The Story Of December (Post Evacuation) - Original Short Fiction

in #story7 years ago


Don't give up. Source Image



In Post Evacuation

Every December, I will remember the tsunami incident. Now, 12 years have passed. I still have a portrait of Lara.

At that time, December 27, 2004, the day after the tsunami. Aceh in ruins. I did not know anymore the names of villages. Villages have been destroyed. The boundary between one village to another village also had not been identified.

"Have you found Lara?" Asked Johan with deep concern.

"Not yet," I replied flatly.

At that time, we were in a post evacuation. I know many of the refugees. They sadness. The refugees have lost their families and belongings. Johan also lost his family. Johan's father and mother until now there has been no news.

"What about your parents, Johan? Have there been any news?"

"Not yet," he said sadly.

We were silent. Silent in deep sadness.

Lara, I would continue to pray for you. I hoped you're safe and be somewhere else. Perhaps, at this time you also think of me, thinking about the safety of myself.

In the post evacuation, we are trying to survive. Not to much help we have received. Currently, Aceh is still in a mourning.

A few days later, aid to the refugees began to arrive. It does not only come from the local government, but aid also came from foreign countries. I see them working with deft.

In our evacuation post, I see the German and Canadian soldiers helped us. They also bring in heavy equipment to clean up the rubbish of tsunami. The bodies they found, identified, and posted on the information board.

I never get tired of looking at the names on the information board. So also with Johan. I always look for your name, Lara. But your name was never listed there.

Are you still alive, Lara? Are you able to save you from the wrath of the tsunami waves, Lara? Where are you right now, Lara?

A thousand questions raced through my mind.


See also:
Memories Of The Tsunami
Seeking Lara - A Poem



Follow Me @teukumukhlis



Sort:  

We had a very mild impact with no loss of property or life in my city but I remember how fear had gripped the locals in these parts who live on the coast. It was a frightening time for many who lived in areas that got struck by Tsunami in India and elsewhere. Fresh in everyone's mind who live by the coast come December!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.14 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59110.01
ETH 2990.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72