Inadvertently Monochrome for Fruits and Veggies Monday! Cooked Cabbage & Red Onion Recipe

It is already Monday again, which means it's time for #fruitsandveggiesmonday hosted by the ever-fabulous @lenasveganliving!  This contest gets bigger and bigger each week, which is awesome to see the message of healthy foods continuing to spread across the Steemit universe. :)

I didn't realize until I was getting together my recipe and photos for this post that I think I might have hit some #monochromemonday notes, as well.  Of course my refrigerator is full of all different colors, but today I will share with you some of my gems this week that are in the red/purple family.  These lovelies all came together for a side dish of cooked cabbage.

Deeply colored foods like this tend to be high in antioxidants, this color family specifically has more resveratrol--which is linked to heart health.  Antioxidants also help the immune system to fight free radicals.  Cabbage is excellent for gut health with all of it's wonderful fiber.

I was particularly taken with how lovely my cabbage was this week when I peeled off the top few layers of leaves.  The veining looked a bit like fish scales to me!

Even my garlic had a hint of purple.  We are loading up on garlic this week to keep our immune systems strong.  With all of the holiday parties @dksart and I have been to, we're hoping we don't catch anyone's cooties when we still have lots of celebrating to do.  Eating well definitely helps your body fight off colds, and I feel like even if I do catch a little something I fight it off much quicker when my nutrition is at its best!

In the summer time I like to eat a lot of raw cabbage slaw, but this time of year I just crave warm foods.  I am going to make some bean burgers and root veggie mash to go with this today, so this is a great side to make sure you get some color on your plate!

Cooked Cabbage & Red Onion

  • 1 red onion, quartered & sliced
  • 1 head of red cabbage, cored & roughly chopped
  • 4-5 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon white miso, mixed with 1/4 cup warm water to dissolve
  • 1 tablespoon grainy mustard or whatever variety you prefer (we had a fancy truffle mustard I got as a gift)

Place your onions in a large stock pot over medium heat.  Cook for about 5 minutes, or until starting to soften.  Add a few splashes of water as needed to prevent sticking.

Next add garlic and oregano.  Cook for just a minute to release the flavors.  Stir in your remaining ingredients (cabbage, vinegar, miso mixture & mustard).  Reduce heat to low, partially cover and let simmer for 30 minutes or until the cabbage is softened to your liking, stirring occasionally.

Taste and add extra mustard or vinegar if you want a little extra kick.

Have a great week guys!



Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 14:13:23
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 28.40/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 8
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I am so making this today! I happened to have one huge cabbage sitting in the refrigerator! Thank you for the recipe..

You are so good with measurement, me, NOT SO GOOD! I cook with my eyes, crazy crazy me, lol...

Haha, I'm usually only really good when I know I want to share a recipe! Otherwise, I am the same...pinch of this, dash of that. ;)

I have never tried cabbage and red onion sound sinteresting I may have to try it

I know a lot of times red onion is used raw, but I like it cooked, as well. :)

I like it both ways as well but hadn’t tried it like this recipe

Oh, the cabbage has such wonderful patterns! I really love it. This sounds like something that I would love.

I also have a huge head in my refrigerator and this sounds perfect to go with it. I have never actually cooked the red onions, so this will be a first for me!

Thanks again for the recipe!

For such a humble vegetable, cabbage really is quite lovely to look at sometimes! Let me know if you try it. :)

Oh yes, the beautiful purple colors and the yummy cabbage salad. I also make it often and I have couple of recipes, which one of them is with miso as well.

Very insightful entry again my Dear, thank you so much 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓

Thank you dear Lena! I am trying to use more miso as there are supposed to be a lot more benefits to counteract the sodium, plus it does have a slightly different flavor than sea salt to add some depth to dishes.

That cabbage kinda looks like a purple brain. You inspire me to eat healthier!
This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by @chelsea88 (not a bot)

It definitely looks like a brain on the inside! I am happy to make healthy food look good. :)

Oh my dog! We both posted Purple family veggies! Lol
Yummy I have to this recipe! Thank so much for sharing it!

I think you're at least the third person I've been on the same wavelength as this week! I guess we're all on the same healthy train of thought. 🤣

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOUR WELL-EARNED AWARD!
4.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68703.91
ETH 2503.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54