Series / Untitled #2

in #story7 years ago

Hey everyone this is part two of my new series, I still don't have a name for it yet so if you would like to give some suggestions I'd appreciate it :)


If you didn't read part one click here to be magically transported to it ;)


This massive wall that stood before me was incredible. I wonder how much time it took?. The stunningly engraved "Living Only" letters that stood out from the rest of the markings resembled that of a wave, It would protrude from the wall, sink back in and then come out again. The craftsmanship is exquisite must've taken forever

After taking a long walk around the wall I decided to continue with my journey exploring every nook and cranny of the town. It was late morning at that stage and the sun was an odd shade of an offset orange mixed with a slight bit of pink, I thought this to be strange due to the fact that about only about thirty percent of the population remained uninfected. That number wouldn't be able to make enough pollution to give the sun a dirty pink shade

As I got to the end of my venturing I found a really nice looking apartment block that would've been a perfect area to raise kids. I remembered back when I was about thirteen or so I used to live in a complex and all the kids would come out at around four in the afternoon to enjoy a good swim or a game of soccer in the streets, how I long for those days...
But it's all over now and there's no reason to reminisce over it.

I'm still so confused as to why I remember all this nonsense but I can't remember how I messed up my leg... Walking was getting harder and harder as the years had progressed, I'm at the stage where I feel that I should just become a crawler, find a nice good hunting spot and wait.

It's been about three days since I got to this town and I haven't seen any signs of life, besides the window lights at night, It's getting me a little worried, if I don't find a source of sustenance soon I'll... I'll... I'll? What would happen?

I'd never been without food for more than two days, there's always been a carcass lying around or an unsuspecting victim to pray on. I didn't give it a second thought about what would happen if I didn't eat.
Every morning I went out to go find places where there might be
something for humans to go salvage without any luck. It's been about three weeks since I last ate and I feel no different, I guess since our cells don't respire we don't need food to keep 'em alive, it makes sense...

I've been oddly bored and my brain has been extremely productive in remembering and recollecting memories with all the time I've had over the past couple of days, I had time to explore my disfigured body and try to figure out what happened. I had a flash back that kept me daydreaming for a while, it was the end of living for me.

I realized why my leg had been so badly incapacitated and what inevitably led to my "death" it was still all very hazy but I knew that I was fighting for my life and that I had fell down a large flight of stairs in a stadium breaking and twisting my right leg as it hooked a chair on the way down. Eventually what ever I was running from found me in a semi-conscious state and had themselves a nibble, I couldn't remember much from there onward or the hours leading up to it.

I hope that one day I'd be able to remember what I was doing and why I was at a stadium I decided to leave the town and find a new place where there was a little more action to keep my mind distracted, remembering hurt, not physically but it disturbed me, the more I remembered the more I wish I was living.


I tracked on for several months through deserted towns and empty plains just to be disappointed by the next horizon. Wondering all alone, I guess this is what I'm accustomed too. Although I'm worried that this will be the way I spend my eternity... This sucks.

Winter came around, It was amazing to watch as the snowy crystals fell to the ground, each one of them brought a hundred more. Two weeks had passed since the first snow, there was a terrible blizzard that caught my in my travels, I had broken through the surface of a shallow stream. The icy layer was at my mid section and despite my hours of struggling I was to handicapped to get out.
I was frozen at my waist and couldn't move, the blizzard got worse and worse, if I'd been alive I would've died hours ago.

I had no choice but to sit and wait it out. After a day or two I had completely frozen over from all the snowfall and could no longer function correctly, I lost "consciousness" and time passed like seconds in a dream.

enter image description here
Image Credits

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed! If you did and want to hear more you can follow me here ^-^ <(^~^<)

Sort:  

It's a lonely existence when you're an outsider. It's worse when you have traces of memories of happier times. Longing and realization of your present situation can be sad when there doesn't seem to be any recourse.

Very sad indeed, this story is turning out to be quite an imaginative adventure and it's showing me the challenges of writing a story :D

Nice story :-)

Love to know what happened thereafter

Next one will be coming in a few days :)

Great Story man

Very nice :-)

You have really a nice plot. I would say you have an engaging story which can bind your audience to your article and I think this is only thing that matters. Whatever niche you're writing on, if you have made something which is compelling and attracts your audience then you work has been paid off.
Thanks for sharing anyways @xxsenpaixsamaxx

No problem thank you for reading !

Really digging the perspective on this one man. Is this the end of the series ??

Nope, it's only the beginning

I can tell you are definitely trying to imagine the perspective of your protagonist, as well as form a stream of consciousness for his decaying mind.

Yeah, but as I'm going on his mind seems to be growing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59010.30
ETH 2515.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45