Series / Untitled #3

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Hey there guys and gals this is part 3 of my series I hope you enjoy it and if you haven't read part 1 or part 2 please check them out first :)


I'm not sure how long it's been, my visions blurry and my body is stiff, I can't move at all. What happened? I couldn't open my eyes properly, every time I did they'd be burnt shut by a bright white light. I wasn't even sure if I was standing or lying down... What was the last thing I remember? I regained a slight bit of my senses, I was lying down on a solid metal sheet. I lay there for a couple of hours just to think about what had happened only to realize when I finally opened up my eyes that I was trapped in a cage and that I was mostly frozen.

It would take a couple days to defrost... Where was I that I froze over?
I turned onto my side to get a better view of my surroundings, everything was black except for the blinding white light in the middle of the cage's ceiling. Ahhhh that's what happened, I was walking along a river that wasn't completely frozen. I remember falling in and freezing during the blizzard. But how'd I end up here?

Eventually after sometime someone opened what seemed to be a door in the distant right corner of the room, they were a heavy female or a medium sized male judging by the echo of their footsteps on the floor. They took about 20 steps before their silhouette became visible at the edges of the cage. I could vaguely make out what looked like an orange hazmat suit like those ones they had in the post-apocalyptic movies I watched as a teenager.

After a while of standing there and observing me a second silhouette, sounding even heavier, approached the edge of the cage and whispered to the first. I couldn't make out what they were saying just that it wasn't in English. The second silhouette moved over to the left side of the room and flipped a couple of switches which turned down the brightness of the light above me and turned on others within the room.

I could now clearly see everything around me, there was a long line of empty cage like compartments next to mine. Each compartment was about the size of a 5 by 5 meter room that was mostly vacant except for the masses of technology that aligned the walls, mine was the same. The rest of the massive room consisted of counters that snaked around the room and branched out in the midsection for more working space. Practically every centimeter of the counter tops were covered in notes, tools, microscopes and millions of sampling dishes and test tubes.
One area in particular caught my interest, there was a tool tray that held an assortment of vicious looking instruments that might be used on me in shortly.

I could now clearly make out what the two figure looked like. The first I had seen was a female in a plated orange hazmat suit, the suit must've been heavy, from what I could tell she had a petite form, if she was taller than five feet I would be surprised. The second was a male, his suit wasn't armored. He stood about two to three heads above the female, he had a broad shape but from what I could tell he was probably very muscular.
They both had name tags attached to the right sides of their chests, the writing was to small for me to read, my eyes had taken a beating after being frozen.

My mind was feeling a bit to overwhelmed, I could still feel ice particles in my head, it felt as if someone was injecting liquid nitrogen into my skull, I didn't feel much pain but my brain couldn't function properly, I passed out again.

I regained conscientiousness to find that I had been completely defrosted and was strapped down to a table, once again a blinding light hung above my head destroying my eyes even further. I presumed that the female from earlier stood next to me hovering above my head. She had a variety of different tools laid beside her, all of which I had seen in doctors' rooms as a child. She switched off the light and pointed a bright mini-flashlight into each of my eyes, probably checking if my irises would contract and relax, she then proceeded to jab me with a really thick needle-like tool that took out a tiny tubular portion of my flesh, she popped it into a test tube and gave it to an assistant that was standing a few counters away.
She then took a sample of my thick, gooey, black blood.

Then both she and the assistant left through a door to the left of me, I was left alone to stare at the ceiling and contemplate on what would happen to me in the time to come... This feels like the time that I had to go to the ER to get stitches in my right eyebrow. Those doctors also left me staring into nothing while they attended more serious patients. At the time I was only 17, I was walking through the school cafeteria when I tripped over my own foot and went head first into the corner of one of the lunch tables, there was blood all over the place, luckily there was only the lunch lady around so I saved myself some embarrassment. Not that any of that mattered now

After about an hour or two the woman that was sampling me came back and wheeled me back to my confinement. If this was how I spent the rest of my eternity then I'd rather have then burn me or put a bullet through my skull.

Every day it was the same thing, the only difference was that they injected me with a new colored chemical every second day, I felt like a lab rat. After about a month of this routine I noticed that I no longer felt as numb as always and I now could make out the hieroglyphs engraved on my "doctor's" name tag , I could also remember more and more from my past. The memories that now flowed within my head hurt more than the rest, it was some of the important things that happened while I was alive.
Every evening when everyone had left and the lights were all off I could virtually see each of the memories play before me, I was dead but I felt like I was being haunted.


enter image description here
Image Credits

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed! If you did and want to hear more you can follow me here ^-^ <(^~^<)

Sort:  

I upvoted this and also resteemed :)

how do you add the hyperlink for the other parts of your story?

[text] (url) but without the space in between

Your story is really drawing me in now. I'm starting to have hope that the zombie is starting to turn more human, with better senses and memories. The question is, is it possible to turn some things that are horrible and sad, back to what was? A question to ponder........ Cabbagepatch

very true indeed, we shall have to see what happens

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59304.77
ETH 2534.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41