Raspberry, White Chocolate and Macadamia nut cheeselesscake. Dairy and egg free, 100% yummy!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Ok so we know that I love cake, we know that I visit fatsville from time to time. But I am also Vegan, I dont want to miss out on anything. I don't want you to miss out on anything either. I want to be able to show everyone that being Vegan is not only a kinder way to live but its also better for you, and the planet. What better way to do that than with cake?

I have created a fruity, chocolatey and creamy cake that is dairy and egg free, so no animals were harmed in the making of this cake.

Ingredients:

Base:

  • 200 g Oat biscuits
  • 100 g Macadamia nuts
  • 60 g vegan spread, (optional)

Filling:

  • 200g of pre-soaked cashews, preferably overnight.
  • 1 can or 400ml of full fat coconut milk.
  • 60g Coconut oil.
  • 1 tsp agar agar
  • 125g fresh raspberries
  • 50g of Vegan white chocolate buttons
  • 60 ml agave nectar

Method

  1. Add the biscuits and Macadamia nuts to your food processor and blend until you reach the consistency below.
  2. Melt the Vegan spread in a bowl. (if you're omitting the spread leave this and the next step out)
  3. Take a large mixing bowl and add the biscuit and walnut crumble, then add the melted spread. Combine well until the biscuit is forming clumps.
  4. Take a 10" pie tin (with removable sides) and line the bottom with the biscuit and macadamia nut crumble, pack it down well.
  5. Bake the base at 180 Deg C for 10 min. ( you don't have to do this, but I find that it gives a nice crunch to the base)
  6. Add cashews, coconut milk to blender and blend until smooth.
  7. Melt the coconut oil with the agar agar mixed in. (microwave for 1 min, mix well and microwave for 1 more min. Make sure its combined well) add to the blender and blend again.
  8. Add all but 12 of the raspberries to the blender and blend again
  9. Chop up all but 12 of the white chocolate buttons and the agave then add to the blender and blend again
  10. Pour over the biscuit base
  11. Decorate with the remaining raspberries and white chocolate buttons
  12. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours to let it set.

Serving:

I served with a raspberry coulis, but you could serve with a vanilla dairy free ice cream or a coconut whipped cream and a strong black coffee. I will have to do up a better picture, this one was done in a rush!

LIKE WHAT YOU SEE?
Sort:  

I often make "cheesecake" with cashew and coconut milk but I never use macadamia nuts for base. Great idea! 👍

Oh, I am always trying different nuts mixed in to the base. Almond with vanilla is a great combo too.

I find the oiler the nut the less vegan butter you need.

Thanks for checking it out. I see you have a Vegan account too. Following you now.

Almonds are perfect to raw cake!

Yes, I am enthusiastic about vegan, gluten free and sugar free food ;))

Ooh, I don't know if I've seen the vegan white chocolate anywhere that I can think of offhand. White chocolate and raspberry is a heavenly combination, though!

You could use something like this one http://ichoc.de/en/white_vanilla/ Not sure about US brands though. I'd bet you can get them no problem.

Tesco here do white choc buttons too, they are the ones that I used.

I'm sure I can find some if I really looked. :)

I'll say nothing.😉

wtf dude? raspberry, white chocolate AND macadamia? I think you're killing it with this cake! I would do a lot to try this now! :)

Oh yeah, it's delish! But not heavy like cheese cake. The macadamia nut base really adds to it. I love to try different bases on the cakes, It can really change the flavour pallet.

Thanks for checking it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60191.71
ETH 2410.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43