Series(maybe a light read someday) / Untitled#1

in #story7 years ago (edited)

enter image description here
Image Credits


Standing here, the rain beating down on my numb skin, it feels like I've walked alone for what seemed a millennia ,I've hobbled along with my back to front leg, I've watched with my cold dead eyes, Written all over the walls by the living, I wonder why they spent their time tormenting us.

I had been wondering for so long, I'd forgotten who I was -mainly because most of my brain had decomposed. It all started what seemed like a regular humans life time ago, people like me and you all started to get sick...

It started in the labs then worked it way to the homes, it came from infected medication and from the "deceased's" bones

I was only 20 at the time, I worked at a shopping center packing items in plastic bags, it wasn't all guns and glory for me but it ment I got to eat...

Now the only work I do is limping around looking for any humans that may be off guard.

If I think hard enough, scratch around in my deepest compartments of my mind that still remain I believe I've been wondering around for almost 60 years, I wish my life would've ended when I was infected.
It would've made life simple, I wouldn't be walking around like a mindless zombie looking for the next human to prey on (I thought this was pretty contradictory to the fact that that is exactly what I am).

What was more contradictory was my urges to have social interaction with humans, the muscles around my face were all deteriorated and destroyed even if there was one out there that would speak to me the only thing I could do is conjure up a moan. hell I'm not even sure if my trachea are still open, I haven't used my lungs in so long.

I discovered I didn't need air when I was sitting atop a very old rotten pier while staring at one of the most breath taking sunsets I had ever seen. The wood caved in and I ended up landing in the ocean in an area about 10 meters deep, I stood at the bottom for a while, just gazing at the fish and all the life that surrounded me, until little minnows started to pick at my flesh.

It took me more than a week to get all the salt water out of my lungs, I couldn't stand the weight and the sloshing sound I had while walking around, it was really uncomfortable and made my already disables legs even harder to use.

now that I come to think about it... Why are my legs so spastic? On my way to a new coastal city I had this question on my mind. Just Imagine if they worked properly, I wouldn't have to ambush my prey anymore, I'd actually be able to chase after and catch them...

After a couple hours of walking I noticed that there was nothing but beach sand, shear cliffs, the occasional deer and tall grass around. I wish in my living life time I would've been able to enjoy this scenery.

I had never even been to the beach while I was alive (I think), I new that I loved water because I would spend so much time at the public swimming pools and water parks, that much I could remember.

Finally the horizon started to disfigured and my very frail eyes could vaguely see the silhouette of a town just a few more hours I told myself. It was dusk now and I could see a sliver of light coming from the town, are there humans there? might as well start learning to speak. I wheezed in an attempt to laugh at my own joke.

I approached the town with caution, only to find that everything except for the town center was completely vacant. There was an extremely high wall around in about a square kilometer radius with massive gates and barbed wire all over the place, I'd learnt from previous experience that barbed wire sucks, I got ensnared in a bundle of it a couple years back and was stuck there for several weeks until another of my mindless comrades helped me out. After hours of growling and groaning, losing pieces of my already tattered clothing he managed to pull me free and walked off.

I never got to thank him properly...


TAKE NOTE

CHAPTER OR PART TWO ARRIVING WHEN I FEEL LIKE IT ☺ I also have no idea as to what I should title this series as so I would like some feed back to help me I'll leave a special mentions to the person that comes up with the best name

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed! If you did and want to hear more you can follow me here ^-^ <(^~^<)

Sort:  

Nice!!

I like your story. I will wait for the next chapter or part 2. Followed and upvoted your post.

Keep it up.. I'm going to continue reading..

Voted n followed~:) look forward seeing more works

Very nice!

@xxsenpaixsamaxx: Well i might try suggesting: "Confessions of a Zombie within"

It's good but not quite what I'm looking for :)

Nice one keep up the good work

In a way it is sad because the zombie is seeking social contact but can't because of his outcast situation. He has longings and regrets. He is lonely with feelings but is an outcast to humans. Your story is like "The perspective of a seeking outcast", wandering and searching, but never finding.

This is only the intro, we'll see where the story is taken... Thank you for reading :)

It's a wonderful read. Look forward to more. Suggestion for a title: Transient Thoughts Everlasting

I like it, but it's a little too complicated, I think as soon as I've introduce the reader to the story a little more they'll be able to give a suiting title :) thank you for reading 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58793.48
ETH 2508.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44