look delicious 🤤 I can't find tempeh where I live, only tofu.

I am sure the fire cracker sauce would work great as a tofu marinade, I'll give it a try!

I love anything with sriracha in 🌶🔥

Oh if you are using it in a sir fry just add about 200 ml of water to thin it out a bit other than that it will get very stick too quick and could burn on the wok.

Thanks for checking it out too.

I wish I would have all the ingredients to make this right now! Sounds delicious. Maybe it will be my new favorite way to eat Tempeh - I definitely must agree that by itself Tempeh is not the most tasty piece of food to eat! 😅

They are most certainly not for the faint hearted, the vinegar really ads to the chilli burn! Oh its fantastic. I have another BBQ version that is milder. I'll pop that one up during the week.

Oh, yeah tempeh on its own is pretty bland, I always remember eating steamed chicken breast and thinking they where quite similar in their blandness! But Tempeh takes the flavours much better than the chicken.

Nice one for checking it out too man, appreciate it. 👍👍

Oh they are delish! Nice n spicy, just the way I like em! If you do try them out please let me know how you get on.

i never tasted it but i have wish after seeing this :)

Thanks for checking it out, If you like spicy these are just fantastic!

yes i like spicy :)
Follow me @hamza77

Dude, you come on, make 2 small comments, don't even vote then tell me to follow you! Does that sound reasonable to you?

bro i really apologize for that but my voting power is low and trying to increase it :)
I again sorry for that :)

Voting power looks good to me man 100%. much higher than mine 68%.

I have upvoted man :)
Thanks now follow me @hamza77

That looks sooo delicious :) Thank you for sharing the recipe :)

Thank you Nicole for checking them out. Keep an eye out for my cracked black pepper recipe later for the non spice loving friends.

You post such delicous meals Derek, I want them all right now! Thanks for sharing some more dinner inspo!;)
Love, Niina

oh you are very welcome Niina. If you like spicy these are great finger food, plus you get to eat with your hands and make a big mess. I'll be doing up my black pepper ribs later on today.

I love tempeh!! I will definitely have to give this one a go. I don't really care too much about the game, but might be nice to make some yummy treats like this just because! Great recipe!

Thanks a million, yeah I'd be the same to be honest. But any excuse for yummy food and I'm there! There is a nice afterburn to these too.

Thanks ks for checking it out.😊

I think I am about due to have a week where I cook only recipes from Steemit! :) I haven't done it before, but I think it would be fun to try it out and write about it!

For sure, it's a super idea. Go for it!

Please follback @moonunit
Thanks 😊

Hey @Afriadi, thanks for the resteem, I hope you enjoy the recipe.

Okay,please help me for upvote 😊
@moonunit

there you go buddy 2 votes, thanks again.

Okay,help me please bro 😊

This post has received a 0.87% upvote from thanks to: @moonunit.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.100 SBD to bid for votes.


Do you know, you can also earn daily passive income simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper by clicking following links: 10SP, 100SP, 500SP, 1000SP or Another amount

This post has received a 1.75 % upvote, thanks to: @moonunit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60005.26
ETH 2409.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43