Shaman. A real story from my life #7

in #story7 years ago

  When you stand at the crossroads of life, close your eyes before you step. You do not need them. Your road has already chosen you ...  

       Part 13 

     One day, when we were returning with the dogs to our hut, a sudden picture emerged behind the turn of the river. On the high bank of the river near the water stood … 20 or 25 people. If I at that moment saw an elephant drinking water from our river, then, probably, my surprise would be much less! 

      However, strangeness is not limited to this. Dogs, taking into account the presence of strangers, behaved surprisingly calmly ...    

      They were Selkups. I could not even imagine why they were there. I paddled closer, we greeted each other. Selkups invited me to their camp, which was located about 100 meters from the water. 

      I roamed the forest for a whole season, but I did not see their camp. They are not on the map either. And I did not feel the smoke from the fires. Just an obsession of some kind! But I accepted the invitation and had to go.    

      I was led to the chum of the Elder. His hand was very strong when we shook hands, although he looked about sixty years old. 

      In the chum, I looked around and understood why I did not feel the smoke. Selkups, because of the periodic visits of helicopters to their camps (for children or for fish and furs in exchange for vodka) came up with a whole system of conspiracy. Their fireplace reminded the Russian furnace in a miniature: one side of the fireplace was filled up with the ground in which the chimney has been put, like for the smokehouse, and the smoke reminded a haze through the system of dispersion. It was dry, warm and cozy inside the chum.      

     Without saying anything, I was treated with fish. Finally the Elder spoke. The meaning of what was said was that for the whole season their hunters were watching me. In their opinion, I behaved modestly, skillfully and calmly. But most of all they were surprised by my canoe. They never saw such a fast boat. And when they saw it on the shore, they were amazed at its light weight. They offered me an exchange: I'll give them a canoe (because they knew that I also have a kayak), and I can pick up two girls in my chum. The girls, who looked more like teenagers, stood right there. When the Elder looked at them, they nodded without saying a word.   

      Ops ... the situation ... There was something to think about. I suddenly became interested of what local people offered to Yan and whether they offered anything at all. Anyway it was necessary to answer something intelligible. My Soviet upbringing taught me that it is not customary to exchange girls for canoes. We are not slave owners. And then suddenly a thought flashed. What if I propose them to compete with their hunters? Let one of their hunters take a canoe and pass it on until the next turn of the river and back. Whoever can, will receive a canoe as a gift. 

      For some reason, my proposal made the Selkup laugh. Only their Shaman did not laugh. Laughing, the Elder spoke again: "We have been in boats since childhood, and for this reason your proposal cheered us up. Come with the boat in ten days," - he said and stood up, indicating that the meeting was over.    

     Honestly, I liked my canoe, and I was used to it. Walking in a kayak along small rivers was uncomfortable because of the flimsy steering wheel. Besides I could place in a canoe is placed much more cargo. But the word is not a sparrow ... The agreement had to be carried out.    

To be continued...


  Shaman. A real story from my life #1

 Shaman. A real story from my life #2

 Shaman. A real story from my life # 3

 Shaman. A real story from my life # 4

Shaman. A real story from my life #5 

Shaman. A real story from my life #6  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61823.88
ETH 2390.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57