Laura

in #suicide7 years ago (edited)


Depression is not easy. It's not fun. It's not romantic. Suicide is not a cowards action but an illness winning. She was so loved, she knew she was loved, she stayed alive for so long because she wanted to be there for others and she felt hope. The shitty part about depression is that it shadows hope. She was in pain, she was mentally and physically ill, her best friend passed away, and she was so alone. Over the past month she was displaying on and off again feelings of suicide. 6 days ago she wasn't suicidal. Tuesday she was. I don't feel like it's real, definitely don't want to believe that it's true. I miss her. People keep saying I look upset, I am. She deserved more than this world. She deserved to have a healthy life. Her best friend deserved to live. Being a part of her life, even for a short period of time I have been changed by her. I miss her and none of this is fair.

love.jpg
(it's not)

How To Help:

Donate Here to Help

sage.jpg

On the morning of September 7th we lost a phenomenal artist, friend and beautifully eccentric human being.

Laura Lemons has struggled with her health and depression for many years. On September 7th, she lost this battle and took her own life.

Because of her own challenging and traumatic background, Laura had no family or community support and now her friends are trying to come together to make sure that her final preparations are taken care of.

We're reaching out for support to help raise the funds necessary to have Laura cremated, handle post-mordem arrangements as she had requested, and organize a proper celebration of her life. Any and all contributions would be greatly appreciated and will allow us to memorialize Laura in a way that she deserves.

Please donate and share to help Sage.

Laura was a very close friend of mine. We became friends online in 2014, I had connected with her over the death of befine. She wasn't handling it well, I connected with her to share the kind words being spread about Befine in an online group. Together we joined a group online to talk openly about our trauma, mental illness, and our health. We became close during that time.

We have been through a lot together, even though it was online she was such a wonderful person I felt very very close to her. I wrote a letter after her death, then posted it online.

Dear @Lauralemons,

You were such an inspiration to me. I met you 3 years ago in a group. When the group turned on me, you stood by my side. When they came for you, I stood by your side. They knocked you down, right when you were beginning to get up. A year after the fiasco you bloomed into a powerful, thoughtful, and caring human being. You created art, beautiful, powerful moving art. You created friendships, strong, deep, and emotional friendships.

You let us into your life, you shared your story, and you gave an understanding to an illness many can't even comprehend. I know you were suffering. I helped you through some nights, I never regret responding to every message you sent. You taught me how to be more compassionate, to watch my words, and how to be a better artist.

I am sorry you had the life you had, it wasn't fair. The stories you have shared to this world have made my stomach turn, my heart ache, and some stories you've shared made me laugh, smile. I wish I could have taken away your pain.

I am sick of this health care system, I am sick that you couldn't get the help you deserved, I am sick that people hurt and abused you. I am proud of you and your accomplishments. I will never forget our friendship. I love you, I miss you, I hope you are finally pain-free.

Your friend,
Ronin Woods

Thank you to Steemit community for creating a platform where she could blog her life. Where she could be seen as the person she was. Thank you for helping a disabled woman make money, thank you for helping her live as long as she did.

More of her:
https://www.facebook.com/OfficialLauraLemons/
https://steemit.com/@lauralemons

fs.png

INTERNATIONAL SUICIDE HOTLINES

21371079_10154846679351709_8286426003078186946_n.jpg

Sort:  

Very sorry for you're loss. It's hard when you lose someone close.

Don't get caught to much into your own illusions and those of the others. God Bless

I'm very sorry for your loss. You must have been close. I hope you don't mind me asking but what made you want to take this photograph of her in grief?

I don't believe she took it. That looks like a webcam screenshot.

I was very close to her, unlike some of these posts. This photo was sent to me by one of her friends, I have a couple crying photos of my own in my messages but this was the most recent one. She took photos like this to help show how real and hard it is to have depression.

I didn't know her well but I only had to have a few conversations with her and observe her behaviour and resilience to bullying on steemit to know she was an incredible human being. I wish I had known her.

She was such an amazing and resilient human being. Laura and I bonded over our battles with chronic pain and mental illness. She got me started on steemit. I miss her too :( let me know if you ever want to talk. hugs

Congratulations @roninwoods! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67241.85
ETH 3492.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68