Suicide is a Truly Dark Dark PlacesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #suicide7 years ago

I read the post the other night about the death of @lauralemons. I didn’t know her real well, I did come across her on the site on occasion. Enjoyed her posts and very much appreciated the raw edge to some of her writing. That takes courage.


Source

I grew up in a generation where suicide was very much hush-hush. There was a taboo on acknowledging someone having committed suicide or talking about the person. It was like by the person choosing to end their life, their existence was snuffed out of history.

When my husband was dying, I had never had to deal with the death of a person close to me. I was at a loss on how to support and help him. This being pre-internet times I started calling organizations.

I was put in touch with a lady who then put me in touch with a chaplain at a hospital who specialized in the terminally ill and their families.

In our first conversation she had startled me by asking about what I needed to support my dealing with his death. To me, it was all about him, I was the one who wasn’t going any where. She asked me to stay in touch, which I did. We’re still in touch some thirty years later as she became a friend.

She was into suicidology and would work with communities and organizations teaching about suicide, intervention and aftermath. Over the course of several years, we’ve had many conversations on the subject.

For some time I operated a support chat room on the IRCs for those dealing with child abuse issues. People in there would often identify as depressed or suicidal. I often would discuss situations with her and get her input.

It can be terrifying dealing with someone who is actively suicidal and you don’t have enough information about the person to send emergency services to them.

I had one situation where I had a phone number for the person. I was on chat with her and she suddenly left the keyboard. I had a gut feeling something was seriously wrong. When I couldn’t raise her on the keyboard, I finally called. We had a brief, very awkward conversation and she promised to return to the keyboard.

At this point, she had not indicated she was suicidal, it was just a gut feeling for me. After she returned to the keyboard, we continued to talk until she said her husband was home and she had to get him supper.

It was a few days later before she admitted to me that she was in the kitchen when I called, holding their handgun deciding where she was going to kill herself. She returned to the keyboard only because my call caused her to hesitate. It was enough until her husband came home and she confessed what she was feeling to him.

We are still friends.

My first offline encounter with suicide was soon after I became Legion President for the first time, around 1990. A Korea war veteran member of the branch had hung himself. His brother-in-law, another veteran member, appeared at my door and asked if a service could be held for him at the branch.

My response was, of course. He then told me that he would not be allowed to be buried in the church cemetery because he had committed the mortal sin of suicide. I was startled, I’d never heard of such a thing. It was pretty common though. I contacted the branch chaplain and explained the situation. We set the service up.

We included the Legion tribute in the service which is a file past of all Legion members in attendance where we pause at the casket or the picture of the deceased, pay our respects and lay a poppy in remembrance. His tribute included the members of the Korea Veterans Association in attendance as well.

The chaplain had asked me when she arrived how she should address the suicide issue. My response was that it was up to the family. The branch is to work with the family, not direct the family.

When we were about ready to start, I asked the chaplain what the family’s response was. She said the family wanted nothing said. I nodded.

As the tribute drew to a close, the chaplain leaned toward me and whispered, “I really feel the elephant in the room needs to be addressed.” I agreed with her but didn’t comment, I responded that the spiritual was her domain, not mine.

Just before the service ended, she stepped up and stated she felt a need to talk about suicide. I held my breath, not sure how this was going to go.

She talked about how suicide is one of the hardest deaths to understand. That we can’t comprehend the dark dark place he was in and we can’t blame ourselves for not ‘seeing signs’ because there might not have been any. In the dark place he was, he believed he was doing the right thing by committing suicide. It doesn’t make sense to those not in that dark place but, it made sense to him.

I watched the family as she spoke. Some never wavered on their expressions, some I could see nodding slightly. The veterans present showed signs of restlessness.

When the service ended I sent the chaplain to explain herself to the family while the rest of the assembled retired to the next room for a luncheon. Several of the veterans present came to me and remarked they were not happy with the chaplain.

When the chaplain returned from talking to the family, she reported they were relieved it was out in the open and that the clergy present had not condemned their departed loved one.

That was back then. These days, people are slowly becoming more open about suicide. Canada lost 158 soldiers in combat in Afghanistan. We’ve lost that many and more to suicide as the result of PTSD developed from service in Afghanistan and other conflicts.

There are no magic ways of stopping suicide. We can try to reach out to the person in pain and most importantly getting them the help of professionals. We can be sensitive and willing to listen but, ultimately, something needs to connect inside the person so they can hold on even another day or week.

To give themself a chance to climb out of that dark dark place.



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.

If you’d like to join my curation trail on Streemian, please click here


Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

nice. great post

This is a very important subject @shadowspub and I thank you for bringing it.

I have had PTSD all my life and I really wanted to die. The funny thing was because of religious reasons (or that what I thought then) I wouldn't allow myself to commit active suicide, so I unconsciously developed a psychosomatic condition which I am trying to get over now.

Thankfully, my life changed (by actively trying to change it to more positive) and I am no longer thinking of myself as being worthless and wish to die.

I never had any family support. Actually, where I come from, depression is considered a taboo, let alone addressing PTSD. So in my case it was probably God or the angels or something else that made me seek a different route and different people for support (Which I received by the loads, thankfully)

However, I still feel that I can understand those who didn't have any of that and ended up choosing that path.

I only wish I could reach to as many of them to help them, like I was helped.

I am now starting to work as a life coach precisely for that reason. To help vulnerable people feel more worth and support. To love themselves, even if they think they are not loved. To conquer their deepest negative blocks and move forward triumphant.

I live in Canada as well. So If you think I can be of help, please let me know. I will be more than happy to do so (even if just as a volunteer).

Many thanks for sharing such a hard subject.

thank you for sharing @theleapingkoala .... in many circles even talking about depression is like you're sharing some deep dark secret leaving many people struggling to find a helping hand.

