Cape Town Truth and ReconciliationsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago (edited)


This post was removed from view by the writer in an effort to distance himself and his work from the aggressive associations of censorship, flagging and other unsavoury aspects now synonymous with this platform.


3rd February 2019

Thank you for your continuing friendship and support of my content at,

  • Honest Cash, a social network where you can earn Bitcoin (BCH) by creating and upvoting good content, or

  • Cent.Co where you can do the same using Ethereum (ETH)

Sort:  

Perhaps you, dear steemian reader, share my sense of occupying a vacant space, a place of whispered dialogues, words spoken with caution, pregnant with still-simmering as-yet -unexplored contradictions?

Is there any other space there is to occupy, to circumambulate, while wondering what and how and when and.. most of all.. why. Is there something that is not born out of a contradiction?

Or, in other words. Yes.
Glad to have met you on The Writers Block.

Thank you. You're right. I'd be a fish out of water without that feeling. Go well until next time.

Your writing is a bit overly descriptive in my opinion and sorry if I seem very opinionated. Focus more on the narrative and less on the physical detail. I'm going to follow you. I'm also based in Cape Town and I find this post encouraging, I know what you are trying to get at, but you are not getting at it 100% yet. I get the feeling you have a story to tell, but you are having trouble telling the story.

@trumanity is out of steemit bandwidth again - too many edits re-edits comments and upvotes in steemland, so here comes his left brain ....

I read and re-read this part of your comment, @netscape101

" I know what you are trying to get at.."

and much like you, I am still not 100% sure what your interpretation is about what he is 'getting at'. But certainly, that some one 'knows what was intended' is encouraging to any writer.

It originated in a narrative poem, and I felt it should be turned into this thing here. A very weak story, but it is one all the same: a man returns after many years and spends a day with an old friend - they look at people - they share recollections. they talk and smoke a joint. Neither of them have names. Both of them say very little because they are people of few words. They are engaged in nothing unique, just reconciling the past with the present day. These are typically Capetonian or South African characters are they not? They say little. When they do, they apologise for saying it. They live guarded against being singled out, derided, criticised.

As indicated in the self-reflection at the end of the post, it needs a more work. Having a small audience and feedback constitutes a strong motivation. Thank you.

I value the follow and your comment. You have added to my internal discourse, so I will give some of my bandwidth away and upvote it to the max 100% upvote (all of SBD 0.01) - wow!

You are good at writing, perhaps the story just lacked a bit of a story. I found it entertaining though. I recommend write a story of someone who had a very tough life, somebody who went to jail very young and came out and now spends his days on the streets of Cape Town. If you look on Cape Town streets there are some very tough guys who were very high ranking numbers when they were younger, and after the get released the become homeless,sadly. Here is such a story: https://www.health24.com/Lifestyle/Man/News/How-this-ex-prisoner-has-his-facial-tattoos-removed-and-cleans-up-his-life-20141211

Lovely story very well written. Congrats for such a quality post

Thank you for that.

holy shit dude. Your writing is epic, and so South African. I love it. Are you new to Steemit?

Are you part of any discords? There's a great one called The Writers Block, and also Adsactly.

I'm having bandwidth issues right now so I am responding from my left brain ;-)

Thank you for the compliment, princess. It is encouraging coming from you.

I joined steemit in August last year but I haven't been able to devote any serious attention to it until last week. I am a Durbanite and grew up in Cape Town - a bush graduate.

Your blog content is phenomenal. Glad I stumbled on it.

Incidentally, I take it you heard about Hugh Masekela - my condolences to you. A great loss to us all. :-(

Does Trumanity = OneAzania?

Welcome back! I really enjoyed your posts. Please write more.

Thank you for your kind words about my blog ;)

And yes, I heard about Hugh, it's very sad.

Two sides of the same banknote yes. I have discovered I might be able to beat the bandwidth issue by using steemkr.com (fingers crossed).

I will try to by best to write, although my work schedule will not allow for much after my winter break is over.

Take care and keep pushing out those beautiful posts that make a person lus for some home sunshine ;-)

You just have to make time! An hour a day! Xx I really look forward to seeing more from you. Discord is just like whatsapp and really simple to use once you get the hang of it

I am part of ADsactly and I will check out the Writers Block, although, I don't know my way around Discord. A bit of a steep learning curve that one. Thanks for the suggestion.

awesome! You should drop your post in the Adsactly POst Promo channel, and as long as it is uses the adsactly tag, and if you are active in the discord, you can be featured as post of the day, which is nice leverage for your blog!

Good luck with everything and feel free to ping me in discord if you need any help at alll with anything

This post has received a 1.78% upvote from thanks to: @trumanity.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.100 SBD to bid for votes.


The Minnowhelper team is still looking for investors (Minimum 10 SP), if you are interested in this, read the conditions of how to invest click here!!!
ROI Calculator for Investors click here!!!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
The resteem was paid by @oneazania
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43