The Story Of December (Memories Of The Tsunami)

in #story7 years ago


Illustration of tsunami in Aceh. Source Image

Memories Of The Tsunami

Every coming December, I always remember the tsunami. The earthquake and tsunami that happened end December 2004, leaving only the stories of grief. I Lose you, Lara. Lost you forever.

Our love has just blossomed. Roughly two months. I know you're in an art exhibition. In the darkness of the night, between the dim light, I saw you shine like the moon in the sky.

We get acquainted. At first sight, it appears love. You, too, Lara. At first sight, you've fallen in love with me. We do not need to wait too long to grow the feeling of love.

Lara, when the earthquake happened, we were on the beach. We enjoyed the sunrise. Suddenly, at 08.00 am, an earthquake struck our land. A very great shock. I think, this land will be split in two.

The earthquake is just a few minutes. I looked around the beach. No damage whatsoever. Suddenly, the sea receded before us. Receding several meters away. This incident has never been I experienced. There is no panic among the visitors of the beach. In fact, we were amazed by the phenomenon of nature. Some children, picking up the fish lying on the ground.

Suddenly, from the middle of the sea waves appeared run down. Waves as high as the sky. We are still amazed by the phenomenon. However, the waves were getting bigger, getting real, getting closer to shore.

We started to panic. A huge wave had rolled up the kids who picked up the fish. People were screaming in panic.

"Run away! Run away! Run away!"

"The sea is rising to the land!"

"Run away! Save yourself!"

The visitors of the beach running around saving themselves.

I did not see you, Lara. Five seconds ago, you were at my side. Five seconds ago, I still hold your hand. Five seconds ago, we were still together.

The sea water swept inland. I climbed a coconut tree. Sea water rolling up a coconut tree. I was greatly disrupted. I embraced the coconut trunk. Ocean waves back over me. I fainted. Not knowing what happened next.

I know once I realized is the earth is filled by the sea. I'm still floating on top of coconut trunk. I did not know, whether I was in the middle of the sea, or on lands that have became the sea.


Follow Me @teukumukhlis

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06