Indeed true.
Thanks for the reply @shadowspub

suicide is crazy - I'm in the persuasion that people with suicidal tendency need real human connection - and the blocks of human connection are extensive and diverse. Thanks for posting didn't know about @lauarlemons

looking forward to reading along your blog

a suicidal person does need human connection. While face to face is ideal, for some, they are more likely to admit to feeling suicidal through a chat than face to face. Once the admission is made, it is important to get the person into professional help as soon as possible.

professional help is important in helping the person with some basic tools and the initial support - but i find those tools fall flat when not connected with life giving friends/family/community after some period of time...again I'm no professional but this is very much in my field and i speak from my experience...and could totally be wrong. Thankful for suicide dialogue on steem

you're right in that professional help doesn't and shouldn't replace the support of friends/family/community. The big difference between the two groups is the professional help in most cases has a lot more knowledge and counselling skills than the friends/family/community.

The person doesn't have to wonder if the professional understands where they are at. There is still a lot of apprehension and misinformation around about people who are suicidal. The most common being "oh they are just looking for attention"... well the person might be, but only because they are drowning in pain and want some help to get pulled towards some light.

totally its a pretty mixed bag - thanks for talking about this - love the dialogue and hope its helpful on this platform - threw the link to this article up on the post i put out this morning - thanks for being awesome

thank you for the additional exposure to my post and the dialogue you have added to it. I think this platform is a great venue for a lot of discussions, especially the tough ones.

Thank you for this.

Suicide is a touchy subject, but fact is, we need to talk more about it. That's it. Talk more about it.

I know it's tough, but we have to. We need to stop allowing the Feelings Police and the offended-by-everything people to think they should ironically get their way just because they're "triggered."

We need to talk about suicide. We do. We really do.

My dad died of ALS. He had a death sentence upon him for his last few years as he watched his body die. He became a really sad person who had nothing to look forward to in life.

Death... exists. I had to deal with it. I had to talk about it.

I have no real solutions here, but please, just say something. People do want to live. Let's talk about that too.

Thanks @shadowspub

yes, I agree.. the subject of suicide and for that matter death does need to be talked about in a more wholesome way.

And this may sound a bit hard-ass but it is not without feeling ... those who want to claim they are 'triggered' need to either get some help to really deal with the trigger or find some other discussion if they can't be an adult.

There are discussions that are difficult in life. We can choose to be 'triggered' and run from the discussion or feel the discomfort and talk anyways. It might actually help.

I don't think you're being a hard-ass. The internet has allowed the The Feelings Police to exist and that's rubbish.

To be offended is one thing. To be shielded from pain all your life is another.

So yes... Suicide. Let's talk about it. Talk. That's all.

For the sole (ironic) fact that the psychological reasoning, as told to me by my friends who studied psychology, behind suicidal people is that those who are extremely quiet would be the ones to commit the deed while those who are making a big deal out of it won't do it.

The ones who does would just do it. That's scary.

It is very scary. Not so long ago one of the veteran members at the branch committed suicide. I was totally stunned by it for several reasons.

While he lived alone, he didn't lack a community of people who looked out for him, in fact we were preparing a party to celebrate his 90th birthday which would have been just days after his body was found.

His health and his cognitive abilities were very much in tact, yet those who had talked to him prior had heard him say several times that he wouldn't want to live if he couldn't care for himself. He was living on his own at the time of his death.

He shot himself which was even more of a surprise because I found it hard to believe this quiet, gentle soul even owned a gun.

We can never be too sure about where anyone's mind is. This fellow had talked about where his mind was, no one dreamed that he would act so far in advance of him even being in need of care. No one even believed he would act at all.

So, the assumption that those who talk about suicide are less likely to act than those who don't needs to be a very cautious assumption. If a person is talking about doing so and doesn't feel heard, then action becomes very possible.

Ahh okay. I was being flippant somewhat. I was referring more so to people who have threatened to kill themselves on social media. I've literally seen it on my feed and I could always call bullshit on that.

Man, sorry you had to hear about that.

For a 90 year old even...

people threatening to kill themselves on social media are really a minefield.

Some are real and only feel safe to articulate where they are at in what appears to be a safe space ... the phenomena of people telling strangers what they wont tell loved ones. They are usually looking for someone to reach out to them and offer a lifeline.

There are those who are really not contemplating suicide but feel that 'cry for help' will get noticed and reacted to more.

Then there are the sickos who think it's funny to get people upset by claiming to be suicidal.

It's hard to know who you are dealing with without the benefit of face to face connection.

Indeed.

I like to think our conversation here is at least a way of opening up the topic.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ShadowsPub from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This is a truly powerful article, thank you for addressing it fŕom your perspective. I have on occasion wished for death, so I understand the depth of the darkness that can propel a person to take their own lives.

Thank you for your honesty in sharing. It's difficult to judge sometimes when it is safe to do so without judgement.

Suicide has been a close part of my life... most of my life. On both sides of the table. At times-- in my teens, in my late 20s-- it was me; mostly it was other people. A friend of my mother's when I was about 10; at 16 a boy I knew in boarding school... I found him in the morning, hanging in the showers; my cousin... a couple of other friends.

Like you, I was a "sysop" on early chat boards-- psychology, anxiety support... we had elaborate protocols to run traceroutes and connect with local law enforcement through ISPs...

I didn't know Laura well, but I remember her as a creative and independent spark.

nice to encounter another former sysop ... at one point I also ran a bulletin board system and a network called Pathnet. It was interesting, to say the least.

That is a good description of Laura ... creative and independent spark.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.
Also - check out @reblogger, by reading this post.


Check out the other content resteemed by @resteembot.
Some of it is really cool!


This post has received a 3.01 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @shadowspub. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64629.11
ETH 2670.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81