The Old Dog Asks: Is Red at Night Really a Sailor's Delight?

in #sunthursday7 years ago

Most children can remember learning the little phrase:

"Red sky at night sailor's delight! (or substitute  shepherd for sailor)

Red sky in the morning sailor's warning!" (or substitute  shepherd for sailor)

I've been saying this in my head for decades but is it true and where did the saying start?


This is another shot taken from my balcony. It was a sunset, does that mean that the next day was beautiful?

What Are The Origins of The Saying!

  • For thousands of years man had to rely on personal experience and observations and not on forecasts!
  • These sayings were especially important in sailing and agriculture.
  • The saying has likely been passed on by word of mouth
  • A variation of it appears in the Bible in Matthew 16:2-3 showing that it was common over 2,000 years ago!

Is The Saying Backed Up By Science?

To a great degree these sayings are backed up by science and can be relied on as indicators of weather patterns.


  • When the sky is red at night it means that the sun's light is reaching us through a high concentration of dust particles. This scatters the blue light and leaves just the red light in the sky. This indicates that high pressure and stable air is coming from the west and good weather will follow.


  • A red sky at sunrise could mean that a high pressure system has already passed and that a storm from low pressure may be heading to the east! If the morning sky is fire red it could indicate that there is a high water content in the atmosphere so rain is on the way!


I hope that you enjoyed this article for Sun Thursday which explores an ancient saying. 



Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)


Sort:  

wow shot!

Thanks a lot!

Thanks for another piece of excellent work.

I have always enjoyed science and weather. This saying has also been part of my life since I moved to the West Coast where I used to windsurf a lot. Thus, this saying came my way very early on my staying here and still rings true with me as well.

The weather observations and forecasts where usually based out of what my ancestors were sharing with me, namely my grand-father Boucher who had grown in the woods and spent most of his time out there in all seasons and weather, rain or shine, snowing or hailing. He was a very very tough man and taught me many rudiments of weather forecasting, including this one as well!

Thanks again for sharing this knowledge and allowing us more healthy connections. Namaste :)

The older generation had a lot of knowledge!

Amazing. I t looks like it was re-touched somehow!

Whether that red sky is a "delight" or a "warning" it is beautiful. Thank you for sharing this and making our day better because of it! Upvoted 100% for you!

Thanks so much @terrybrock!

You betcha, kus-knee

Wow! That's so beautiful. Stunned !!! We believe there is, if the sunset is red, then the next day will be cold weather.

Yes it is stunning. Thanks!

Though the old humanity didn't have the scientific research and tools as of today, but they were equally intelligent and their power to draw conclusions based on continuous observations were quite strong. Such sayings came from continuous observations for generations and based on high chances of probability.
What about Weather Channels today, still not certain but highly probable.

Another thing, the older people have lot of leisure time we lack today, so they were more spiritual as they got more time to be closer to themselves. Many of them took advantage of it and went deep inside themselves.
"JO Brehmande, Soi Pinde"
JO - Whatever
Brehmande - Universe
Soi - Same power
Pinde - Our Body

In English "Whatever runs the vast Universe, same power is inside our body"

How somebody told it 500 years ago?

You're right. In our fast paced society we can easily lose touch with our spirituality. We need to make the time!

I don't know where will it stop, but since I started to note my kids have lesser personal time than me when I was in their age.

Great comment! @mathworksheets

Love, being the greatest gift in life, it is of my opinion that a close (yet increasingly difficult thing to acquire) second is the leisure to enjoy and share that love with others. <3

~may all hatred cease...let there be peace~

Thanks a lot @cryptologyx.
"Love, being the greatest gift in life, it is of my opinion that a close (yet increasingly difficult thing to acquire) second is the leisure to enjoy and share that love with others. <3

~may all hatred cease...let there be peace~"

Each word above is a pearl!

That's very kind of you to say so @mathworksheets

~smiles fer miles~ Thank you so much...that felt good!

Thanks a lot for your so blissful conversations @cryptologyx. God Bless You dear brother.

My dear @mathworksheets , I have had many conversations with many Steemians since joining two weeks ago. I apologize if I have forgotten another with you. My memory fails me. Therefor I feel I'm less than blissful at this time.

I will take such blessing gladly though. :-)

namaste

Dear @cryptologyx, just see the parent of the comment above my reply, you will find yours. Have a great and wonderful Canada Day Long Weekend my dear brother.
Namaste!

ahhh I see what you mean, I did see that earlier. Your words touched me purely. Was my confusion.

Thank you again for the kind words and well wishes. Tomorrow is a rest day.

~be~

I'm amazed that all over the world there's a similar saiyng! Through all the italian peninsula they say : "rosso di sera, bel tempo si spera" (redlight in the evening, hoping for a good weather). The scientific explanation is really interesting, and it shows that sometimes the ancient saying are correct!

A lot of knowledge has been lost!

Amazing quality :) Once you see beautiful sunsets and sunrises, you get addicted to 'em after you've been indoors for quite a while. This is exactly the reason I love Hawaii, California, Florida, etc. You can wake up early and witness some incredible stuff. Helps with depression so much!

Yes, we need to take the time to enjoy them!

it on top of the hill right? it will be nicer if shoot with DSLR

I'm at about 800 meters! I do need a better camera!

perhaps.. u should owe ones.. no regret if u like photos.. im not pro, but i owe ones as the image is much more delicious with DSLR.

tomorrow is the best day to go out. ask the seller if he can used SBD as paymentt.
hahahaha

Great view

Yes indeed!

You must have a great balcony, with this view...As I would always stand on the balcony and take pictures. 😁

Yes, I've featured many shots from our balcony. Amazing views!

Loved it thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63802.69
ETH 3413.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55